Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paris Street Style
Full of striking photographs of beautiful French women exhibiting their own brand of Parisian style, this book is one that's great to keep handy on the bookshelf or coffee table, to either flick through for inspiration, to inform and enlighten, or to just enjoy looking at. In this attractively presented book, the authors show us the essential items that everyone should...
Published on 11 April 2013 by Susie B

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
Having previously purchased Ines de la Fressange's " , I was hoping for more of the same. However this book was a big disappointment. The clothes and accessories featured in the book bear little relation to anything your average Parisienne would wear. The premise of Fressange's book is that Parisian style is classic with an edge. The premise of this book is that...
Published 21 months ago by LaRousse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paris Street Style, 11 April 2013
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
Full of striking photographs of beautiful French women exhibiting their own brand of Parisian style, this book is one that's great to keep handy on the bookshelf or coffee table, to either flick through for inspiration, to inform and enlighten, or to just enjoy looking at. In this attractively presented book, the authors show us the essential items that everyone should own: the trench coat; the v-neck cashmere sweater; the well-cut jeans; the butter-soft leather jacket; leather riding boots; low-cut ballet flats and, of course, not forgetting the LBD and, crucially, how the right accessories can make all the difference - which, to be honest, many of us will already know, but it's nice to have this reinforced and in such an attractive way. And not all of the women photographed are young, which is good to see - although they are all slim, of course. If you do not know Paris, there is a useful directory at the end of the book listing the authors' favourite places to shop and eat - so all in all, a book to enjoy, but definitely not one to be taken too seriously. And don't totally believe the subtitle on the cover "A Guide To Effortless French Chic" - I have several Parisienne friends and they put effort into everything regarding the way they present themselves - it just doesn't necessarily show!

4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-have for every fashionista, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
a great guide to how the French do it. An effortless book about the effortless style! It's a great buy for yourself as well as a gift for anyone interested in fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
Having previously purchased Ines de la Fressange's " , I was hoping for more of the same. However this book was a big disappointment. The clothes and accessories featured in the book bear little relation to anything your average Parisienne would wear. The premise of Fressange's book is that Parisian style is classic with an edge. The premise of this book is that Parisian style is outrageously trendy: hot pink tights, body piercings and tattoos, etc There is very little practical advice and the interviews are of minimal interests too. Avoid this and buy Fressange's book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snobbish and offputting, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
I don't usually leave negative reviews on my purchases but for this book I will make an exception.
I love the notion of Parisian fashion, retiring in a cottage in Provence, the whole french lifestyle etc, so collect books that effectively fuel this French fire.
I loved reading 'Parisian Chic' by Ines de la Fressange, and 'Two Lipsticks and a Lover' by Helen Frith-Powell, so when I came across this book in Urban Outfitters I gave it a quick flick-through and bought it for much cheaper on amazon.
Upon the initial flick-through, I got the vibe of a street photographer/blog vibe, interspersed with what looked like advice on looking 'Parisian', ergo, chic.
However, once I finally got the book at home and read it more thoroughly I can see that this book does not continue in the same friendly, helpful or motivating veins as Ines' or Helen's books.

There are tips, sure, yet the authors of this book do a number of negative things effectively turns this book into a magazine made by French women who like to talk about themselves and their friends.

The first is the obvious endorsement of the brands/styles/blogs of their friends. 'Vouelle' shoes? Never heard of them? You have now! And this is what the owner of Vouelle shoes looks like! And this is what she likes to wear every day! With her Vouelle shoes of course! Here is an excerpt from a chic girl's blog (replete with heavy eyebrows and moody look blatantly copied from Amy Winehouse)! This is what she wears! And thinks!

The second is the blatant snobbery running through this book. I know that snobbery is integral to the French way of living, but the tips you get here indicate that you can buy vintage but ONLY if it is of a designer label.
To buy from the high street, it seems, is sacrilege, unless you ponce it up with bright yellow designer leggings.

The third is the arrogance you sense from the authors. Parisian women like to look bourgeois, but don't scream about it. What the heck is this book about then?! Every item that every woman is wearing in this book is labelled!
They describe Parisian women as 'innately stylish'. You will note from the many photographs (of their friends and working associates) that they also believe that Parisian women should be innately thin, and innately rich, as they saunter down the streets of Paris resplendent with moody pose and cigarette smoke.

The book is loathsome. Which became tiresome.
This is genuinely a book for French fashion victims. Its about time someone defended the 'eccentric English' and our high street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reinforcing the fashion basics in a fun and interesting way, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
This book guides you through things you would probably already know - what basics to have in your wardrobe, staple items, breathing new life into your look - but in a beautiful and charming way. The book is complete with inspiring photos of women of a variety of ages, gentle hints and tips and various interviews. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, 12 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
I bought this book more so to look good in my room than anything else, i do think its interesting to flick through and i love the pictures but i wouldn't say its gives me much inspiration and i found a lot of the contents quite dull but i do not regret buying it as its interesting to read and look at different fashions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Paris Style, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
Have read better as this is much more the opinions of designers who design for 'quirky' young woman and does not necessarly meet the needs of middle aged but style concious women... Could have done with more help in collecting statement pieces and mixing them with modern accessories..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A let down, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
I bought this book full of hope, unfortunately it didn't deliver. In my opinion, far too many pictures and not a lot else. If you want true Parisian style may I suggest the book How To Be A Parisian Wherever You Are. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it says, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
This is a great book to flick through and pick up now and then. If you are interested in fashion and think the French are naturally great at putting clothes together, you'll enjoy this. Some good tips and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Interesting and Enjoyable, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic (Paperback)
I loved this book, fascinating to read of how the Parisians achieve their "natural" style - loved it and know it will be a great reference book for me to read again and again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic
Paris Street Style: A Guide to Effortless Chic by Frédérique Veysset (Paperback - 5 Mar. 2013)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews