Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll Never be French (No Matter What I Do): Living in a Small Village in Brittany
Having lived in a small village in France myself for several years I was really looking forward to reading this book
and I was not at all disappointed. I could relate to a lot of things the Author talked about and was very pleased that he found the French villagers to be as lovely as those my husband and I met during our time in a village in Normandy.
I would...
Published on 28 April 2010 by Lesjoh 45

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not the best I've read, but not the worst either, just not riveting, sadly.
Published 1 month ago by Peri Winkle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll Never be French (No Matter What I Do): Living in a Small Village in Brittany, 28 April 2010
By 
Lesjoh 45 (Ely , Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
Having lived in a small village in France myself for several years I was really looking forward to reading this book
and I was not at all disappointed. I could relate to a lot of things the Author talked about and was very pleased that he found the French villagers to be as lovely as those my husband and I met during our time in a village in Normandy.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves France and the people as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll never be french, 9 May 2010
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
Funny witty and entertaining from start to finish, an easy read that you can just keep picking up and putting down, not that you will want to. A great little holiday read. Just enough detail and a flowing form of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this down, 3 May 2011
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
A fantastic read, did it in two sittings. Combines life experiences with very clear descriptions of life being lived in rural france. Nice to see an american perspective at last and would definately purchase futute publications by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i'll never be french, 6 Aug. 2011
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
nice book really enjoyed it and having just moved to france a great insight into the french ways and yes readers it really is like this ....still.
The English take a bit of a knocking though and thats a bit of a bitter pill but on the whole a very readable book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it..., 22 April 2011
By 
W. Bell (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As another reviewer mentions, there are a few below-the-belt comments about the Brits, but he is merely reflecting the perception of the locals he met. The story of what happened to the author is less important to me than the way the author uses the tale to illustrate the problems, opinions and humour that he has observed. There were many occasions - including the Brits comments - when I thought, "Yeah. Been there. Seen that!" but also when the author reminded me why we love the French way.

I really enjoyed this book. Light, amusing and kept going. But then, what do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a read, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not quite as enjoyable as other books, a bit confusing as he doesn't say why he separated from his girlfriend. but did enjoy reading about his renovation work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bk I'll never be French no matter what I do by Mark Greenside, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
I have really enjoyed reading this book. I'm on the last chapter and I don't want to finish it! Have looked forward to reading it every night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
Not the best I've read, but not the worst either, just not riveting, sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
Similar story to others out there, but readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll never be French......, 28 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do (Paperback)
It was well written, but if you're a sensitive soul, like me, then you might start bristling at the anti English remarks scattered throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do
I'll Never be French No Matter What I Do by Mark Greenside (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews