Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
I have a semi-professional interest in design and a very large collection of interior design books, but my husband has never looked through any of them with anything but cursory interest...until he saw this one. "It's quite good this", he said, which is high praise indeed from a Yorkshireman.

The Domino book is unusual because it features homes with normal (ie...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Third Time Lucky

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas, however...
There are some good ideas presented in this book--this I shall not deny. However, there are some common decorating ideas that leave me speechless. For example, in many models, the room has piles of books scattered on tables or floors. This tells me people don't really read them, they just like a cluttered, Bohemian look. Which brings me to another point: the authors seem...
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by M. Hamann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 9 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
I have a semi-professional interest in design and a very large collection of interior design books, but my husband has never looked through any of them with anything but cursory interest...until he saw this one. "It's quite good this", he said, which is high praise indeed from a Yorkshireman.

The Domino book is unusual because it features homes with normal (ie small) domestic proportions, is full of images that include unremarkable furniture from multiple periods (ie how real people live, with a mixture of scavenged, inherited and bought bits and pieces, not an array of expensive "design classics"), and solves practical problems (a baby's bedroom that doesn't look like Toys R Us; what to do if your dining table is not to your taste but too good to give away).

As another reviewer has mentioned, the book has a great double page spread in each section which uses key images to help you define your style, so you can choose furniture and fittings accordingly.

Finally, because the 1930s and 1940s were the golden age of American building, there are also some excellent ideas for kitchens and bathrooms of that period. No UK designer seems remotely interested in the humble interwar semi, and so there is a real lack of styling information for people wanting to avoid wholesale modernisation - amazingly, this US import could be just the job to help fill the gap.

I have taken one star off because the featured interiors do favour a very distinctive style, loosely summarised as "colourful/eclectic/timeless" - this is very much my own taste, but may be a little too hokey and feminine for some readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last!, 29 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
I trained as an Interior Designer years ago and having worked around the hotel design business, recently got back into designing residential interiors. I felt I needed reaffirmation of my skills and I could never find a book that de-constructed a room so you could see all the elements and how they were put together and why. Well, what do you know - here it is! This book is clear and simple to understand with excellent photos and sketches. The text is witty and informative and you really feel the team want to impart genuine knowledge rather than just showing you some pretty photos, or overwhelming interiors in houses most people could never afford to live in with horrendously expensive products.
Each area of the house is covered in a separate chapter, Living Room, Kitchen etc. with some real examples, floor plans and description. Then for that type of room the main pieces are covered - e.g. "sofas" and a variety of styles drawn and discussed with experts tips. Then a page on how to mix and match, then more decorating tips with LOADS of photos - solutions for any problems... more real examples...each chapter is gloriously endless!
Being experienced in commercial soft furnishings I can safely say the Decorators handbook near the back is very comprehensive but nicely succinct - with a really easy to understand guide to the terminology in Curtains, Pelmets, Blinds etc. through to Upholstery with lovely sketches.
I only gave it 4 stars not 5 because, as this book is not British, the "Big Black Book" at the back is absolutely US based so useless for UK readers although useful for websites (some companies are international)
Love it. Make a UK version please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas, however..., 17 Nov 2011
By 
M. Hamann "Markus" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
There are some good ideas presented in this book--this I shall not deny. However, there are some common decorating ideas that leave me speechless. For example, in many models, the room has piles of books scattered on tables or floors. This tells me people don't really read them, they just like a cluttered, Bohemian look. Which brings me to another point: the authors seem to advise the lady of the house to forego the traditional "tidy" look and go for the "we-were-met-by-a-hurricane" look.

Some of the design ideas proper were odd and off-putting. On p. 41 it is suggested one might make a hallway "intriguing and original" through use of a single, repeated motif. The motif in the picture is an American flag...12 that I could count. Such a design would suggest need of therapy, not originality. The previous page has a Prussian blue zebra print in the hallway, suggesting "an exciting lead-in to a serene living room".

The book does have strengths though. There are scenarios addressing all sorts of problems and difficulties, presented with resolutions. Small fixtures, paintings, tables and their uses are also covered. Perhaps the most useful to me was matching colors with respect to patterns (colour-matching is most successfully addressed in Kevin McCloud's "Choosing Colours".

I should recommend about 30% of the book; since one is unable to purchase the book by page, I reluctantly admit the book is useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interior Design Bible!, 10 Jan 2010
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
Really quite impressed with this book which has a lot of attractive and achievable interior design ideas, but unlike many books and magazines, does not rely solely on impressive architectural features such as huge marble fireplaces and glass staircases, which most of us won't have in our own homes anyway.

No, the focus is more on things like arrangement of furniture (changing the layout to suit either cosy conversation, home cinema, or entertaining), and colour palettes (icy pink and white for a girly but grown up bedroom, expensive looking olive, grey and beige if you want to duplicate the boutique hotel look). There are lots of ideas that anyone could attempt even on a very limited budget - my favourites are the dark hall floor stencilled with oriental crysanthamums, and an office space created from a console table along the back of a sofa.

In addition to the beautiful pictures of the authors own interiors, there is also a lot of useful design information - how many people you can expect to seat at various sizes and diameters of dining table, which furniture styles work well together, and how the length of your curtains alters the look from modern and contemporary to romantic or luxurious.

Every chapter (themed around a specific room) also has a section on decor for smaller spaces, with suggestions such as using open book cases or wallpaper covered screens as room dividers. Tips for affordeable finishing touches included paired lamps (which pull an otherwise eclectic or 'messy' room together) and framed fabrics or papers in lieu of expensive artwork.

Though the book is based around an American design publication, some British traders are included in the stockists lists (e.g Cole and Son wallpaper, De Gournay), and others such as 1st Dibs ship internationally anyway.

Very good resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Source of inspiration, 13 July 2009
By 
Clarinda Jones (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
Not so much a step-by-step guide to decorating, but a compilation of beautifully decorated rooms with tips and tricks on how to achieve various looks. A great source of ideas & inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 8 Mar 2013
By 
S. Morris (shrops, u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
Unlike most decorating books. This book falls away from the trap of making everything look lovely but unpractical to live in. It recognizes that when you decorate, you have eclectic tastes, things bought over the years and not buying everything new so that you can create a certain look exactly. It gives enough scope to give you great ideas within your reach. Very well thought through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful to read, good ideas, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
I would recommend the book. It is an absolute delight to read: high quality paper, the cover is done beautifully, and the images are very pleasant to look at. As some other reviewers have said, it does focus a lot on that 'shabby chic' style and some ideas are just crazy BUT the authors make clear that these are just suggestions and ideas, and they explain how you can find your own style (e.g., by thinking about what matters to you, how you use rooms etc). They also give nice ideas about how you can add just a bit of craziness to a room to make it more interesting without making it look like a showroom. Because it's American there are quite a few funny sentences, where something is described as having "a European feel", which made me chuckle a few times.
I am taking off one star because the section on offices is really quite useless unless you work in the creative/fashion industries - they mostly show completely crammed office spaces. But for all other rooms, the book is full of ideas, most of which can be 'copied' easily, and certainly just reading it makes one feel happyier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
I'll keep this short and sweet. I purchased this book for my sister and spent lot's of time looking at the reviews for this and similar books. It's a great book, so much so that she very nearly did not get it (but I decided in the end to puchase another for myself).

It really does not matter that it is American. The best book of it's type I have seen with ordinary house interiors that everyone can aspire to or at least see how some of it can fit into their situation. Lots of examples for every room not just one or two, and the small spaces part for every room is just great. Images are lovely and clear and the rooms are not just the boring minimalist white you see in most other books at the moment.

Great book - well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous books, easy to read, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
This is a gorgeous little book with lots of pictures and nice straightfoward tips to decorating. Pretty basic stuff, don't expect any earth shattering tips that you wouldn't find in any magazine, but nicely compiled room by room makes this an easy and practical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 6 Oct 2010
This review is from: Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy (Hardcover)
I got this book for my daughter, who is in the process of buying a house. A brief flick through made me wish I'd bought a copy for myself, too: attractive graphics, practical ideas and an appealingly magazine-y format mean that it is a great book for dipping into and referring to. My daughter loves it, and has found it invaluable in helping her organise her ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Domino: the Book of Decorating: A Room-by-Room Guide to Creating a Home That Makes You Happy
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews