Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book in the series
If you have not read the previous stories in the Titan series i would recommend you do so before reading this book.

The story can drag in bits but is still contains the Star Trek ethos of introducing unusual lifeforms into a good story. Be prepared as it is mainly based around the Selkie crewmember but still would advise as a good read for Star Trek fans.
Published on 18 Sept. 2009 by JJ

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to normal for the Titan series
Back to normal for the Titan series. Out of touch with starfleet exploring a brand new world with a unique twist. An individual member of the crew finds her calling and is tempted to stay behind permanently. I've heard this a little before in the Titan series.

Like Bennett's previous Titan novel, this one seemed slow to get started, especially waiting for some...
Published on 2 July 2009 by Jim J-R


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to normal for the Titan series, 2 July 2009
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan) (Mass Market Paperback)
Back to normal for the Titan series. Out of touch with starfleet exploring a brand new world with a unique twist. An individual member of the crew finds her calling and is tempted to stay behind permanently. I've heard this a little before in the Titan series.

Like Bennett's previous Titan novel, this one seemed slow to get started, especially waiting for some of the content revealed in the blurb on the back cover to come along in the plot.

The elements that Bennett was forced to include in the novel from the continuing arc were a bit awkward, and the story he had introduced to get these out of the way seemed very forced and didn't particularly fit.

Overall, it was an okay read, but nothing has yet happened to hook me to the Titan series. I've got a fair while until the next one though. Looking forward to the next TNG book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book in the series, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
JJ (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you have not read the previous stories in the Titan series i would recommend you do so before reading this book.

The story can drag in bits but is still contains the Star Trek ethos of introducing unusual lifeforms into a good story. Be prepared as it is mainly based around the Selkie crewmember but still would advise as a good read for Star Trek fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Average at best. Frankly I got bored after reading about three quarters of the story. The plot could have been tightened up and pace improved considerably for a more interesting story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titan five, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I was hooked on this story from the word go glad that the previous book was just a lone dud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Titan book, 15 Aug. 2010
By 
Stuart Millard "dramill" (Tipton, West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan) (Mass Market Paperback)
As soon as the Titan series of books was announced, it was going to be one I would read. Some of the books in the series are very, very good reads. This one, less so. The storyline is somewhat weak and not very engaging. It's not a novel for the casual Trek-reader, but you have to read it if you're reading the series. Fortunately, the series is back on form in the follow up novel "Synthesis".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still reading it., 18 July 2009
By 
Dan Brierley "Dan" (At home, where do you think.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan) (Mass Market Paperback)
Its too much like the new frontier books, a starship crew made up of oddballs. I'll struggle through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Back To Exploration, 3 July 2009
By 
Aaron (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first Star Trek book I've read in a long while that deals solely with exploration and mystery solving, rather than combat and such. If you liked the kinds of books they wrote back when TNG was airing, then you'll like Over a Torrent Sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan)
Over a Torrent Sea (Star Trek: Titan) by Christopher L. Bennett (Mass Market Paperback - 6 April 2009)
Used & New from: £0.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews