Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ahead of its time, 13 Sept. 2003
This is a book to read and reread - it's a classic story but is still compelling in this day and age. An entertaining read and a book you will want to keep. Thoroughly recommended - this story takes you from Jane as a young student who falls in love but discovers her lover has a dark secret and has the strength to deal with the difficulties that life throws at her. If you only ever read one book make sure it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musicals? You can keep 'em!, 14 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having thoroughly enjoyed My Fair Lady over the years, I came to the book expecting to enjoy a recap of the film - was I wrong!
From the start, this book grabbed my attention and kept me glued to the page - so different to the filmed version, and so much better!
I laughed a lot and wanted to scream a lot at Higgins but, and this was a good sign for me, I was so terribly disappointed when I got to the end!
Read it and laugh - this is definately staying on my 'keeper' shelves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Genius, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The greatness of this play is expressed for me by the fact that even reading it straight through as a text, rather than hearing or seeing it enacted as a drama, it still made me laugh. Shaw's ear for dialogue and his sense of comic timing is superb. Yes, it's a dated play, and one wonders how long it will last in performance, but it is literary perfection, razor sharp dialogue, fantastic charactersation and a superb eye for detail. The ambiguity of the ending and the refusal to bow to the schmalzy hollywood film makers saves it from being too saccharine, and allows the seriousness of Shaw's message to shine through, and the comedy saves it from being a polemic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book! Brilliant Critical Edition!, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am extremely pleased with the fast service from Amazon and even more delighted with this novel.

This critical edition of Jane Eyre offers the reader the chance to read many reviews about the book and personal letters produced by Charlotte Bronte. Allowing the reader to gain a deeper insight into the novel and its historical context, the reader can understand how this was a notorious piece of literature that dealt with many important and provocative themes at the time.

I would highly recommend this edition for any English Literature student! The cover and book are also very hard wearing and strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great play shame about the delivery, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very pleased with my product. It was exactly what I wanted. I needed the script to use it for a drama exam and this product is perfect for it and very handy. The price is also very affordable for all people which is brilliant as I am a student and have limited money. The only problem I had with this product was the delivery, as it was meant 3-5 working days, but took almost two weeks to turn up. This was very inconvenient, as I needed it for an exam. Other than this problem, it is a fantastic product and I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant storytelling, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The classic story behind the Musical 'My Fair Lady' most people are aware of what happens in this book. However the ideas about class and identity are still being explored regularly by much less impressive books and TV.
The penguins classics brand is a very reliable presenter of stories in nice editions that sit well on any bookcase.
I would happily recommend this book to literature lovers or to those who know the musical but have never read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bronte and Norton - classic companions, 13 Sept. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
SAFE READING - NO SPOILERS

The place of "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Brontė needs no support or recommendation from me; its place in the English Canon is secure as is its place in the Brontė list.

I recommend this edition for the interested student who wants something more than the story. It is a well-researched, carefully edited and informative book, as one expects from a Norton Edition. Like the Arden Shakespeare, it is a classic scholarly edition, an essential for any serious reader or student of the Brontės.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 27 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This play is brilliant. George Bernard Shaw was a complete genius. You really do feel as if you're in the play itself watching things develop. The characters are so well written. I laughed out loud in many places (got a few strange looks from my fellow commuters!!) The sign of a great book is one you want to read over and over again, and this one makes my list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Fiction, Memorable Characters, A Superb Read!!, 15 May 2005
Charlotte Bronte's "Jane Eyre" has been one of my favorite novels since I first read it in high school. It is one of those special books which can be read and savored over and over, and seems to improve with each reading. The tale is narrated by Miss Eyre, herself, inviting a special and intimate relationship with the reader. It is through Jane that we meet and grow to care about, or hate, so many of the memorable characters one becomes acquainted with on these pages. And it is through her narrative, first as a little girl, then as a young woman, that Jane's complex persona is revealed. From an early age her morality, wit, determination, sheer grit and romanticism are evident.
Published in 1847, the novel, at first glance, appears to be another well written gothic romance, of the kind so popular in the Victorian Age, with its mystery, horror, brooding hero, touch of the melodramatic, and dark castle-like setting. The rise of poor orphaned Jane, who against all odds, redeems her tormented hero through her steadfast love, is really not unique at all. Charlotte Bronte did not, however, write a mere romance, no matter how riveting the read. Throughout, the author makes some serious statements about women's equality, the treatment of children, and of women forced into a dependent state during the Victorian epoch, religious hypocrisy, romantic relationships between men and women, the nature of true love, and the development of self. This is a beautifully written work of fiction which combines a riveting storyline, compelling characters, vivid descriptions along with a powerful testimony about the period in which the book was written.
Young Jane, orphaned at an early age, is grudgingly taken-in by her Aunt, Mrs. Reed, who seems to despise the child. The Reed children are spoiled rotten, and the eldest son is somewhat of a sadist who abuses his young cousin terribly. Aunt Reed always finds a reason to blame Jane for the household's ills. When the boy takes his torture too far and Jane attempts to defend herself, her aunt has her locked in the room where her uncle died, terrifying the poor girl into hysteria. Unwilling to care for the girl any longer, Mrs. Reed packs her off to the harsh Lowood School, a miserable charitable institution which is more like a prison than a place of education. Lowood's despicable headmaster, Rev. Brockelhurst, does everything in his power to break Jane's spirit. At one point, when he asks Jane how to avoid going to hell, she defiantly responds, "I must stay well and not die."
A particularly compassionate teacher recognizes Jane's intelligence and sensitivity and befriends the girl. When Jane graduates she stays to teach at Lowood until her mentor leaves to marry. Jane then decides it is time for a change, and applies for a position as a governess. She is offered a job at the distant Thornfield Manor. Mrs. Fairfax, Thornfield's housekeeper, welcomes her warmly and introduces her to the staff and to little girl who will be her pupil, the precocious Adele. She is not, however, introduced to all the household's inhabitants - especially not to one who inhabits the uppermost floor. Thornfield's owner, Mr. Rochester, (one of my favorite literary heroes), is away when our protagonist arrives, yet it is he who will have a most profound effect on her life - and she on his.
If you have not read "Jane Eyre" yet, why wait any longer? If you have not reread it for a few years, now's the time! My highest recommendations!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 17 Feb. 2012
Having been (jokingly I do hope) compared to Eliza by a friend I went and ordered this play and was hooked in just the first page. Read it in a couple of hours - Shaw does very well! Would definitely recommend for a bit of light-hearted reading or in depth analysis for those who do prefer it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pygmalion
Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews