Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brandt is bold, brilliant and peerless, you need to hold your breath!
Nick Brandt's Across the Ravaged Land, is the last in the trilogy of work that took twelve years to conclude, is yet again another sheer masterpiece of prints of animals in Kenya and Tanzania. Each print is a painting, and you need to hold your breath, as one is in awe of what Brandt places in front of our eyes.  Leopard Staring, was the first ever photo I saw of Brandt's...
Published 17 months ago by S. HASSAN

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PHOTO'S , ODD LAYOUT
Beautiful photographs , but , the page layout - including a large number of numbered , but , blank pages and overspill to a 2nd page , stops the flow of the viewer and actually made me check that the book hadn't been misprinted ! I'm a great fan of Nick Brandt's photographs , but , layout has let him down on this occasion .
Published 15 months ago by andrew millie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brandt is bold, brilliant and peerless, you need to hold your breath!, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
S. HASSAN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Nick Brandt's Across the Ravaged Land, is the last in the trilogy of work that took twelve years to conclude, is yet again another sheer masterpiece of prints of animals in Kenya and Tanzania. Each print is a painting, and you need to hold your breath, as one is in awe of what Brandt places in front of our eyes.  Leopard Staring, was the first ever photo I saw of Brandt's work on the internet, when I became emotional, and asked myself how can anyone take something as beautiful as that? This work is an experience lived through the lens of Brandt, photographs taken possibly over a three year period of total devotion.  The work has peerless beauty side by side with the suffering and destruction of our equal inheritors of the planet, happening right now and right in front of our eyes. Although, we seem helpless against the money behind the human savagery particularly from China, Thailand and Vietnam, we can not give in and Brandt urges us to take action, as he has with Big Life Foundation. This work has the most breathtaking and stunning photographs one could ever see, that are not taken with a digital camera or using telephoto or zoom lenses!  Therefore, the photographs that were taken only a few feet from each of his subject, allows us, in the same manner that the animals allowed Brandt, to be one with them. This is a journey that is sublime on one hand and mournful on the other, as these astonishing prints begs us to question ourselves as to why we are allowing the carnage to continue in East Africa and all over our planet?  
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Pre ordered this book months ago and was beginning to get frustrated with the delay in the publishers releasing this product in the UK, but it was well worth the wait. Powerful images that continue the style and form of his previous two books.
The format is strong, with the images mostly being on one page, so nothing is lost (publishers please take note on this point). The detail in each image holds the eye and with the focus not always where you expect it to be, subtle details of the land or the animals are revealed. The images are printed wonderfully in the edition I got.
The animals once again are the stars, both alive and sadly dead. The destruction of land and animal is clearly seen in these images, even when the land is the cause of that death. The haunting images of the bats amongst the thorns would have inspired many a gothic stone mason.
You end up feeling the loss of friends, as the role call of the poachers victims is called out, each one makes you return to his early books to see those animals alive.

A powerhouse of a book, both visually and emotional that captures the ability of humanity to destroy and yet, there is the hope still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful - sends out an important message to mankind - -, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
The most amazing and hauntingly beautiful photographs that bring a deep sadness to those that realise that we have a duty to share this planet with the wildlife that has as much right to be on this earth as man. I can only live in hope that those who destroy and pillage the earth in this way, for nothing more than their own greed and egotistical desires, will come to their senses before it is too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When art, tragedy and hope meet., 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
I was gifted this via an Amazon gift voucher, having already owned and been utterly blown away by his previous book, "A shadow falls"

I look at this book one picture at a time, one picture a day, and that is intentional. This is to say that I have only seen the first twelve or so pictures, but those alone confirm this as a five star book, not that I was expecting anything less.

Nick Brandt is simply a photographer of power and passion which are rarely seen in any field of endeavour. He believes totally in what he does, and this comes through in the pictures. It is even more admirable when you realise that (as he mentions in the book) he shoots with equipment which is just about the last thing you would normally use for shooting these kind of shots. He makes it difficult for himself because he likes the imperfections of film rather than the clinical perfection which he perceives in digital photography.

This book should not only be a must read for any serious photographer, but for animal lovers and conservationists. It shows a grim reality, but also offers hope through the fact that Brandt established his own organisation to fight what he refers to as the "genocide" of animals in Africa.

This is a good example of when great art and conscience meet, and this alone merits the price of the book. The stunning photography is almost an afterthought in a way.

Essential and brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 10 April 2014
By 
BeeKeeper (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Stunning black and white images of animals soon to be extinct in East Africa. Some of the images are extremely moving. This book should be part of any photographer's reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Brant's Photography Is As Iconic As His Subject Matter, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
M. Acott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Getting hold of genuine Nick Brandt books are like getting hold of hens teeth and for good reason. His books sell quickly because quite simply they offer some of the most stunning and superior photography of the natural African world. Across The Ravaged Land offers what appear to be at first glance simple but powerful photography but actually his seemingly simple compositions take the viewer into a much deeper and more moving image. It really sounds pretentious to say his images have the ability to emotionally move but they really do. For any wildlife lover, particularly that of African wildlife, Nick Brandt publications will not disapoint. His books are expensive but they are worth absolutely every penny. from the quality f the overall image to the quality of the print, paper and binding. You can wait a long time for Brandt books to come back into publication (I should know, I waited more than A year For On This Earth, A Shadow Falls) but they are worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book. Awful packaging., 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Superb photgraphy, exquisitely printed on very high quality paper. I bought this along with 'A Shadow Falls' and the books are a stunning bargain at the moment. I feel that anyone who cares about African wildlife and has children, owes it to themselves to buy one or more of these books. I intend for my kids to inherit these books.

Sadly I can give no stars to Amazon for their packaging. I bought the above books and Salagado's "Workers" together, which was quite a large package. The packaging was woefully inadequate, with the books rattling around in an overly large box, loosely padded with small scrap of paper. The box was not strong enough, had partially opened and only by sheer luck were the books undamaged. I would think twice about buying large format books from Amazon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic work!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Both this one and also On this earth & Shadow falls are perhaps the most fascinating photo books I ever had. Fantastic work, both in terms of printing and photographies inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
Interested in great photgraph: buy it. Interested in wildlife: buy it. This is a must have for everybody that love wildlife and Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Ravaged Land (Hardcover)
This new book from Nick Brandt it's amazing, just like the previous ones. The same quality of the printing, but more important the same quality of the incredible pictures that Nick Brandt is known for. I have all of his books and actually couldn't wait for the new book to be available. It touchs everyone that sees it and makes you look in a different way for wildlife and the urgent need to fight to keep it safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Across the Ravaged Land
Across the Ravaged Land by Nick Brandt (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2013)
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews