Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
This is a lovely book with some beautiful colours, etc. As far as not being safe for children, I won't comment. However, I am a 40 year old man and bought this for myself! They are amazing and artful - don't see them just as children's books because they definatley aren't. The 12 Days Of Christmas book is even more beautiful, I think. And I'd give that 5 stars.
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by Luis P

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Winter's tale
Robert Sabuda's pop up books are simply out of this world once you have seen these pop up's nothing else will do. The paper engineering is amazing! However, I would not advise these books to small children as they are delicate, a winters tale would be perfect for children above 3 years old with adult supervision the text is not as extensive as some of sabuda's books eg...
Published on 29 July 2009 by Hayley White


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Winter's tale, 29 July 2009
By 
Hayley White "hay hazey" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
Robert Sabuda's pop up books are simply out of this world once you have seen these pop up's nothing else will do. The paper engineering is amazing! However, I would not advise these books to small children as they are delicate, a winters tale would be perfect for children above 3 years old with adult supervision the text is not as extensive as some of sabuda's books eg (wizard of Oz and Alice in wonderand) so younger children will engage with the story and will certainly enjoy the lights at the end! Also batteries can be replaced. One Negative!! (winter's tale can seem a bit drab if you own some of sabuda's other books as pop ups are not as colourful. (still amazing engineering) but I would recommend this one above the others for younger children as the story is short and pop ups are wonderful. A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book with some beautiful colours, etc. As far as not being safe for children, I won't comment. However, I am a 40 year old man and bought this for myself! They are amazing and artful - don't see them just as children's books because they definatley aren't. The 12 Days Of Christmas book is even more beautiful, I think. And I'd give that 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book but for grown ups, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully made book that is definitely for the older child or adult reading with a younger child. The intricacy of the pop ups mean that inquisitive little fingers could easily damage them. There are two pop up scenes on every page - a main one and a little hidden one that you have to "discover" and open up yourself. The paperwork is principally in white with a different colour theme on each page and there is a special surprise at the end. I would recommend this book as an ideal present for a "book" lover or a child over 7 where you would like to keep some of the magic of Christmas going. I love it and hope it will become part of our family Christmas for years to come. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but others based on classic tales are better, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
A good product, with amazing folds outs (as always for Robert Sabuda) but the text/story is a little disappointing. Better to buy one of his books based on classic stories / rhymes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
One of those Christmas keepsakes. Will bring it out every Christmas and treasure forever.
Another beautiful work of art by Robert Sabuda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
the same as in the shop but much cheaper. I will give it to my younger sister as the christmas gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
This was all that I had come expect from Robert Sabuda. Beautifully crafted and beautiful detail. Happy Christmas to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Winter's Tale (Hardcover)
We bought one of these several years ago as a pre-Christmas treat and it's a real delight to take it out each year.
We all handle it reverently - there's something so pure about the delicate engineering that commands respect and awe - and it's one book we do keep away from tiny fingers. I've given several as gifts to people and most of them have gone on to buy other copies for friends and family. It really is a treasure of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winter's Tale
Winter's Tale by Robert Sabuda (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2005)
16.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews