Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Demon!
Nine hundred years ago, due to a careless act on his part, Rage demon Cadeon Woede caused the fall of an entire kingdom into enemy hands. His royal brother lost his crown. His entire foster family was murdered. And Cadeon has been living with the guilt and itch for revenge ever since. Now, after so many centuries, he's been offered the opportunity to right that wrong. All...
Published on 16 May 2008 by Misuzmama

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not fantastic
I have read all of the Immortals After Dark series and each one was really well written with excellent character development, well handled action scenes and super charged eroticism. However, it is not surprising that after five (or six if you include the anthologised story) smashing stories the standard would drop eventually.
This book is not bad, it just isn't up to...
Published on 28 July 2008 by Sian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Demon!, 16 May 2008
By 
Misuzmama (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark) (Mass Market Paperback)
Nine hundred years ago, due to a careless act on his part, Rage demon Cadeon Woede caused the fall of an entire kingdom into enemy hands. His royal brother lost his crown. His entire foster family was murdered. And Cadeon has been living with the guilt and itch for revenge ever since. Now, after so many centuries, he's been offered the opportunity to right that wrong. All the demon mercenary has to do is locate the 'Vessel' (a chosen female of Lore who will beget a child who will become a warrior of ultimate evil or good) and hand her over to a wicked sorcerer. In exchange for the female, Cadeon will receive the only weapon capable of defeating his enemy and thus the opportunity to restore the kingdom to its rightful hands. Everyone is counting on him to get this job done and there is nothing Cadeon won't do to complete his task. Only one teensy weensy problem -the female happens to be his predestined mate.

Dark Desires is the fifth (or sixth if you include the anthology) book in the Immortals After Dark series -
Playing Easy to Get
A Hunger Like No Other (The Immortals After Dark Series, Book 1)
No Rest for the Wicked (The Immortals After Dark, Book 2)
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (The Immortals After Dark, Book 3)
Dark Needs at Night's Edge (The Immortals After Dark Series, Book 4).

This book can be read as a stand alone. Although I do recommend that you read the entire series just because the other books are just too good to pass up. But a reader starting at this point won't be missing anything and can back track later it they want to.

As far as I'm concerned I absolutely loved this book! Cade is such a delicious demon, a gorgeous ladies man with a heart-stopping grin. And I just love the way he tried in vain to keep his hands off his little halfling brainiac Holly. And Holly is so cute with the way she dresses and her little quirks. She tries so hard to keep herself in control and keep her tempestuous Valkyrie tendencies under wraps. Its fun to see Cadeon try and *unleash* her. They make such a great couple.

Besides the sexy and fun romance, the book is full of some gripping fast paced action, as well as an infusion of new and interesting characters. There is also some surprises including a cliff hanger ending for one of the secondary characters...that was......OH MY!

Another great addition to a great series. Read them all, you won't be disappointed. This one is going on my keeper shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another entertaining story to this outstanding series, 2 Jun 2008
This review is from: Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark) (Mass Market Paperback)
The one and only goal Cade and his brother have is to get Rydstrom back on his thrown and now a simmer of hope is offered. Omort The Deathless is between Rydstrom and his thrown and as his name proclaims, he cannot be killed...until now. As a sword is forged especially for the Woede's to wield that can kill Omort The Deathless, they in return have to find and deliver The Vessel. With every Accession there is a female from The Lore that would come into sexual maturity. Her child would be a warrior of ultimate good or ultimate evil, depending on the side of the father.

Cade is indebted to his brother to get him back on his thrown and when he finds The Vessel, he looks into silvery eyes. The eyes with the color of a Valkyrie awoken. Holly felt the rage flow away as the threat subsided and looked in the eyes of another demon. Cade couldn't believe it, this female...his female... against all odds was one of The Lore! Yet apparently she was also The Vessel and his heart struggled with his honor, how could he give up that which he searched for nine hundred years but nor forgo on his vow to his brother?

Cade has until next full moon to deliver Holly to Groot The Metallurgist and in return get the sword that will kill Omort The Deathless. But can a demon let go of something as precious as his female?

As Kresley Cole let us taste a bit of the Demon world in the previous novels, in DARK DESIRES AFTER DUSK she gives it to us all with one of the Woede brothers, Cadeon "The Kingmaker". I was plunged into a fast paces tale almost from page one without the author losing eye for details and background. Though Cade and Holly are hunted by various Factions this story feels very character driven as much revolves around the couple and their problems.

Holly with her OCD problems turns her into such a heroine that you can't help but like and her quirks are just another thing that makes her stand out. She has a whole new side to discover and in combination with Cade she triggers the humorous side in me. If there was one thing that had me stuck to the pages was the formidable verbal sparring between those two, and both give as good as they get! Cade is just a rude, overbearing, chauvinistic demon but has his endearing moments and in the end always tries to do the right thing. The vow to his brother weighs heavily upon him and the fact he has his female in reach makes him torn in two.

If there are two minor flaws in this novel, which is colored by preference, it is Rydstrom. I just didn't know what to do with him as he remains a bit of an enigma and in the end he even gets darker which left me a bit ambivalent towards him. Also the ending of the story itself was a bit underdeveloped as to what I'm used to from Kresley Cole. Still, despite this, the romance was beautifully captured again with the road trip Holly and Cade had to take. The sensuous blossoming of Holly was believably integrated within the love story and at times steaming hot and at other times...no, it remains steaming hot!

Though Cade is rude and chauvinistic it is his need for Holly that is so evident through all his actions, the torment between his vow and the need for his female is what makes him do all he can to keep both. In doing this he threads dangerous waters that does not always end well and might even cost him that which he wants to protect. This is something that kept me on edge because for quite a while it kept me guessing as how it all would progress and play out in the end. Kresley Cole held me riveted to my seat almost until the ending and surprised me along the way with certain turnabouts that I did not see coming.

Of course Nx also appears in this novel and I have such a fondness for her. The power combined with a bit of arrogance and intertwined with true Nx humour makes her a formidable secondary character that becomes treasured throughout the series and makes you eager to meet again in future novels. She has such a personality that upon reading an Immortal After Dark without Nx is like apple-pie without whipped cream.

DARK DESIRES AFTER DUSK with Cadeon and Holly add another well entertaining story to this outstanding series!

Reviewed by Leontine
Courtesy of Realms On Our Bookshelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ward and Kenyon fans will LOVE I.A.D.series & especially Cadeon's story...., 6 May 2009
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark) (Mass Market Paperback)
Cadeon is the hottest Demon. The story is full of surprises and kicks, the journey that changes both Cadeon and his beloved is captivating and this series is highly addictive! I read all 6 of them in a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another fab instalment in a great series, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished reading an emotionally draining book and it left me wanting something soft and fluffy. Now ordinarily I would say that Immortals After Dark are far from soft and fluffy, after all the books are about demons etc. and usually involve some fighting. But I needed something that I could sink into without trying, something that was new but felt comfortable (like a well read favourite) and this is what Cole provides for her constant reader. Each story so far is standalone but ties in with the books that have come before and most give us a hint as to what/who to expect in the next book. Which gives me the reader that warm sense of familiarity that I sometimes need in a book.

One of the reasons I am enjoying this series is the variety. We don't just get to meet new characters, we get to meet different 'species' within the Lore, Valkyrie (who are one of my favourites in this series), Vampires, Lykae, Witches, Demons.. and the list goes on.

I loved Holly and her quirks. I also loved watching her unravel. Becoming who she really should be instead of the 'box' she was trying to fit herself into. I also loved the slowly building attraction she has towards Cade. I think Cadeon is the first guy (in a book) with horns that I have lusted over and I for one might take Nix's suggestion and lick them... but I digress... We have seen Cadeon in previous books, but shamefully I must admit that I never really gave him much thought. Until now. Cade starts out as a tough, foul-mouthed demon, hell-bent on helping his brother regain his crown (no that's not a metaphor). And because of that he has some tough choices to make in this book. I personally think he did the best thing possible.

This series is rapidly becoming one of my favourites. This particular book took me just one day to read it because I just couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Immortals After Dark" series book 5, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark) (Mass Market Paperback)
Well there is no surprise with regards to the outcome of "Dark Desires After Dusk" as KC has now settled well into her formulaic paranormal romance; boy and girl meet, they initially hate each other but are destined to commit to each other for the rest of their immortal lives and they always have a few supernatural prejudices and deadly enemies to overcome before they can settle into eternal bliss. I love the story lines this author produces, and although there is no surprise that the leading lovers will end up together; it is how they end up together and the actions they take to ensure they remain united that really draws my interest. The initial and fully expected fiery encounters between the H&H, and the sparks they produce certainly don't hurt the packed plot either.

In "Dark Desires After Dusk", rage demon Cadeon Woede, aka Cade the kingmaker who has appeared in previous books of this series, has spent nine centuries trying to make up for a mistake; a mistake that led to his older brother Rydstrom losing his throne. He is also under the additional pressure of believing he has found his mate; however as she is human he is unable to claim her as she would in no way "survive" any relationship with him.

With the Accession growing in strength; a time every 500 years when the immortal supernatural species of the Lore battle each other (to cull their numbers or create new alliances and offspring) the Vessel is sought by both the good guys and the bad; as this young Lore female will bear a child fated to become a warrior of ultimate good or evil; depending on the nature of the father. As a young human woman is abducted by demons determined to impregnate her, this very act triggers the potent powers and violent urges she has suppressed throughout her life.

Yep the human Cade falls in love with; the highly intelligent, deeply complex and OCD driven Holly Ashwin is not only part Valkyrie and Furie (and now the perfect mate for Cade) she is also the Vessel of this Accession and the bargaining tool Cade must use to ensure his brother regains control of his kingdom. Days ago Cade adamantly swore to his brother that he would sacrifice even his fated mate to ensure Rydstrom was restored to his throne; now he just wants to protect Holly from those that threaten to harm her or force her to carry an evil child. Yet as they fall in love and Holly gives Cade her trust, he knows it is just a matter of time before he betrays her to save his kingdom.

Again KC has produced a vividly passionate paranormal romance in which the reader is equally drawn into the exciting battles, not only those in which Cade seeks to protect Holly, but also those between the leading lovers themselves and their following increasingly heated love scenes. This series is galloping along in the right direction, as each subsequent book just gets better and better and I now have high hopes for the latest installment in the IAD series; "Kiss of a Demon King".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another fun IAD novel., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What I really appreciate about Kresley Cole is that she puts a fresh spin on the supernatural genre - especially in a market saturated by twilight-esque novels that are for teenage girls. The IAD world is, however, definitely for adult readers. I love how the books all complement each other - we get to hear from old characters while continually being introduced to new ones. I've no idea how Cole doesn't get confused with all the intertwining timelines! Best to read the series in the correct order to really appreciate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've got to say so far this is my favourite books of the series totally loved holly and Cade can't wait to start the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - simpy love it, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read books to relax from the daily trivialities and these book by Kresley Cole are simple amazing. English is not my mother tongue, but thats not a problem when reading this autor.
The plots are a lot the same from book to book, but all can be read without having to read the rest. But I think most of the readers, will hurry to get all the books.
A nice combo of dark mysteries and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark desires after dusk, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best so far, the character's keep getting stronger and stronger. I love these books.... not looking forward to the day I finish this series !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great imaginings, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kresley Cole tells a great story, and if you have a good imagination, anything is possible
This is for anyone who believes in love, to stir the soul and anything else that needs stirring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark)
Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark) by Kresley Cole (Mass Market Paperback - 23 May 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews