Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARTHUR SPIDEWICK'S FIELD GUIDE: Absolutely fantastic!
I bought this book yesterday and Ive already read it cover to cover and Its absolutaly FANTASTIC! The artwork is stunning and the effort Ms Black and Mr DeTerlizzi have put to it is amazing! I reccomend this book to any fan of Harry Potter or Spiderwick! I absoloutly loves it!
It makes them [faerie] so real!
10/10! Bravo! En-Core! Well Done!
Published on 15 Oct 2005 by Master MacLeod

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Through The UPS! and downs!
I have to give credit to the fantastic ideas, images and facts this book has presented but i was dissapointed to find that this IS NOT 'Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide' as used in the movie. I purchased this book in hoping to encounter the ideas of magic circles, potions, weapons but instead i recieved one page on the 'Sight' and no pages on the things shown in the movie...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Unfortunatley-Crazy!


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARTHUR SPIDEWICK'S FIELD GUIDE: Absolutely fantastic!, 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
I bought this book yesterday and Ive already read it cover to cover and Its absolutaly FANTASTIC! The artwork is stunning and the effort Ms Black and Mr DeTerlizzi have put to it is amazing! I reccomend this book to any fan of Harry Potter or Spiderwick! I absoloutly loves it!
It makes them [faerie] so real!
10/10! Bravo! En-Core! Well Done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my goodness!, 16 Feb 2006
This review is from: Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
This is the book I dreamt of finding in my gran's attic when I was a kid! this is the book that outdo every other book about faeries. It's beauty, it's fun and "real-ness" is outstanding! You really dont have to be a Spiderwick fan to enjoy this, you just need to believe in faeries! Or at least *want* to believe in them... and appriciate art! Because Tony DiTerlizzi does the best job on his illustrations... Pure Magic from front to back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hours, days of entertment, 7 Jan 2011
My daugther, 10, aked for that book. She read it in two days... She is now playing with her friends in the garden to find all these creatures... their imaginations are getting wild..
the cons about it... she wants to cover her bedroom floor with flour to spot the pixies..

A great book with very nice pictures, full of infos and really entertaining.
I will definetly recommand the book to children with imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Illustrations and text, 7 Dec 2010
Fantastic book. I bought this for my 10 year old daughter who can't put it down. Amazing illustrations and great text too. Enjoyed reading it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustrations and descriptions, 7 July 2008
By 
debbie8355 "*" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
This field guide to accompany the Spiderwick stories is an amazingly beautifully written and illustrated guide to invisible magical creatures like Brownies, Boggarts, Piskies, Gargoyles, Banshees, Changelings, Pixies, Salamanders, Phookas, Dragons, Giants, Goblins, Merfolk, Sea Serpents etc and some wonderful rare creatures like the 'Stray Sod' who will make you chuckle.

It's an A4 sized book in the style of a really old journal with browned pages and picture plates. Some of the inner pages open upwards and some double fold outwards. The content can't be faulted, really it is truly magical. Letters and old newspaper stories interweave the descriptions giving it a real journal feel.

The only slight gripe I have is is the modern presentation. The dust jacket is thin paper and easily damaged. It is also really flat apart from a slightly raised round part of the seal which may disappoint a child who has seen the book in the film version. The cover is different underneath and in the same style as another Spiderwick book the 'Notebook of Fantastical Observations'cover. It is a shame when a book looks better without it's dustjacket. An older style cover with a removable warning card and some ribbon would have done wonders to the outer presentation. The inner pages which open out are also slightly badly designed. I found it impossible to open the 'old wyrm dragon' page upwards without sligthly ripping it as it was such a close fit to the spine. I think younger children might have a problem opening and folding the pages without leaving them crumpled and ripped.

100/100 for content but it is let down slightly by the presentation. It could have been even more wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully done, 30 May 2011
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This book, the Arthur Spiderwick Field guide, is lovingly restored and organized by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi. The creatures from the fantastical world around us have been organized by habitat and then alphabetically. It has 28 plates and hundreds of illustrations, with fold-out pages and flip-up pages for even larger illustrations. Each creature's main illustrations list its scale. With lots of side notes and addendums, this is a wonderful book that the young and young at heart can return to many times.

The sections are:
Around the House and Yard:
Brownies
Boggarts
Changelings
Pixies
Salamanders
Stray Sod

In Fields and Forests:
Cockatrices
Elves
Leprechauns
Manticores
Sprites
Treefolk
Unicorns

In Lakes, Streams and the Sea:
Kelpies
Merfolk
Nixies
Sea Serpents
Trolls

In the Hills and Mountains:
Dwarves
Giants
Goblins
Hobgoblins
Knockers
Ogres

In the Sky:
Dragons
Griffins
Phoenixes

Outside at Night:
Banshees
Gargoyles
Phookas
Will-o-the-Wisps

This illustrated guide is amazing. I know that I will read it again, and plan on reading it to my children many times over the next few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations. I will be borrowing this off my daughter to use as a teaching resource too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
The dust jacket we got is different than the picture and, frankly preferable. It would have been nice to have a proper ribbon and a moulded wax seal on velcro, but other than that a very good piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It looks just like the one in the movie. It's brilliant. I would thoroughly recommend that you buy this if you like the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
A fantastic book with brilliantly detailed illustrations of magical creatures. The drawings really bring characters from the books (and film to life) a great item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide: To the Fantastic World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicle)
16.28
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews