Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explore the secret world of trolls
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:15 Mins
Brian Froud continues to explore the fantasy world, this time looking at trolls. His previous books were on faeries (Faeries: Deluxe Collector's Edition and World of Faerie) and goblins (The Goblin Companion).

This is a 144-page hardcover with larger than A4 size pages.

The story is about a troll child who goes on an...
Published 23 months ago by Parka

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...Sorry Brian!
Brian is without doubt a great illustrator, and has a wonderfull imagination so it is with some regret that I post a less than enthused review of one of his books.

In fairness to him, many will no doubt love and treasure this book, but here is the quandry, for the avid Brian Froud fan who is more than familiar with his full repertoire of works, there is in fact...
Published 22 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explore the secret world of trolls, 7 Oct 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:15 Mins

Brian Froud continues to explore the fantasy world, this time looking at trolls. His previous books were on faeries (Faeries: Deluxe Collector's Edition and World of Faerie) and goblins (The Goblin Companion).

This is a 144-page hardcover with larger than A4 size pages.

The story is about a troll child who goes on an adventurous journey to collect tales from the different trolls he meets in the otherworld. The stories are interesting, such as a love story gone wrong, and there are also poems and text on the things trolls use.

Brian Froud's sketches and illustrations are beautiful, as usual. The troll creature designs look slightly whimsical yet believable, perhaps with the exception of the trolls with detachable heads.

Additionally, there are the puppets and accessories handmade by Froud's wife Wendy. The craftsmanship is great and they serve to add a different dimension to this mythical world. However, I feel that something is amiss although I can't pinpoint what. Perhaps it's because of the contrast in style. Graphite drawings will always have that mysterious charm that's difficult to duplicate elsewhere.

Nice book for fans of Brain Froud and fantasy art.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog, just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...Sorry Brian!, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
Brian is without doubt a great illustrator, and has a wonderfull imagination so it is with some regret that I post a less than enthused review of one of his books.

In fairness to him, many will no doubt love and treasure this book, but here is the quandry, for the avid Brian Froud fan who is more than familiar with his full repertoire of works, there is in fact comparatively little new here.

The bulk of the illustrations come from his earlier out of print 1977 book "The Land of Froud" with a minority of contributions from more recent publications, indeed many of these earlier prints have already been reused at least once. Whilst some may quite rightly welcome the insight into his illustrations of yester year others will find little new and be disappointed.

The reprinted 1977 illustrations themselves are brighter, more vibrant and the paper is better quality than the original yet strangely this takes takes away some of the charm, the contrast being a little too exaggerated. They may indeed be more true to the originals yet they don't quite work.

There is also a sad lack of the more involved and detailed set piece illustrations which Brian is so good at.

The pictures are joined by a number of Wendy Froud's dolls, which will work for some and not for others. They do bulk up the book however, personally I would prefer to see these two distinct portfolios of work kept separate.

This book may be for you but equally it may not quite hit the button. Come on Brian, I know you can do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last echo of a friendship built on conquering the impossible!, 6 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
Brian Froud and Jim Henson talked about making Trolls into a film months before Jim's untimely death. This book partly fulfils that dream the men had briefly and this edition holds illustrations from a publication that caught Jim's eye, as some of these illustrations contained here are from The Land of Froud, a lesser known book printed back in the mid 70's and it was that publication that made Jim Henson's imagination believe in Froud's world and give birth to The Dark Crystal. I imagine that this is a personal journey for Brian to walk down again because if it hadn't been for those illustrations and that little known book, Jim would never have invented such sublime films that changed Brian's life forever.

Trolls is a spiritual journey into a world of mystical solitary creatures, who dwell in a realm of wonder and magic, still reaching out to us with stories that teach and enlighten our souls, so we may find better perceptions than the ones society forces upon us! It is a idealistic and rebellious world the Trolls have to offer, like all of Froud's creatures they are honest.

The art work is beautiful and has a real sense of magic. Brian imagines impossibly marvellous creatures but the reason they are so wonderful is because they are truthfully rooted in observations found in nature. Wendy has provided beautifully written stories, which evoke a sense of folklore and her photographic depictions of the dolls and puppets she made add more realism to the Trolls world. She and Brian are one creatively and highly gifted artists, that marriage is a story waiting to be told also and I pray their worlds of faerie live on forever, guiding and protecting us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition but not all new, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
Great book put together brilliantly, I was just a little upset that a large persentage of the material was not new.

Ant fan, like me, will still be thrilled. And if your new to the Frouds, buy it, it's lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trolls - Fabulous!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
I bought this book having seen a recommendation in a magazine. Having opened it I was blown away. The story was unexpected, but it is the artwork that makes this so amazing.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves the Labyrinth or the Dark Crystal or even just enjoys good art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trolls, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Amanda (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
Yet another fantastic Froud book. Beautiful drawings and illustrations, enhanced by photos of Wendy's models. If you're a Froud fan you will love it. If you're not a Froud fan, buy it and you will become one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY REVIES, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
LIKE ALL THE WORK BY THE MASTER I JUST LOVED IT..WOULD LIKE TO OWN THE COMPLETE LIBRARY OF HIS WORK..WHO WOULDN'T HERBERT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
I had a Brian Froud paperbook back in the 70s which disintegrated over the years and I missed it. Now those well loved pictures are in this wonderful book with so much more - tales and models and more detailed art work. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
What a great imagination and the illustrations are fantastic. Definitely pleased with this book. Larger than I expected but lovely print quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant :), 29 April 2013
By 
S. J. Proe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trolls (Hardcover)
Absolutely fantastic Brian & Wendy never fail to deliver :) Their work is inspiring, unique & I for one will always be a fan :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trolls
Trolls by Wendy Froud (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2012)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews