Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last ... I have this set in my hands
I pre-ordered this a while ago as I was overjoyed when I found out it was being released.
Now that I have had time to go through both volumes I am extremely impressed with the package.
Over 99% of he 'frames' that George Lucas has selected do justice to the Saga ( one or two are questionable but out of over 1400 that's not bad!).
Going through the volumes...
Published 18 months ago by Bukhtawar Dhadda

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy poor quality print :(
Was really excited about this book and looking forward to receiving it, sadly I was very disappointed with both the quality and many of the stills chosen within the two volumes. I feel that this book was printed cheaply and sold at a high price, the fact they have had to put an excuse as to why the print is so poor sums it up really and if you're happy to accept this lame...
Published 18 months ago by The Darkside


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say it's the complete saga in photos, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Dale Butterworth (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Was unsure about ordering this but so glad I decided to. It's a great collectors piece with the complete saga being documented in photographs would recommend to any star wars fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy poor quality print :(, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Was really excited about this book and looking forward to receiving it, sadly I was very disappointed with both the quality and many of the stills chosen within the two volumes. I feel that this book was printed cheaply and sold at a high price, the fact they have had to put an excuse as to why the print is so poor sums it up really and if you're happy to accept this lame excuse then that's your prerogative, I worked in the publishing industry for over 20 years and can tell its a cheap print run! Pictures of the dune sea is a perfect example no clear crisp lines jut fuzzy blurry edges and as for the classic pose of Luke looking out to the two moons of tatooine - shocking quality shame on you G Lucas using excuses to cover up bad printing, if this was so then all the foyer photos, autograph photos and previous publication that are out there would also be of bad quality, which they are not!!!!

Now to the pictures, hmmm a somewhat strange choice on some of these, the Hans Solo ones for instances from epi IV. Really? George must have some beef with Ford or there's a private joke going on there. There as some classic photos and some of the layout works well but there is also a lot of very bad choices with some good/classic photos missed out completely (don't think there's a decent pic of Zam Wesell , and order 66 was a collection of poorly chosen pics. To me it looks like he either got his p.a.'s to help him out and they didn't care what they put in or he got bored half way through used auto fill, either way it comes across as a bad attempt at an aldis photobook (in fact the print quality of said photobook is far superior to this tome!!)

Now it could be said that maybe I have received a badly printed copy and other people have got decent copies with sharp clean lines and no blurs/smudge pictures and if so I stand corrected about the quality, but aside from that the picture choices are still somewhat questionable, finally, just a personal preference, but hated the special edition versions and sadly this uses photos from those versions including Obi Wans changed house- prefer the real physical house in Tunisia than the painted cgi, and the ultimate sacriledge... replacing the head of that fine actor Sebastian Shaw with that of Hayden Christensen in the final scenes of rotj!!!! at a rrp of £100.00 it's a lot and even £60.00 seems much considering its print quality,it should be priced between £25.00 and £30.00 Sadly i have returned my copy but i guess die hard /hardcore fans will love it no matter what
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present for Myself, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Two great books with some excellent photos. Love it - Highly recommended purchase! The perfect gift for any Star Wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice product it should be cheaper, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Nice product it should be cheaper. Some of the pictures from the screenshots are somehow blurry, which is not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
You are basically getting two big books full of glossy photos of the Star Wars saga. Interesting to look at though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for any Star Wars fan, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Possibly the best piece of Star Wars history I own.
A truly perfect gift for any Star Wars fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Treasured by an avid Star Wars fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. G. D. Buchan (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
What a huge book, the sheer weight of it alone is something to behold. The last 2 movies in the series 'Attack Of The Clones' & 'Revenge Of The Sith' were shot in digital and you can see the difference in the quality of the images from these movies compared to the rest. It is obvious that from the sleeve notes that a great deal of time & effort was put into producing this wonderful offering. A must have for any Star Wars fan although not sure whether I would have paid the full RRP of £100, so thank you amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'Grown Up' Present for a Star Wars Fan, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
SLMHZ "SLMHP" (Virginia Water, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Frames (Hardcover)
Another 40th Birthday present for my Star Wars mad hubby. This is a great grown up present for a Star Wars fan. These are two coffee table books that come in a great presentation box. They look great, and the still/frames are stunning and all selected by Mr Lucas himseld apparently. But beware, this is extremely large and very heavy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Frames
Star Wars: Frames by Lucasfilm Ltd (Hardcover - 5 Nov. 2013)
£60.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews