Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the timid souls!
This book just may change your life.
That phrase has been grossly overused hasn't it? I've even seen it used on the back of a fairly mediocre cookbook! (The scallops were "quite nice" rather than life-changing to be honest.....)
In this case however it is true, because it has changed mine.
I've long been interested in the idea of lost "super-civilisations"...
Published on 19 Jun 2009 by CN BRYARS

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a bias and simplistic analysis of a complex subject should be in the chrstian book section
i really liked this book until it suggested all human life was no more than five thousand years old, then i realised it was not a balanced investigation of the available evidence. it was a peice of religous propaganda~hancocks fingerprints of the gods is far more rational ad doesnt try to sell you a view by distorting facts and name dropping.
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by neil sprake


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a bias and simplistic analysis of a complex subject should be in the chrstian book section, 5 Jun 2012
i really liked this book until it suggested all human life was no more than five thousand years old, then i realised it was not a balanced investigation of the available evidence. it was a peice of religous propaganda~hancocks fingerprints of the gods is far more rational ad doesnt try to sell you a view by distorting facts and name dropping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Thomas Ingham (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race (Paperback)
This is a subject I have been interested in for many years, this book includes fasinating facts of technology which was lost when many libraries were destroyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book on it's (terrible) cover, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Dr. Johnson "Gabriel Sylvan" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race (Paperback)
I love a good conspiracy, even more I love forbidden history and OOPARTS (out of place artifacts) and this book, in a rather unusual way, supplies you with endless food for thought.

It starts of as a fictional story about a group of scientists meeting to discuss lost civilisations, past technology etc. It's not exactly a Times bestseller or well written as stories go but what it does do really well is interweave real life events that may or may not have happened (I'm with the former or reading this was a waste of time!) It's meticulously researched and certainly a page turner, that is until about two thirds of the way through when, rather inexplicably, it completely forgets that it's a story and becomes a bullet-point fact book. One character starts mentioning strange facts and anomalies within history and the story seems to end. I assume the character was still talking but the book went nowhere, it was a bizarre read, almost as if the author forgot he was writing fiction, albeit to set the scene for facts.

The book, while very interesting and thought provoking was a real mongrel in writing terms. It confused me and what started off a layman's attempt at a Dan Brown novel became a shopping list of factoids.

A real head scratcher but not in the way I'd have wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 2 Oct 2013
By 
M. R. Adams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race (Paperback)
A very factual book which I found difficult to put down,I'm sure there is more to be discovered, it helps to show the
accuracy of the bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars exelent reading, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first 3/4 of the book is more than excellent, However many of the authors try to make the pages up at the end this goes a bit 'thin legget, often scientist will try to do the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead men's secrets, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant ? allot to consider and review, this book has encouraged me to look into this as a study project
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book - highly recommended, 30 May 2013
This review is from: DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race (Paperback)
Fantastic book, sound and accurate historical information and archaeology evidence.
It will make you consider what you think you know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thought provocing, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race (Paperback)
I love these type of books and I really think man has had an advanced techno past,which some great disaster or war ended,this book makes you want to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars at last, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Karen A. Williams (salford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for year's i wanted this book and now i've got its great, if you love history then you shuold get this book it will open your eye's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 6 Jun 2012
By 
I. S. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought this may have offered something new on pre flood civilization but was disappointed as most of it can easily be found on the internet. The thought processes are basically sound but somewhat repetitive and it did get a tad boring. Hey ho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race
DEAD MEN'S SECRETS: Tantalising Hints of a Lost Super Race by Jonathan Gray (Paperback - 5 May 2004)
12.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews