Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars miss o"dell, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. B. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
WHAT a fantastic read.
Easily one of the best music books to COME OUT EVER. --and i have hundreds.VERY differcult to put down poignant,tearfull,cheerfull, honest it tells the story of what a fairly attractive women COULD acheive in the late 60's/70's innocent fun,starting as a gofer, getting to know the beatles, getting into the *inner circle* always on the edge of getting finished/sacked Chris O'Dell tells her story graphically, from friendships with the various wives of RINGO,GEORGE,CLAPTON her various flings with stars on the road moving up from secretary to assistent to full road manager and life on the road and JUST how differcult that job can be, -I REALLY enjoyed her discription of managing CSNY in 74 well in realitly managing Crosby and Stills-- enfant terribles--and acting like spoilt brats.
HER RUN INS WITH ERIC CLAPTON --who disliked her friendship with pattie and had some terrible put down lines__ like on her wedding day party
* so how did it take you so long to hook up to the aristocrasy miss O'Dell??* Lord Bristol laughted that one off.
but HOW indeed?? how did a young girl from Tucson, Arizona manage to work with the Beatles, Stones, CSNY, the rolling thunder revue with Dylan Santana, Linda Ronstadt, be involved with the concert for Bangladesh?? eventuaaly get married to a english lord?? The drink. The drugs. WELL BETTER BUY THE BOOK AND FIND OUT!!
BRY CARTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Dave Gilmour's cat (on Dave Gilmour's boat) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
A great read. Chris worked closely with the Beatles, the Stones, Bob Dylan, CSNY and many others. Plus she was right there at the George/Eric/Pattie love triangle. This insider account has much wit and pathos. So many brilliant stories and very eloquently told. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible but true - I've seen the photos!, 16 Nov 2010
By 
silversurfer55 "Mame" (Newton Mearns, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
An incredible story of life in the life of the Beatles and Apple. After a party an American girl follows up a throw-away remark from Derek Taylor when he says 'OH, You should come to London and work for me at Apple...' Weeks later she literally takes up the offer, borrows money from her parents for a plane ticket and finds herself at the centre of Beatles life - and she has the photos to prove it.
An engrossing read. If I had known that it had been so easy to get a job at Apple with the Beatles I would have done it - even though I was only 13 years old at the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mystery Tour in the Land of Oz, 12 May 2010
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
Books by axe-grinding groupies like Frannie Schwartz and Pamela des Barre make me tired. This book is a refreshing change of pace from the groupie genre and let it be known that Miss Chris O'Dell was NOT a groupie. She was friends with many professionals in the music business and, like Olivia Arias (later Mrs. George Harrison) had a job that placed her in contact with these professionals. This is a serious memoir that is not meant to be titillating nor shocking. Unlike the books by authors such as Ms. Schwartz and des Barre, this is NOT of the "National Enquirer" ilk.

Miss O'Dell provides fresh, personal insights and information about some of the world's greatest musicians, such as George Harrison and Eric Clapton and Leon Russell. She is a bright, conventional woman who keeps her head and her character intact. She is impressed with her rock friends and her respect for them and her rise above sycophantism make her someone to respect. Nobody likes or can respect a toady.

Chris O'Dell has had many interesting life experiences. She even typed the lyrics to some of George Harrison's works. She was also present when George declared that he was in love with Maureen "Mo" Starkey, Ringo's wife. Ringo point-blank told George that he was glad it was someone he knew who was interested in his wife as opposed to some stranger.

Miss O'Dell worked at Apple records during its inception and very early days and was friends with Derek Taylor. Her friendship with drummer Jim Gordon would end on a tragic note. In the early 1980s Gordon committed a heinous crime, matricide and is currently serving a life sentence.

George Harrison would dedicate a song to her, the eponymously titled "Miss O'Dell" and Leon Russell would later pen "Pisces Apple Lady." Chris' Magical Mystery Tour across the Atlantic put an Arizona girl right into the middle of a musical maelestrom!

Miss O'Dell knew George's father, Harold Sr. and was friendly with the man for years. A previously unpublished picture of the man is included in this book.

Parts of this book made me laugh, such as her description of Friar Park and how cold her room was. George's response was equally funny. She decribes the George Harrison that she knew and provides a fresh look into the characters of famous musicians that she got to know personally. In time, she would return to Arizona laden with a treasure chest of memories and experiences.

I thought it was funny when her son Willie, then 6 first met Ringo. He thought Ringo was a 6" conductor from "Shining Time Station" and had no idea that the former Beatle was not small enough to fit into his pocket! I thought it was so adorable when Willie, who was born May 10, 1986 asked Chris O'Dell if she was famous. A bright, insightful young man, Willie has grown up to appreciate Miss O'Dell's life in England and appears to be thoughtful and well rounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Miss who?, 30 May 2013
By 
G. Tweedie "Jed the Bass" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
While I found this book an interesting read,I found it hard to believe how easy it was for her to integrate with so many different stars of that time.The fact that she was treated like an old and trusted friend by everybody so soon after meeting up with Derek Taylor and how everything just fell into her lap after that,intrigued me.What intrigued me even more was the fact that,after having read many books about the Beatles including Richard DiLello's 'Longest Cocktail Party',I don't actually recall seeing many references to her in any of them.I may have missed some,and indeed if anyone can point them out to me,please leave a comment to that effect.A good interesting read,nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
We chose this as one of our book club reads - I enjoyed reading it all about the different characters some funny stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic "Sixties Chick", 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
Chris O' Dell authenticates her "Sixties Chick" pedigree with an absolutely gorgeoues up to date shot of herself in the book and looks every bit as attractive now, with her Sixties hairstyle, as she did then. The one missing photo is the one of her in flower power gear but we can wish..........
I usually avoid books written by women because they tend, for me, to be too emotional, and not enough factual. But after reading Richard D'Lello's book on the Beatles Co, Apple Corps, "The Longest Cocktail Party...." I was looking for something just as atmospheric - and found it in this book.
Its the little things she tells you about the rich, musical and famous that gives you a more candid look into their personalities than the showbiz "cardboard cut-out" presentations would have you believe.
Chris O' Dell appears to be how a lot of women were in the 1960s, including Jenny Diski (author- "The Sixties-Big Ideas"), Germaine Greer, Raechel Donahue etc., sensing and finding their new youth power, and making the most of it. Conservative, these girls were not. Attractive their attitude was. They bring back to my memory a couple of ex-girlfriends ( Hello Maggie! xx) I had at the time. Save for the likes of O' Dell and Diski they are a dead breed, and certainly not present in the current youth generation. It seems we really did have it all.... Once....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss O'Dell: My Hard Days and Long Nights with The Beatles, The Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, and the Women They Loved (Hardcover)
loved this book - recounts the bands of that time brilliantly - very honest about her life good and bad. not like some "star" autobiography where you feel the writer is trying to create an image of themselves. she is an ordinary girl in an extraordinary situation but i think she's great. loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews