Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant finish to an unforgettable trilogy!
I had pre-ordered Time Quake through Amazon.com in the USA, but as it wouldn't be available for me to read until OCTOBER, I canceled the order and placed it with the UK branch of Amazon and it thankfully arrived only a few days after I ordered this gem. I have enjoyed this trilogy so much and couldn't imagine how Linda Buckley-Archer could tie it all up neatly at the...
Published on 10 Aug. 2009 by Cynthia Farr-weinfeld

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Inadequate Third Book After A Good First Two In The Trilogy
The book ended the Linda Buckley-Archer time travel trilogy - the first book being Gideon The Cutpurse (a compelling read), followed by The Tar Man (a ripping yarn). I believe that this final book was originally due to be entitled Lord Luxon but this title was changed, and publication was delayed - I feel a mistake was made here, whatever the cause of the delay and...
Published on 21 July 2009 by Laurence Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant finish to an unforgettable trilogy!, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Cynthia Farr-weinfeld "Cynthia" (Portland, ME) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Quake (Gideon) (Hardcover)
I had pre-ordered Time Quake through Amazon.com in the USA, but as it wouldn't be available for me to read until OCTOBER, I canceled the order and placed it with the UK branch of Amazon and it thankfully arrived only a few days after I ordered this gem. I have enjoyed this trilogy so much and couldn't imagine how Linda Buckley-Archer could tie it all up neatly at the end, but she has. The characters are so real to me, as a reader, and so endearing, even the "evil" Lord Luxon--Buckley-Archer makes such "round" characters that you feel greatly even for the evil ones, finding yourself understanding their motivations for wanting to do the bad things they do. As we say in the US, this is a marvelous "page turner" but one that won't be forgotten the day after one has read it. Don't miss the ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time Quake (Gideon) (Hardcover)
As you've come to expect from Linda, a fast action packed adventure for the Young Adult reader and a fitting conclusion to the series as the characters face their toughest challenge to date. Interesting science backed up with a well rounded story really does make this something difficult to beat for its sheer size and scope. Well written, beautifully descriptive and to top it all an author that's pretty hard to beat. Cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Inadequate Third Book After A Good First Two In The Trilogy, 21 July 2009
By 
Laurence Paul (Ancient Kingdom of Northumbria) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Quake (Gideon) (Hardcover)
The book ended the Linda Buckley-Archer time travel trilogy - the first book being Gideon The Cutpurse (a compelling read), followed by The Tar Man (a ripping yarn). I believe that this final book was originally due to be entitled Lord Luxon but this title was changed, and publication was delayed - I feel a mistake was made here, whatever the cause of the delay and title-change. At a youngster's level the story remains fairly lively and absorbing, if a little too 'fussy' (I won't spoil the ending!). For mature readers who have read the first two books in this series, 'Time Quake' will almost certainly disappoint. The plot is thin; being far too heavily dependent upon a single historical counterfactual that is vaguely interesting but is itself thin and woefully unconvincing. The characters have not matured properly and have, in fact, regressed to being rather two-dimensional and not so readily believable. LB-A has further damaged the trilogy by effecting a hurried-looking and contrived ending (that could have been written at any point in the pages of any of the three books). Having read this book again before ammending my initial (kinder!) review I would have to say that the author has not written with the same authenticity as she achieved in the first two novels and LB-A therefore has not produced a satisfying read or convincing conclusion to her three-work. If LB-A wrote more then I'd probably still be tempted to buy - as she proved in the first two books that she had the knack of bringing a historical period to life by introducing you to some seductive characters - but she has not achieved this feat in Time Quake. The characters were so strongly written in the first two books that the plotline was rendered almost redundant - but here if the plot had been strong and convincing it might have rescued the story - but it wasn't and it didn't. Time Quake seemed to lack the same sure-footed writer-signature and quality that the first two books possessed. I feel that LB-A has rather let her readership down with this effort. After successful books one and two, number three definitely fell short of LB-A's earlier, higher standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Journey, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
Annie Aitken (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was GREAT and we throughly enjoyed it! However some of the c/d's were dirty and skipped and needed to be cleaned. Otherwise, was BRILLIANT! Recommended trilogy for time travelers everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 10 July 2012
By 
Marie Brice "riacatacus" (chatteris england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Quake (Gideon) (Paperback)
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE ALL THE BOOKS IN THIS SERIES. they are so well written and really bring history to life. I wont spoil anything but there are quite a few suprises and edge of your seat moments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So That's What Time Travel is Like, 13 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Time Quake (Gideon) (Hardcover)
I finished Time Quake this morning with a tingle all over my skin. The story builds to a great crescendo right to the end and leaves you with a feeling that it all really did happen and... well, won't spoil the ending.
The past is brought ringingly to life and reading about characters from the past brought to the modern day is a lot of fun. Absolutely splendid. A classic that children and adults will be reading for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll be buying it, sure enough, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Gideon G. Beddows "better to be dead and ... (Rugeley, Staffordshire. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Quake (Gideon) (Hardcover)
If you have bought and read Gideon the Cutpurse and The Tar man, you'll be wondering if you are going to be getting more of the page turning exciting text and great characters. You've no need to worry, its all good.

If you havnt read the 1st two. Get them before you read this. Im not sure it stands up as a single novel.

Also, although i only bought it because the first book shared my name, you wouldnt know you were reading a Childrens novel - they are all excellent. I wasnt disapointed and neither will you be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Quake (Gideon)
Time Quake (Gideon) by Linda Buckley-Archer (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews