Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars i love it
had picked up this book because it had a short story by MaryJanice Davidson inside and I really enjoy all of her books. Imagine my surprise that it also carried a short story featuring Sookie Stackhouse, a character in a book series by Charlaine Harris that I am currently reading. The story comes before book 6 since it details when Sookie discovers her cousin has been...
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by Rebecca

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A varied collection
Bite is a collection of five short stories from Laurell K Hamilton (her Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series), Charlaine Harris (a Sookie Stackhouse short story), MaryJanice Davidson, Angela Knight and Vickie Taylor. I was very familiar with the first two authors but had read nothing of the other three.

Overall this collection was disappointing to me. Although...
Published on 13 Sep 2006 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A varied collection, 13 Sep 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Mass Market Paperback)
Bite is a collection of five short stories from Laurell K Hamilton (her Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series), Charlaine Harris (a Sookie Stackhouse short story), MaryJanice Davidson, Angela Knight and Vickie Taylor. I was very familiar with the first two authors but had read nothing of the other three.

Overall this collection was disappointing to me. Although the Laurell Hamilton story "The Girl Who Was Infatuated With Death" was OK it wasn't particularly deep (yes, I know it's a short story and so has limited space). It is set in the interval between Blue Moon and Obsidian Butterfly but fortunately hasn't descended, at that point, into the soft porn that the Anita Blake novels have turned into. The story itself is fairly simple and its resolution is really a chance to enable the main characters Anita Blake and Jean-Claude the Master Vampire to meet again. It was a perfectly acceptable story but nothing to get really excited about.

The Charlaine Harris story "One Word Answer" is set at the end of the third or fourth Sookie Stackhouse novel where Sookie and Vampire Bill are just friends rather than lovers. It features a strange night visit to Sookie's house of an unknown vampire who comes bringing news of a legacy left to Sookie by a cousin who, it turns out, was a vampire and was staked the previous month. There's more going on than the story suggests and, for once, Sookie realises this before Bill Compton or Bubba, her two neighbourly vampires. This is a fun little story but doesn't add much overall to this series.

The third story, "Biting in Plain Sight" by MaryJanice Davidson was really good and worked pretty well as a standalone story. I don't know if this author has written anything else on this theme, but if so this would inspire me to read it. Her main character is a vampire vet - all the people who live in her village know she's a vampire but it's not talked about. When she hears of trouble she finds one of the fellow villagers wants to help her and this is the start of an investigation into a rogue vampire who is causing young mortals to commit suicide. Sophie and her new assistant Liam, the friendly but slightly dim-seeming farmer, ride to the rescue and find each other in the process. It was a well-written book and I enjoyed it very much.

On the other hand, Galahad by Angela Knight was a real disappointment. I expect it's part of a wider series as there was an awful lot of stuff thrown at me that I didn't have a full explanation for. But the basic story seemed to be something upon which to hang a steamy sex scene and it didn't work for me at all. The world/environment was very complex, the magic these people wielded seemed far too convenient to help them save the day, and the sex scene didn't feel sexy. A disappointment. And not actually all that Vampiric - Galahad was a vampire but that was a very minor part of the book; it was mostly about witchcraft.

"Blood Lust" by Vickie Taylor was a better story. It's about a man who has invented synthetic blood, only to have a vampire steal his work and his fiancée. Daniel researches vampires, then plans to be made into one so he can gain revenge and rescue his fiancée by killing her (obviously she wouldn't want to be a vampire really). To do this he finds Deadre, the lonely female vampire, at a club and tries to persuade her to turn him into a vampire. Of course he doesn't really know what he's letting himself in for, particularly the requirement for regular blood as a new-born vampire, and things aren't really what they seem. This was a good story although the denouement happened rather easily, as in all of these stories.

Having read the book, it is obviously something than fans of these authors might want to complete their collection, and the stories are OK in their own right, but none of them are really fantastic and the short story formula doesn't quite seem to provide enough depth to make these truly satisfying stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars i love it, 1 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Mass Market Paperback)
had picked up this book because it had a short story by MaryJanice Davidson inside and I really enjoy all of her books. Imagine my surprise that it also carried a short story featuring Sookie Stackhouse, a character in a book series by Charlaine Harris that I am currently reading. The story comes before book 6 since it details when Sookie discovers her cousin has been murdered and left Sookie her estate. This story is touched upon in book six, Definately Dead, when the author talks about why Sookie is going to New Orleans. I really enjoyed the stories in this novel and may have found some new authors to read thanks to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent anthology - all your favourites!, 30 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bite (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not a great fan of short stories but these are all good and a treat to read! Five stories in all including an Anita Blake tale from Laurell K Hamilton, a Sookie Stackhouse tale from Charlaine Harris, a nice little story from the Queen of the Dead series (Betsy Taylor) by MaryJanice Davidson and two more entertaining otherworldly offerings from Angela Knight and Vickie Taylor. There wasn't one I didn't enjoy (apart from the usual gripe that they're too short!) and if you're already a fan of any of the above you will enjoy this book. If you are not familiar with any of these writers then this is an opportunity to get a 'feel' for someone you haven't read before and want to try out, these writers are all good and if you enjoy fantasy they will soon become favourites. Definitely worth adding to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 April 2014
This review is from: Bite (Undead) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent collection of short stories all well written and a great collection for any one who enjoys reading supernatural stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally enjoyed it., 26 Mar 2014
This review is from: Bite (Undead) (Kindle Edition)
Another mix of authors and there tales of vampires and the likes. I really did read this for the Angela Knight story with her witches and magic. This author was quite witty yet her story was compelling and so easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars step into another world, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Undead) (Kindle Edition)
one of the best writers out there !! This book is excellant as always what a page turner ,this lady keeps all the men on their toes what a roll reverse every woman should read the anita Blake series , also found box sets of theese at great prices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars to short, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Undead) (Kindle Edition)
i enjoyed the short story but do not think it was worth what i paid just for 3o pages of a story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always like the author, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed the short stories when I'd read them, and donated it to my library as they don't hold a copy. It has several excellent authors for the vampire, supernatural/mystery stories, which broadened my author selection at my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars COMMUTING READ, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Undead) (Kindle Edition)
Liked the short stories for reading whilst commuting, not all new stories so make sure you haven't read them all before you buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 12 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Mass Market Paperback)
Another excellent read from different authors in this kind of story telling.Love all the short stories.Very good idea to put this together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bite
Bite by Laurell K. Hamilton (Library Binding - Jan 2005)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews