Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£17.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The title of the book says it all. Star Wars storyboards for the prequel trilogy.

The book's a 352 page hardcover. The paper quality is surprisingly quite thick.

Storyboards are printed quite big whenever possible. They are of selected sequences so you won't get the full story. The amount of storyboards featured for each film varies quite a bit. Episode I got over 180 pages, II with over 90 pages and III with over 70 pages.

The art and action sequences are great. You get to see work from storyboard artists such as Iain McCaig, Ed Natividad, Jay Shuster, Rodolfo Damaggio and even Terryl Whitlatch, and more! They are amazing.

The storyboards are sometimes drawn quite detailed and precise. Someone can ink over them, add speech bubbles and you'll have a comic book. I'm pretty surprised that many artists actually hatch lines instead of just flat shading because hatching takes much more time. Natividad even hatch lines for some of the motion arrows. It's nice to see a variety of styles from the pencils, ink and markers.

Commentary from the artists are sparse but always insightful. Wished there were more.

Recommended to Star Wars fans and if you like storyboards.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Fantastic purchase, glad I made it. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes to see the creative process in action.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Terrific behind the scenes stuff with alternate scenes, etc. Offers more of a background into the thoughts of filmakers than any amount of documentaries.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
it arrived on time and was a great gift for my boyfriend , the art inside is amazing, just wished the movies were more like the srotyboard.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
bought for my dads birthday he loves it, hours of looking and pondering and really good quality over all great gift
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Can't praise it enough. A big hefty book crammed from start to finish with great artwork, each page alone is worth the price of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
It's an odd thing finding the quality in these drawings, especially when looking at a beautiful drawing of the despised JarJar Binks, but that's the pleasure here.

The majority of the artwork, especially that where the artists have clearly been allowed more time, comes from the pre-production period from The Phantom Menace. These drawings are full of the energy / vivacity, which the soulless films needed.

I'd highly recommend this book to all with an interest or involvement in the art dept. pre-production process and anyone hoping to get an insight to the role of the storyboard artist. Any student looking to improve their drawing technique would do well to take a few lessons from the artists featured.

This book makes a great accompaniment to the extra features on the prequel DVDs which detail the process of creating the second trilogy. Through them a horrendous tale of complacency and insipid filmmaking is told. There is much to learn. And there needs to be because there is so little pleasure in actually watching the films themselves.

The lovely folk of Red Letter Media can tell you more.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Purchased as a gift, this book was so beautiful I may have to purchase another for myself! The art is wonderful, there are a few notes in the book too to explain some of the storyboards or design decisions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Great book - would have gotten 5 stars, but hey - I saved that for the OT volume! ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)