Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book.
This is a very nicely presented, uniquely styled book. It's hardback in landscape format, with very good quality colour photographs throughout. It moves through the films in production order (which I like) showcasing production photographs and different film elements, many of which I haven't seen before. I would have prefered to see more matte paintings reproduced, as...
Published on 20 Oct 2005 by Mr Ghostface

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great if you like the new films as well
Great pics. Well laid out. Too many of the new films though for me! Worth buying if you want just a simple coffee table book.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book., 20 Oct 2005
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very nicely presented, uniquely styled book. It's hardback in landscape format, with very good quality colour photographs throughout. It moves through the films in production order (which I like) showcasing production photographs and different film elements, many of which I haven't seen before. I would have prefered to see more matte paintings reproduced, as there aren't that many included, but there is plenty of other stuff. The notes that go with the photographs are very incisive, giving great detail in most cases about the scenes displayed.
It's a good, solid book and worth every penny. Well done, Mr Knoll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for all Star Wars fans..., 14 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great. It has hundreds of photos from behind the scenes. They really have looked into the darkest corners of the archive for some the photos. Some have NEVER been seen before outside of skywalker ranch. It covers all 6 films, hence it being a very thick book (over 700 pages)
In my opinion well worth the money of any Star Wars fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 Dec 2005
This book took me a bit by surprise as I'd heard absolutely nothing about it. It’s fantastically well presented and sort of reminded me of the original Star Wars trading cards – I almost expected the pages to smell of bubblegum! Some of the early photos are just awesome (full size Millennium Falcon being built and crew filming a miniature Sandcrawler in a New Hope being my favourites) and it’s all a bit sad and melancholy now it’s all over. Buy it, now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought I had seen everythingon Star Wars..., 30 Dec 2006
By 
Stephen Milsom (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is the finest selection of Behind The Scenes Star Wars photos I have ever seen. Forget ALL the others, you collection of Star Wars trivia is incomplete without this book.

John Knoll proves he is a consummate Effects man - he IS Star Wars, living through both the first Trilogy and the second. His text is lively, informative and tells you exactly what you wanted to know, the thoughts and emotions, not just the well trodden facts and statistics.

But the books real strength is its archive photos. I certainly had never seen most of these before - not in 20 years of collecting books and mags on Star Wars.

The force is well and truly with John Knoll. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great if you like the new films as well, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days (Hardcover)
Great pics. Well laid out. Too many of the new films though for me! Worth buying if you want just a simple coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers your questions on how Star Wars movies were made, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:20 Mins

John Knoll, Visual Effects Supervisor of Industrial Light & Magic sums up the book perfectly in the first sentence of his introduction.

"The object of this book is to reveal how the environments of Star Wars were created, and to explain why some were done one way and some another."

Specifically, there are 365 chapters. They are chapters because one of them talks about the founding of ILM, and the other on the staffing. Both of which I think can't be done in a single day. The rest of the chapters are on how they create the sets, props, environment, vehicles and ships.

Not just creation, the book also includes how they the props were used to create illusions. For example, Luke's speed was supported by a welded pipe, shot out of frame or blocked by an object like R2D2. To show the speeder movie, a mirror was place underneath it to reflect the ground, creating the illusion that it's floating on air.

The book is very thick because each chapter has two pages. The left explains while the right provides the photos, often spilling over. This book is easily a nice photography book without any text.

The chapters cover all the six episodes. One can easily see how movie making and technology have evolved since the first Star Wars movie. The book also comes with a CD, containing additional photos and videos on the props creation.

This should be another wonderful addition for any Star Wars fans.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days (Hardcover)
Stylish cover promises you something else. As I'm a graphic designer myself I see that it's inside visuals are looking quite cheap, or maybe the target audience for this book are teenage boys or under(?), or something, I'm not really sure (but book's design is an important thing too). About the content, there was some really interesting stuff about the deveploment of the films and I especially enjoyed the behind the scenes photos most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days (Hardcover)
Was very impressed with this book, very heavy and good quality. Bought for my Son for Christmas and he was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Requested as a gift, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days (Hardcover)
My son requested this for his birthday present. I think he is very pleased with it. A very detailed well presented book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into the making of the movies!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days (Hardcover)
My favourite Behind-The-Scenes book!

The book has a great wide format, perfect for displaying all of the wonderful photos.
Tons of information, I hope they make one for the new trilogy coming out 2015

***** 5 STAR *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days
Creating the Worlds of Star Wars: 365 Days by J. W. Rinzler (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews