Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Illustrations, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
The third book in the Star Wars Art series since October 2010. It is far superior in my opinion than 'Visions' or 'Comics' that I have. A great book, full of excellent artist drawings and paintings, from many well known Star Wars artists such as; Ralph McQuarrie, Jerry Vanderstelt, Brian Rood, Christian Waggoner, Dave Dorman, Tsueno Sanda, Matt Busch, just to name a few. Each painting has a small explanation of text outlining the title of the piece, the size, the media it was created in and the year of production.

Many of the images are here for the first time, but most I have seen already in my many other Star Wars books or on the artist's website. As a trained artist myself with a vested interest in Star Wars this truly makes me want to try harder and get recognised.

A must book for any illustrator, especially Sci-Fi and of course Star Wars and good to see in one excellent volume.

Well worth my money and I highly recommend this book.

Can't wait to see what October 2013 brings if there's a 4th book released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic art collection, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:21 Mins

This is a huge book of gorgeous Star Wars art. The book's about 10 by 12 inches and some of the illustrations inside are printed close to A4 size, and even larger for those that bleed to the edge or printed across two pages. Printing them huge is the only way to do it. Some even have additional cropped views for a closer look at the details. The paper is the thick low gloss type. There are 176 pages.

I like this book more than the earlier books Star Wars Art: Visions and Star Wars Art: Comics. Here, most are just classic Star Wars art. Majority are character based with just a handful featuring spaceships and space.

The art is great. They aren't created specially for this book but are curated from all sorts of promotional material, merchandise, etc. The quality is outstanding and awe-inspiring. You expect nothing less when there are names like Ralph McQuarrie, Tsuneo Sanda, Dave Dorman, Jerry Vanderstelt, Terese Nielson, Drew Struzan, Dave Seeley and many more.

Some of the paintings are really detailed and you really have to pause and admire them. Again, it's good that they are printed huge. Tsuneo Sanda's illustrations seem to be infused with some sort of magical glow. While you might have seen some of the art from other books or sources, it's nice to have them all collected in one volume.

This is an excellent book. Definitely one of the best Star Wars artbooks around.

Highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Star Wars Art, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
Like Having an Art Museum on your book shelf!!
Incredible artist and their view of the events and history!
Loving It!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasies for Stars Wars fans., 13 Mar 2013
By 
Janusz Tokarzewski "Ape" (Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
Fantasies for Stars Wars fans. This is paintings and variations concern Stra Wars trilogy. Quite interesting, partucularly for the fan. Good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of quality paintings, 5 Oct 2012
By 
M. Wilcox "wilfscorner.co.uk" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
95% of the images in this collection are what I would call outstanding. The work of Jerry Vanderstelt stands out for me. His depiction of Peter Cushing as Grand Moff Tarkin is staggeringly realistic and beautifully composed.
If you are a fan of these glossy coffee table books and also a fan of the worlds of Star Wars I recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with this, 4 July 2014
By 
P. J. Long (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
Disappointed with this. Not sure what I expected, but it wasn't this book. I'm not sure who chose the pictures but at least half of them are not the ones I would have chosen. There is something strangely flat about this collection. Flat in the sense that you can sometimes see a movie that should have been fantastic, but wasn't. You know that feeling when you can't quite put your finger on what was lacking? That's how this book affected me. There's something missing but I'm damned if I know exactly what. It's all relative of course. For every person like me there are probably dozens who love it. The cover photo' is one of the best in the book. One can't help wondering if perhaps that's why it's on the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift and it has some really interesting SW related illustration. I have seen a lot of this kind of book in the past and this was definitely one of the better ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!! Utterly amazing!!!, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
This book is by far the best out of the Star Wars Art series. There are so many stunning visuals and is a pleasure to look at. This is a must for anyone who loves Star Wars and who likes to at a little artwork!! Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smukke og fascinerende illustrationer, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
En bog som alle Star Wars fans må og skal eje, og i det hele taget spændende for alle der interesserer sig for illustration...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star wars to drool over, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Art: Illustration (Hardcover)
For any SW art fan addict, this is a collection of paramount works by our favourite illustrators and artists alike.

The front cover is exsquisite showing off the best of Yoda in his iconic contemplative mood. As soon as I received the book I was immediately engrossed.

Check out the enlarged image of the painting of princess leia, it just takes your breath away as her image leaps out at you.

The shear calibre of these works are unsurpassed. Just buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Art: Illustration
Star Wars Art: Illustration by Lucasfilm Ltd (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews