Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner
I was completely absorbed in this book from the first chapter. Sophie McKenzie hits you right in the face with every chapter ending, leaving you quickly scrabbling through the pages to find out what would happen next. Each chapter is quite short and sharp and you find yourself holding your breath in between turning to the next one.

Lauren is a very strong...
Published on 16 Aug 2011 by Serendipity Reviews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Girl missing
A good read for both a older teenager or adults. It was very Gripping. Some of it seemed a bit far fetched.
Published 4 months ago by slategeorge


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not too good., 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
Now firstly, don't get me wrong - this book isn't dreaful; it just isn't very good either.

Personally I just found the book so unrealistic! The girl has to research her family and because her family won't let her find out about her past she decides to look it up online; this part is fairly realistic. Until she finds a missing persons list of stolen children with a young girl on it who happens to fit her rough birth date and slight description. At this point most people would not think anything of it and probably would have left it alone. But of course she got suspicious and started researching further.

Her friend helps her look into this missing girl by running away with her to do some snooping in London. Which again is to be quite honest, ridiculous. If a best friend of mine told me that they were worried their parents stole them and that the evidence they had was what Lauren had, I would point them in the other direction and tell them to get a good night's sleep.

After this point they end up being stolen by the woman who helped steal her in the first place - how the woman managed to find out that she knew anything is beyond me and then she abandons them in the middle of nowhere. If the woman was really that worried about being exposed to the police, she would kill her? Instead of leaving it for the averagely dramatic fight scene at the end.

Lauren ends up being reunited with her real family, spends some time with them, realizes she still misses her old family and then there was the fight scene I mentioned earlier when the woman returns to actually try and kill her this time.

Overall I just found the book far too 'staged' and I like it when a book has some shocks and surprises but everything was far too predictable. For a 13 year old maybe, this book may be okay. But otherwise, I would say maybe try a book with more suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!!!, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Kindle Edition)
this is one of the best books i have ever read and i can say this honestly from the moment i started reading the book i couldnt stop i loved the way at the end of some chapters it kept you guessing and made you want to read more. This is a brilliant book worth the money. and it is also well written well done sophie mckenzie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars girl found!, 11 Feb 2008
By 
N. Murphy (Bolton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
This book is full of adventure and it's quite interesting. it had me biting my nails for about 1/2 an hour and built up suspense really well
Lauren was super brave!

by Jennifer Murphy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally put-downable, 11 Feb 2008
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
Having read the book jacket blurb and seen that this book had won a couple of awards, I went into it with high hopes. Perhaps this was why I ended up so very disappointed.

The idea that underlies this story (child abduction and children being sold through adoption agencies) is a serious one and yet McKenzie treats it in a rather facile, superficial way. I was particularly unimpressed with the confrontations that Lauren has with her parents, which never struck me as emotionally credible (especially when you find out the reason for her adoptive mother's reluctance to talk about it towards the end of the book). For most of the book, Lauren is unthinking and selfish, which prevented me from really feeling for her predicament and the way in which she willingly puts herself into danger time and time again made me wish that the villains really would succeed in whacking her.

Speaking of the villains, they don't get much page time and as such are somewhat one-dimensional. McKenzie seems keen to portray the main villain as some kind of mastermind and yet their dogged pursual of Lauren and belief that the only way they can escape the authorities is to kill her really stretches credibility to the limit.

The relationship between Lauren and Jam is a little more believable, particularly in terms of the dialogue between them. However, McKenzie's attempt to give Jam an uncaring father falls into trite cliche, as does his New Age Mother.

What really annoyed me about this book though was the complete failure to deal with Lauren's relationship with her 'real' family. I wanted to see more of their reaction beyond cliched sentimentality and I wanted to understand Lauren's dilemma beyond seeing her as some kind of whiney bratt who doesn't know what she wants. The way in which McKenzie resolved Lauren's "conflict" is facile and cheapens what should be a deeply emotional situation.

I think that it's perfectly possible to write an emotionally satisfying, breath-holding thriller about child abduction for a teenage audience. But this really didn't do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good but boring, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Ms. K. Morrison "Kaz" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
childs review:
im thirteen and when i saw this book i was excited because i love sophie mckenzie
but this book was another story
it started off as a really gripping tale but in the end it seemed kind of rushed and not planned you couls easily guess the ending
i found this book really upsettins because all her other books are real good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mediocre Read, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
I have always been fascinated and indeed devastated by the idea of someone going missing and so I felt drawn to this book. However, I was a little disappointed with it.

The heroine of Girl, Missing is fourteen year old Lauren Matthews, who is adopted and embarks on a quest to find her roots, taking along her best friend Jam. Consequently, the two characters are alone for much of the story.

That is why it was so difficult to enjoy the book, because Lauren is selfish, vein and generally unlikable and I often wanted to scream at her to change her ways.

The plot sometimes lacked action and drive, which I found tiresome.

That said, the story is a good one and worth giving a go if you are prepared to stick it out until it gets exiting and is quite a good effort for a debut novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff!!, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
Sophie McKenzies 1st book, Girl, missing, was one of the best books I've ever read. I finished it in two days and have been reading all of her other books as well. You are totally gripped from beginning to end, tension is built up throughout the novel - you feel your stomach twisting into a knot! Brilliant stuff :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briiliant, 9 May 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
Amazing. Blew me away. This book was great but I would not recomend it for people under the age of 11 or 12 as it has some swear words in and is quite emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Missing by Sophie McKenzie, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Mrs. Rosemary Hunter (England,Essex Colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Paperback)
This was an amazing book,you just can stop reading it!The book is exciting,funny and full of surprises, I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something different and action packed.I feel Sophie Mckenzie is a very clever and talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IS THIS A KIDS BOOK?, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl, Missing (Kindle Edition)
Didn't realise when I bought this book that it was written for children. It is so cheesy. Would be perfect as a daytime tv movie on channel obscure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa855bc)

This product

Girl, Missing
Girl, Missing by Sophie McKenzie (Paperback - 2 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews