Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable easy read.
I enjoyed The Bargin. The book managed to answer questions about characters that had previously been mentioned briefly in The Fallen Angels series, namely, Lady Jocelyn Kendal from Petals in the Storm and Dr Kinlock. The story unfolds at a gentle pace, this is not a book with an action plot but one about two people who are thrown together in unusal circumstances. An army...
Published on 2 Mar 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
It was very good to start but dragged out a bit at the end
not one of her best though
Published 3 months ago by by MR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable easy read., 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I enjoyed The Bargin. The book managed to answer questions about characters that had previously been mentioned briefly in The Fallen Angels series, namely, Lady Jocelyn Kendal from Petals in the Storm and Dr Kinlock. The story unfolds at a gentle pace, this is not a book with an action plot but one about two people who are thrown together in unusal circumstances. An army man who is dying and a Lady who desperatley needs but does not want a husband. I found the interaction between the characters entertaining, the author writes with a good understanding of Jocelyn's all to human a problem of having one man but wanting another. Certainly well worth a read but don't expect an action plot such as those in Petals in the Storm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable story, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bargain, The (Mass Market Paperback)
The Bargain is a wonderful and unforgettable love story.

The characters in the story are full of witt, charm and passion. You just want to read the book again and again!

Mary Jo Putney has created another wonderfull love story - Don`t miss it ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK IT WAS VERY WELL WRITTEN AND REALISTIC BUT IT TOOK FOREVER FOR THEM TO GET TOGETHER AND WHEN THEY DID THE BOOK ENDED WHICH LEFT ME LONGING FOR MORE BUT A DEFINITE LOVELY READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have a hero who's an all-round decent chap!, 10 Jun 2012
By 
Caz "So many books, so little time..." (Frinton-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loved it! I thought that perhaps it could have done without the secondary romance, between Sarah and the doctor, but that's a minor point. This is the first book I've read by this author, and definitely intend to read more. The characters were well-drawn, and the hero, David, is one of those somewhat unnusual regency heroes, in that he's not a wastrel or a rake, but an all-round decent chap. He's never boring and he's got a good sense of humour - he's rather lovely, really! I liked Jocelyn too; rather than being some icy beauty, she's got a heart and a conscience, despite the fact that at the start, all she wants to do is get married to preserve her independence and have an affair with a handsome, rakish duke. The Marriage of Convenience which turns into True Love is one of my favourite tropes and the way that David and Jocelyn fall for each other is beautifully written.

A definite keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was very good to start but dragged out a bit at the end
not one of her best though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bargain, The (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book, fantastic buy, great service, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bargain, The
Bargain, The by Mary Jo Putney (Mass Market Paperback - 5 May 2011)
£4.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews