Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Season 1...
I have to confess I am only midway through watching season 2 but, so far, it's much better than it's predecessor. I am officially addicted to House (and I also have a major thing for Hugh Laurie who I find undeniably sexy in the much older man way!). Greg House is charismatic, sardonic, acerbic and witty. This show has some of the best one liners going.

Yes,...
Published on 28 Jan. 2007 by Kay

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The cover was English...
But none of the content on the discs was and there was no option to change it to English. Very disappointing, especially as not had a problem with this seller before.
Published 13 months ago by Abi


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Season 1..., 28 Jan. 2007
By 
Kay (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have to confess I am only midway through watching season 2 but, so far, it's much better than it's predecessor. I am officially addicted to House (and I also have a major thing for Hugh Laurie who I find undeniably sexy in the much older man way!). Greg House is charismatic, sardonic, acerbic and witty. This show has some of the best one liners going.

Yes, the structure is repetitive. A patient is admitted with an unknown condition. House and his team; Allison Cameron, Robert Chase and Eric Foreman poke and prod and do a series of tests, administering various medications until they finally discover what is wrong. In doing this, House usually breaks the rules and generally runs wild. That, however, is part of his charm because he isn't how a doctor should be. He rarely visits the patients, preferring to send "the kids" as he calls them and his motto being "everybody lies".

What I adore is the relationship between his ex girlfriend, Stacy. This is an intriguing side to House we don't see in the first season, as she is still the love of his life, and the feeling is more than reciprocated. I was so rooting for them to get back together. My favourite episodes being "Failure to Communicate" and "Need To Know". Yes, yes... It is the House-Stacy thing that does it for me.

Anyway, just but it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy., 31 Oct. 2006
By 
PJ (Ohio, US) - See all my reviews
Okay, that obviously doesn't refer to the demeanour of the central character, but this is just the best thing on TV. I don't really care how medically accurate it is, or if any hospital on the planet ever has so many serious cases time and again, or even if a doctor with such extensive knowledge has ever, will ever, or even could ever really exist. All I care about is the incredible dynamics created between the central players. As for the dialogue? Man, the dialogue is beyond equal on TV today. House has throwaway lines that other shows would kill for, but there are just so many, I'm sure most viewers simply don't realise how clever it is. It really is one of the funniest shows on TV, even though it's not a comedy.

Hugh Laurie and the script writers have done such an incredible job bringing House to life. God knows how the writers come up with all the possible diseases and cures, but it never seems a stretch to go with them. And all the while, House is there to deliver acidic lines to tantalize the viewer and keep the show crackling along.

House is a rare treat. Get it. Savour it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best tv series on our screens!, 2 Jan. 2007
Hugh Laurie excells himself in this brilliant series. He plays Dr Gregory House, a grumpy, anti-social medical genius with a chip on his shoulder, and instantly you fall in love with his character because despite everything he has a likeable quality too. Even though he tries to make everyone believe he's a jerk, he really isn't. His relationship with his hand-picked medical staff is also funny and intelligently written. It really is unlike any other series, it's original and genuinely funny. You really won't be disappointed with this box set. It's a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are the subtitles????, 29 Aug. 2007
By 
Bojan Novak (Koper, Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lets begin by saying that House is a fantastic, funny, interesting TV show. One of the best.
The quality of picture is very good, also the quality of sound.
The actors are superb (especially of course Laurie). The story has its flaws - especialy in medicine - if you are a medical doctor you will really shake your head at some procedures being done, drugs been used and some absurd diagnoses being made. But I understand it is made because it is a TV show and it is more intersting for audience all over the world.
The major criticism about this DVD is its lack of subtitles. I really cannot understand their absence, because if you are not native speaker of english, the language is difficult (sometimes fast, somtimes very medical) and the subtitles would really come handy. Thats why I give it a 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, intelligent television with mainstream veneer, 7 Oct. 2006
By 
Geo Blorge "Actual Journalist" (East Morton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
House was a surprise hit. Unknown by most, still, due to its status as a first-run Channel Five series, this Hugh Laurie-led Doctor series is unlike any of its peers at the moment despite elements that make it very ordinary.

This second series is far better with the first, with more continuity and less annoying character traits(Cameron is no longer hateable, she's beautiful and intelligent. Chase is amusingly dumb, and Foreman has a spiteful side), and zero cheese at the end of each episode. The latter was my main concern with last year's series, with us always reaching an empty conclusion with guest star characters. This is amended in this season, with House always reaching a new point by the end of episode.

Luckily, Hugh Laurie's performance cuts apart the boring emotion, which is a nice undermining. His character's presence has an effect on every character around him, such is the radiance of the performance. Without a strong lead, this shwo would crash and burn. Perfect performance, made even better in this season. Laurie deserves an emmy.

The plots are where this show remains streamlined. This is a good thing, however, with each "everyplot" being essential in attracting large audiences. I'm not sure what a true original version of House would be like, but as it is its a perfection of a classic plot style that most shows still fail with. Brilliant.

The extras are likely to be small, as per last season, but the price isn't ridiculous for what you get. A great season shouldn't be ruined by the reviewer(me), but I should mention some of the situations House encounters; charity doctors, transgendered supermodels, prisoners, idiots and faith healers.

You'll love this season, especially if you thought the first was brilliant. Not similar to other doctor shows, its an example of how dialogue and plot can be perfected. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It keeps getting better!, 23 May 2007
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Like I said in the review of season 1, House is a great series and what is so good about this season is that you don't have to have seen the first season to enjoy the second season. Although seeing the first season, gives you a better understanding of the character developments and some of the story arcs. Hugh Laurie is outstanding as Dr. Gregory House and his interaction and mischief making with the regular cast -Dr. Cuddy, Dr. Cameron, Dr. Chase, Dr. Foreman and Dr. Wilson is captivating. Although House is classed as Drama it could easily pass for Comedy because when you are watching it you really get the added bonus of a good belly laugh. You cannot go wrong with this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It, 8 Aug. 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
After the triumphant debut of the first season of House, many people believed it couldn't be topped. How wrong they were. Season Two not only shut up all the skeptics, it slapped them for even being doubtful. Season Two not only had the absence of the annoying character of Vogler, it gave us a deeper insight into all the characters. At the end of Season One we were introduced to House's ex Stacy. During Season Two we're given a more complex look on their past and their true relationship. The Stacy/House episodes introduce to the fans a deeper complexity to House and we see a more genuine side, rather than the typically cynical House we're used to.

There is one episode which I found a bit too much and felt it was pushing to be controversial. I know it still had a point and didn't fail to entertain and give some deep meaningful message that some will miss somewhere. I'm not going to tell you the episode as you will all know it when you see it. This season also features two very tough to deal with episodes as Foreman is taken down by a life threatening disease, that even House struggles to solve.

As always the show is filled with excellent quotes by House and the team. Below are some of my picks.

From Episode 1: Acceptance:

Foreman: "Aren't there better ways to spend our time?"

House: "Good question. What makes a person deserving? Is a man who cheats on his wife more deserving than a man who kills his wife?"

Foreman: "Uh yeah. Actually, he is."

House: "What about a child molester? Certainly not a good guy, but he didn't kill anybody. Maybe he can get antibiotics, but no MRIs. What about you? What medical care should you be denied for being a car thief? Tell you what: the three of you work out a list of what medical treatments a person loses based on the crime they committed. I'll review it when I get back."

From Episode 5: Daddys Boy:

House: "Gimme a reason to get out of this, and I'll tell you who started the rumor about you being a transsexual."

Cuddy: "There is no such rumor."

House: "There will be unless you get me out of this dinner."

From Episode 24: No Reason:

House: "Here's how life works: you either get to ask for an apology or you get to shoot people. Not both."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diagnosis: Excellent drama, 22 Jun. 2009
Along with his crack team of caring sharing Cameron, flash young Aussie Case, and confident ex-con Foreman, Gregory House continues to frustrate his family, annoy his colleagues and bamboozle his superiors, as he cherry picks unusual cases for himself and his team of diagnosticians to unravel.

As ever, House's unconventional methods and crabby manner hide a brilliant mind; regularly sending his team to break into patients' homes in order to uncover secrets that may help him diagnose them, House continually baits hospital manager Cuddy and in this series becomes re-acquainted with his ex-wife, a crack lawyer whose new role as the hospital's legal representative forms a loose story arc for the entire season.

British comedy stalwart Hugh Laurie continues to invest House with wit, gruff charm, and unresolved anger, and after the introductions of the first season there is scope here for some more innovative and imaginative episodes which keep the show fresh and fascinating.
Watching an entire season back to back means that it's easy to see there is a formula, like British hospital drama Casualty, the show opens each time with an accident about to happen or someone experiencing strange symptoms which bring them into House's remit. However, the formula still works well and the episodes are without exception extremely absorbing; I look forward to catching season 3 next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House every time, 1 Jun. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are ill,do you want a doctor that holds your hand and pfaffs around with this or that because he has no real idea about what is wrong with you?Or do you want a doctor who doesn't care to even meet you,but is an absolute ACE at diagnosing precisely what is wrong and fixing it(unless incurable)?House is the latter.He has no time for patients because,as he says,"they all lie".He much prefers to focus on the facts-tests/reports etc.He needs to take his walking stick to the rear ends of his staff of 3 ,though.I don't know which of the 3 is worst-the smarmy ,untrustworthy handsome one?the streetwise pompous rule driven one?the goody-goody sugar and spice one?Each seems more intent on trying to bring down House.And as for the long-suffering head of the hospital,methinks she has dreams about House,and not chaste ones either.Laurie is an absolute revelation in this role .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV programming at its greatest!, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
Scubasteve (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
House M.D. is the greatest show on TV, Dr Houses personality is the greatest attraction of the show, Imagine the opposite of what you would expect from a doctor and you have House. Controversial, stubborn, confrontational and doesnt give two hoots about anyones opinion.

Foreman, Chase and Cameron are Houses punching bag along with Dr. Cuddy, then theres Dr. Wilson the one who has any kind of friendship with House. Season 2 has some of the best episodes as yet, 'Euphoria Pt 1' and 'Pt 2' are both excellent as well as 'All in'.

The programme is still going strong on its fourth season now and this DVD box set would make a good addiotion to anyones collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House: Season Two [2004] (REGION 1) (NTSC)
Used & New from: £5.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews