Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betrayal, Loyalty and Love
James Durham, Viscount Sanburne, is a beautiful, privileged wastrel, living his life with the sole intention of disgusting his father. So when he acquires an expensive Egyptian artefact, he instantly takes it to show him. Regardless of where he is at the time.

Lydia Boyce may be a spinster and a bluestocking, but she works hard to supply funding for her...
Published on 9 Sep 2009 by Book Gannet

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SPOILER ALERT
SPOILER IS THIS REALLY A MEREDITH DURAN BOOK????? IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE SHOCK TO ME HAVING READ TWO OF HER OTHER BOOKS WHERE THE OTHERS WERE SENSUAL ELECTRIFYING AND ENGAGING THIS LACKED ALL THREE SENTIMENTS!!BOTH CHARACTERS WERE GLOOMY DEPRESSING AND UNATTRACTIVE IN THEIR ROLES SO MUCH SO THAT THEY BECAME BORING ,ANY ATTEMPT TO INTELLIGENT DIALOGUE ENDED UP BEING NEITHER...
Published 22 months ago by allana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betrayal, Loyalty and Love, 9 Sep 2009
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound by Your Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
James Durham, Viscount Sanburne, is a beautiful, privileged wastrel, living his life with the sole intention of disgusting his father. So when he acquires an expensive Egyptian artefact, he instantly takes it to show him. Regardless of where he is at the time.

Lydia Boyce may be a spinster and a bluestocking, but she works hard to supply funding for her father's archaeological work in Egypt. So when her vital paper to the Archaeological Institute is interrupted by an inebriated fool, she's only too happy to tell James that his valuable find is a fake.

And this is just the beginning of their encounters as James' anger and Lydia's indignation uncover a serious plot that not only deals in forgeries, but threatens the integrity and reputation of Lydia's whole family.

Along the way, James and Lydia strike sensual sparks off each other as they challenge and constantly reassess each others expectations. Both have been in someway betrayed by their families, yet they cling to their loyalties. But can James sit back and watch another woman self-destruct in her blind loyalty? And can Lydia ever heal James when he refuses to accept the truth and limitations of the past?

Emotionally intense, evocative and exciting, Duran takes the standard tropes of the wastrel and the bluestocking and fills them with life. Her characters are powerfully engaging (I was fully on Lydia's side before I even finished the prologue), fully matched by the elegant, well-researched Victorian setting.

Submerge yourself in her intriguing world, and enjoy another excellent take from a rising star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bound by your touch, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: Bound by Your Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
When i started reading the book i wasn't sure what to make of the leading characters. Sanbourne who lives his life being useless and annoying his father, then there is Lydia who can be superior in her intelligence. As the book develops we learn the events that shapes them and how being together helps them grow and evolve. By the end i was cheering for their happy ending.
This is my first book by Meredith Duran that i have read and it won't be the last. She has a wonderful lyrical style. The plot is strong, involving counterfeit Egyptian relics and the implication of Lydia's fathers involvement. However the plot doesn't overshadow the romance and the subsequent growth of the characters.
Definitlely a book to be recommended and i look forward to reading her next novel Written on your Skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Won me over, 6 Jan 2012
By 
D. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure about this ebook when I got it. I had read a couple of MD books by this stage but nothing really compared to the Duke of Shadows (maybe it was the long separation that had everyone hanging on the edge of their seats...) Anyway I read the brief description and thought the worst so I was pleasantly surprised that I liked the heroine and the hero. As usual MD books are well written, a good plot, great dialogue (with good humour) and some steamy intimate scenes but the heroine was endearing and the rascal hero won over, just like I was won over by this book. Give it a go, it was defintely worth it. If I could I'd give this 4.5 stars really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. Sanburne is an extraordinary hero - troubled, sexy and clever. It was obvious from the outset that something dark lurked behind his outrageous behaviour and the gradual revelation of this was beautifully paced. But what really makes the book so enjoyable is the slow development of the relationship between Sanburne and Lydia and how both this and the overall plot fuse together at the end. This is the second book of Ms Duran's that I've read - and it won't be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as The Duke of Shadows, 12 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound by Your Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
I confess to feeling a little bit disapointed with this book although compared to a lot of other historical romances out there, it is far superior to most. I think although the characterization of hero and heroine was complex and believable. The action was a bit lacking. I found the subject of the English's fascination with Egyptian artefacts to be an interesting one, but the whole fake artefact plot was not very exciting and rather hard to follow at points.

Viscount Sanburne is a tortured hero indeed, a rake who takes drugs and drinks to excess and Lydia Boyce is an acknowledged spinster/blue stocking. I do think one of the strengths of this book, despite the stereo typical nature of their characters, was the way their relationship builds and their love for each other is more believable for it.Bound by Your Touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SPOILER ALERT, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
SPOILER IS THIS REALLY A MEREDITH DURAN BOOK????? IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE SHOCK TO ME HAVING READ TWO OF HER OTHER BOOKS WHERE THE OTHERS WERE SENSUAL ELECTRIFYING AND ENGAGING THIS LACKED ALL THREE SENTIMENTS!!BOTH CHARACTERS WERE GLOOMY DEPRESSING AND UNATTRACTIVE IN THEIR ROLES SO MUCH SO THAT THEY BECAME BORING ,ANY ATTEMPT TO INTELLIGENT DIALOGUE ENDED UP BEING NEITHER HERE NOR THERE AND PREACHING FOR NO REASON AT ALL!SHE HASSELED THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS OUT OF HIM FOR HIS BEHAVIOUR TOWARDS HIS FATHER BUT DOES THE EXACT SAME TO HER OWN IN THE END VERY IMMATURE BEHAVIOUR FROM THEM BOTH SHE IS CONSTANTLY A NAG AND A DRAG AND IS DESCRIBED AS POSSIBLY THE MOST UNATTRACTIVE INDIVIDUAL ANYONE WOULD WANT TO HANG OUT WITH VERY BLAND .THE SEX SCENES, THOUGH FEW ,WERE ABSOLUTELY NOT DESCRIBED AT ALL NO VIVIDNESS TO THE SCENES BLAND AS THE TWO OF THEM!AND IN THE LAST FEW PAGES WHEN I READ 'A HONEYMOON IN THE LAND OF RUBBISH'THAT WAS THE DEATH BLOW FOR ME !!!! MEREDITH DURAN?SERIOUSLY THE SAME WOMAN WHO WROTE DUKE OF SHADOWS AND LADY'S LESSON IN SCANDAL ????????I RARELY SAY THIS ABOUT A BOOK BUT THERE IS NO ONE WHO CAN ENJOY THIS ONE IN MY OPINION NO DISRESPECT TO PEOPLE WHO GAVE IT RAVE REVIEWS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than readable, 13 July 2009
This review is from: Bound by Your Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
Meredith Duran certainly can write fascinating historical romances. She has her own personal style. In some way she is able to say so much about feelings even though the feelings are not described with descriptions of those but rather through actions and behavior and the reasons for these. The Duke of Shadow was better, but both are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bound by Your Touch
Bound by Your Touch by Meredith Duran (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Jun 2009)
4.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews