Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Frills, Just Darned Good Writing
Jeannette Walls does it again, sharing her family history beautifully; digging deep and not holding back. Half Broke Horses, a quick read with narrative that carries you along at a horses gallop through rough desert life, glamorous Chicago, one room classrooms. It's a first hand account of early America told blunt and to the point. One gets the feel that is how Lily Casey...
Published on 21 May 2011 by CJuniperG

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the book. 0 stars for the narration!
This review is for the audiobook version:

Jeanette Walls writes a great book but is a TERRIBLE narrator -- which explains my rating! Her voice is flat and boring -- devoid of any emotion, which I find amazing as she must have felt the excitement, joy and sadness as she penned the words. I hope she will continue to entertain us by writing many more books but,...
Published 13 months ago by Sandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I love this story, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
I love this story, the author writes in a very 'matter of fact' way about a brave woman's journey - I love her other book too 'The glass castle'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Half Broke Ireland, 26 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
Brilliant read in these hard economic times. Forget life coach books, this is all you need. I wish I was half as tough as Lily Casey Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
This was such an enjoyable book. Really couldnt put it down. Took it away on holiday and it was great. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
It's perfect for those who are trying to improve their english reading skills like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half broke horses Jeanette Walls, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Ross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
Really interesting. She has written two books about herself, her mother and Grandmother detailing their lives in America in the last century. Compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
Frederiek "This picture was taken in the Zuid... (Nieuwerkerk aan den IJssel, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
This book reads like a rollercoaster. I could hardly put it down. I also read The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls, which I also loved very much. Just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. Lyn Thomas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Broke Horses (Paperback)
Enjoyed book very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeannette Walls (Hardcover - 6 Oct. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews