Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What kid wouldn't want to read about a vampire bunny?, 29 Aug 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I don't care how old I get, I'm just not going to turn down a chance to read a book about a vampire rabbit, especially if it's told from the point of view of a dog. Good old Harold was pretty much living the good life until the introduction into the household of a cute wittle bunny wabbit the Monroes brought home with them from the movies one night. (Apparently a Dracula fan, the bunny was all settled in to watch the Count do his thing when one of the Monroe kids sat on him in the theater.) Little Bunnicula doesn't really bother Harold at all, since he sleeps all day and doesn't come between him and his treats. Harold's feline friend Chester, on the other hand, doesn't cotton to Bunnicula at all, seeing what no one else seems to notice - this bunny has fangs, and his coloration pattern sometimes makes it look like he's wearing a cape. Reading up on vampires while the Monroes sleep, Chester quickly becomes obsessed with getting this little bat in bunny's clothing out of the house as soon as possible - especially after healthy vegetables begin to show up completely drained of their color.

There are some really funny bits in this story, including my favorite scene wherein Chester tries to inform the Monroes know that their newest pet is a vampire. Unfortunately, all this achieves is the Monroes' growing belief that their cat is getting cabin fever and needs to spend some quality time outside. With Chester temporarily out of the picture, Harold befriends Bunnicula, leaving Chester to resort to drastic measures once he finally gets the run of the house again. This leads to perhaps the funniest scene in the story, Chester's attempt to get rid of the vampire bunny for good - he does just what the vampire book says, but his inability to distinguish between two words that look and sound very much alike proves to be his undoing (as well as, to Harold's eyes, a potentially horrifying waste of a scrumptious dinner).

As an adult, I really enjoyed reading about Bunnicula's introduction into the lives of Harold and Chester, and I'm sure kids will get a big kick out of the story, as well. I must add one note of caution regarding this novel, however. One of Harold's favorite treats is chocolate, which we now know to be quite dangerous to dogs. Since young children reading this book may very well try to emulate the Monroes' habit of feeding Harold chocolate, parents need to make sure their children know that they should never feed any chocolate to their own dogs. Bunnicula is really a wonderful book, but there really should be some sort of warning label on it, for the sake of family dogs everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got some BITE!, 3 Aug 2004
By 
Ms. A. Mclauchlan "MCAnna" (Stoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bunnicula is a great story for children inclined towards the horror genre but whose parent's don't think they're quite ready for James Herbert or Mary Shelley! Written from the point of view of the family dog it is a witty and clever book with echoes of a classic spoof horror. Whilst parents will find it amusing children are more likely to be concerned for the fate of the family pets and the loveable Bunnicula! A fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bunnicual Rules!, 14 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery (Paperback)
I picked this book up and had a good laugh about the backcover, specifically this line: "But Chester, Harold's good friend and house-mate, was a very well-read cat and he knew there was something strange about Bunnicula. For one thing, he seemed to have fangs. And the odd markings on his back looked a little like a cape."

Maybe I'm really a seven year-old in this older body, but how can't you laugh at that!

Anyway, I read it in a very short time and the characters and dialogue are witty enough to keep a person interested through the story. Pick this one up if you run across it in the store. I plan to read the whole Bunnicula series and pass in on to the younger generations in the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a review on what the book is about., 12 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This book reveals the secret truth of animal vampires. It starts one stormy night when a dog and a cat are dozing off next to a warm fire in the living room. Their owners are at the Cinema their owners are a girl and boy and their parents. The family brings home a rabbit and soon the mother starts finding white and shrunken vegetables behind the fridge. Soon the cat suspects what is happening, he thinks that the rabbit (bunnicula) is a vampire. Soon he and the dog are having strange ideas on how to kill it, the ideas are soon followed by some madcapped adventures. This is a book for everyone and everyone will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars remains a classic!, 14 May 2003
i was first introduced to this story when i was in primary school, and just recently purchased it for my children ... it is simply brilliant! a fun story, it captivates and entertains, plus allows children to draw their own conclusions regarding the bunny and his nighttime activities. it's a treat for parents as well ... years later, i still find myself amused by chester's antics and runaway imagination, plus harold's benevolent "whatever" dog attitude is refreshing. bonus: if you like this story, there's many sequels to enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great BOOK, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery (Paperback)
Superb children's book. Fascinating for kids and fun to read to your son or daughter. A tail about a very nice cat and dog who suspect the pet rabbit is a vampire. Contains some real humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery (Paperback)
A mysterious vampire rabbit that sucks the juice out of vegetables....what's not to like?!
My son found this book hysterical and ended up having lots of vegetarian vampire role playing games.
The book arrived in perfect condition and bang on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant!, 5 Dec 2008
By 
M. Bennett (In the middle of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery (Paperback)
I remember reading this back at school some 11 years ago and I loved it then and I love it now.

There's intrigue, mystery and humour all thrown into this book and you won't want to put it down.

This is a great read for both children (13+) and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Funny Bunny!!, 20 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This book is very funny, look out for Chester the Cats impression of a vampire!! Its a really enjoyable book for children, and will encorage them to read more, but also one the parents will enjoy reading too. (Im 25 and i still think its hilarious)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart warming (rabbits) tale, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
The Monroe family find a rabbit and bring it home, soon after they find the vegetables in their fidge turned white. They are puzzled, but their cat suspects the new family member...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery
Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery by Deborah Howe (Paperback - 1 Aug 2006)
£3.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews