Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2012
I collect everything that released about ALM...
and can state that every book that reased after his death contains different aspect of the work of the genius...
This huge book contains lots of rare onstage and backstage photos from his collections...
Really a masterpiece! Must have for anyone who appreciate ALM...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
If you love the work of McQueen, this is the only book to reveal his mysterious world of catwalk. Just lovin' it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
In the beginning it's a text about Lee (alexander mqueen) him self, which is very interesting bc i have known about what kind of person he was, except a exellent designer.
The pictures is in very good quality and everything is like a very thick ( it's really heavy, i had to carry it home from London) good picture book with behind the scenes pictures from shows.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
Buy this. You won't regret it. An amazing and intimate tribute to his genius and craft!
This author's passion and care for the content shines in this amazing glimpse into Mr. McQueens world.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 November 2015
In this stunning book we see previously unseen images of McQueen’s life and work from photographer Anne Deniau. The book contains over 400 photos taken backstage at the designer's catwalk shows. Deniau was the only photographer permitted backstage at McQueen's shows for 13 years right up until his final offering in 2010. She's captured the designer working alongside his closest collaborators throughout the years, including Kate Moss, the great Sarah Burton and Philip Treacy.

This book will leave you speechless about McQueen’s genius and totally stunning creations. It is not a biography, but there is a lengthy introduction by the author on her history and relationship with McQueen, as well as her response to life after his tragic death.

For the most part this book is a giant photo album. There are a few portraits of McQueen, and a couple of his workroom, but the vast majority are from backstage at the runway/catwalk shows and of models, stunning gowns and McQueen at work.

They book is split up by show, and there is also a section on his work at Givenchy. It gives a rare, backstage glance at the magic of all of his shows.

The book itself is huge but if like me you are greedy? You will still want more and more pictures, from this flawed genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
This was a birthday present for my friend and she really loved it. It is a large hardback book of mainly photos of Mcqueen's work. Full of inspiration.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
The book is filled with never-before seen backstage photos of McQueen's shows (displayed chronologically) from the beginning of his career to his last collection. The quality of the book is excellent - the cover is hard and linen and the pages are great as well. It's quite heavy but that means more photos. If you'd like a great reminder of his work in fashion, that's the book. I utterly recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Wooooowh what a beautiful book. Pictures back stage, details all very nice! Nice written intro. Good gift for fashion lover!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Bought for Daughter in Final year at University she wanted this book loves it will be beneficial for her for this year I Hope! A Mcqueen one of her favourite designers useful ideas for her graduation preparation
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
I loved this book and could not rate it highly enough. Wonderful behind the scenes pictures from early Mc Queen days. Beutiful and alot better than any other ones out there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)