Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich people's houses
To be honest I had not heard of Steven Gambrel until I chanced upon this book one day while looking for Ben Pentreath's monograph on English Decoration. I often find upscale U.S. interior design a little overdone, but I have to say in this case I was instantly seduced. This is a handsome book, beautifully photographed by Eric Piasecki, presenting a series of stylish East...
Published 20 months ago by Michael Wailes

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and disappointing
Thought that a book by one of the USA's most successful modern decorators would be interesting and inspirational. Some of the images that one finds on Google for Stephen Gambrel are stunning. He is capable of using colour and scale in a very original and stylish way.

In this book there are one or 2 nice interiors (mostly his country house, which takes up a...
Published on 24 Nov 2012 by Mollie Malone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich people's houses, 2 April 2013
By 
Michael Wailes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steven Gambrel: Time and Place (Hardcover)
To be honest I had not heard of Steven Gambrel until I chanced upon this book one day while looking for Ben Pentreath's monograph on English Decoration. I often find upscale U.S. interior design a little overdone, but I have to say in this case I was instantly seduced. This is a handsome book, beautifully photographed by Eric Piasecki, presenting a series of stylish East Coast houses and apartments that Gambrel has designed. He has a confident and sophisticated sense of colour, and an aesthetic which owes more than a little to the work of David Hicks. Maybe not how most people would (or could) decorate perhaps - there is a noticable penchant for high gloss walls and ceilings for example. That said it certainly provides a healthy dose of escapism and inspiration for more modest houses and flats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and disappointing, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steven Gambrel: Time and Place (Hardcover)
Thought that a book by one of the USA's most successful modern decorators would be interesting and inspirational. Some of the images that one finds on Google for Stephen Gambrel are stunning. He is capable of using colour and scale in a very original and stylish way.

In this book there are one or 2 nice interiors (mostly his country house, which takes up a large section of the book) but this is ultimately conventional. Many of the room schemes are unattractive, some just plain weird. The text is pretentious and silly. It's an oddly self-congratulationary book short on charm and ideas.

Incredibly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the cover says it all., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steven Gambrel: Time and Place (Hardcover)
Do you like the cover photo?
Take the punt.
This is a hardback book of Gambrel's interiors, superb quality of book production. luscious photographs fill
every page.
That glamorous fifties-vibe of Hollywood-esque interiors- buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, beautiful colours, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steven Gambrel: Time and Place (Hardcover)
A brilliant interiors book. I have lots and would definitely recommend this one. Gambrel's use of colour is fab and the photography is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it ,,,, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Stephanie Murray "Push over !" (Sao Paulo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steven Gambrel: Time and Place (Hardcover)
I love this book ,, the images are very polished and are great inspiration for anyone who loves interior design ,,,, can't wait to re and then re read it ,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steven Gambrel: Time and Place
Steven Gambrel: Time and Place by Steven Gambrel (Hardcover - 1 April 2012)
£28.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews