Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2012
I've started watching TNG from the start again in recent months and really got sucked back into this brilliant Trek series especially some of the less well-known and popular episodes from Seasons 3,4 and currently 5. I'd seen the Star Trek 365 book a year or so ago and shied away due to the reviews in regards printing errors. This tome however is superb. There are some great photos both previously unseen and a few that a well-versed Trek fan will no doubt recognise.

Episode synopsis is kept to a minimal paragraph and to be fair I usually skip this unless I can't recall anything about the story. There are other books which are better designed for this. In essence this is a book about memories, tit-bits and anecdotes. Reading through it the stories are great and varied, talking about the differences in writing technology (typewriters to 90s computers in the first few seasons), what we would now conceive as basic special effects that were created on a shoestrong on some occasions and the first delves into CGI in 1991, six hour makeup jobs (Identity Crisis). One piece that sticks in my mind is the story of the guy who built the wooden horseshoe bridge rail/tactical console - you get the picture I'm sure that there is a lot to take in!

I thought I knew a lot about TNG with a fairly extensive library of resource including Action!, the Continuing Mission, the Companion et al but this has reignited an interest that takes me back to childhood and awaiting 6pm on BBC2 on a Wednesday night. I would say this is a must. Yes, there are some grainy frame-grabs as you go along but the series was filmed on videotape and if you're desperate to get a better quality image, buy the series on Blu-ray. This is about television history and What It Was Like Back Then.

Still a classic series and it's made me request the Original Series edition for Xmas. I hope they do one for DS9 and Voyager in the future - the Enterprise one would probably fit on a postage stamp...anyway...Fully recommended but make sure you store it on a very sturdy shelf and feel sorry for the delivery person - it's a tad heavy.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Have already got the Star Trek TOS book in this series, so it was only natural to have this one as well. Lots of great photos and interesting facts. Hurry up and produce one on Deep Space 9 please!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
THIS BOOK IS A DETAILED AND COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW OF THE WONDERFUL "STAR-TREK THE NEXT GENERATION SERIES". EVERY EPISODE AND EVERY CHARACTER IS COVERED WITH AN EXPERT NARRATION.THERE IS ALSO SOME WONDERFUL COLOUR PHOTOGRAPHY, AND A REAL INSIGHT INTO THE CREATION AND PRODUCTION OF THE SERIES. FOR SOMEONE SUCH AS MYSELF, WHO NOW HAS ALL 178 EPISODES ON DVD, THIS IS A TERRIC COMPANION GUIDE.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
This book makes a wonderful companion to the series. For every photo/illustration there is an accompanying page of text so theres plenty to read, all beautifully presented. If you're a fan of the ST TNG then absolutely buy this book, you won't be disappointed.

( I do hope there are books planned for Deep Space Nine, Voyager and Enterprise to complete the set ! )
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
This is a book which covers the history of the show. You'll find lot's of tasty, interesting bit's of trivia and behind-the-scenes stories throughout the book. I consider myself a pretty big fan of the show now and the HD restoration that is currently taking place as I write this review is token gift to all the fans.

I cannot think of any spin-off series which was and is as popular as the original program/form. 'The Next Generation' is a really rare and special exception to this rule. In the reality of life the cast who played these very nearly iconic characters, 'Picard', 'Data', 'Riker', 'Deanna', 'Geordi', 'Beverly', 'Wesley', 'Worf' et al all still love each other and do apparently meet up from time-to-time twenty five years after the series (10 years after their last 'TNG' film). It's a really delightful story how these guys have remained friends all these years.

The is introduced by Ronald D. Moore and he likely owes much to TNG for kickstarting his career as a writer. He seems like genuine and pleasant person whom is talented at what he does.

I am really enjoying this book - it's an absolute 'must-read' for any fan of the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
This is a pleasure to read, a real trip down memory lane, would definetly recommend to any next generation fan
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
fabulous addition to a star trek "bundle" for christmas gift. I know the recipient will be absolutely thrilled with this little lot...perfect in every respect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Excellent pictures and stories about Star Trek the next generation which I am enjoying dipping into and remembering. Really good
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
It's a very interesting book but we had a bargain at T.K. Maxx for only £2 with a little scuff in the corner. It tells you all about the episodes of the Star Trek: TNG with pictures and info about all the episodes. It's very heavy and really interesting telling info about how the series started and how it ended. Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Some really great photos lots of good info it would be great if someone did a far more in-depth guide, to all the episodes like t g e 3 tks books?? Saying that this is a good read so I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse