Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slice of life comedy
I really enjoy this book. I enjoyed reading a little of her life, the trip, the circumstances around travelling. The American impressions of the Paris.

I liked the drawings of locations, the impressions of people and the descriptions of the food of paris. She captures atmosphere very well and mixes it with a strong humour.

The book itself is nicely...
Published on 1 Sept. 2010 by merrua

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Part travelogue, part diary , all graphic novel
This is a part travelogue part diary graphic novel which the author wrote during a period of living in Paris.

I really liked the travelogue elements of this graphic novel, where the author visits art galleries and fairs. Also i really liked the photographs which are integrated into the book. Also the numerous lavish descriptions of the food are really...
Published on 13 Feb. 2013 by Susan Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slice of life comedy, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
I really enjoy this book. I enjoyed reading a little of her life, the trip, the circumstances around travelling. The American impressions of the Paris.

I liked the drawings of locations, the impressions of people and the descriptions of the food of paris. She captures atmosphere very well and mixes it with a strong humour.

The book itself is nicely bound and the paper is pleasant. There are some photographs intermixed with the cartoons which add to the atmosphere of an artists travel journal.

The only bad point about this book is that with it being black and white we miss the beautiful colouring from her work on the net.
I think if you are considering buying the book, check out her blog. If you enjoy that, you will love the book.

Looking forward to more books please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Part travelogue, part diary , all graphic novel, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
This is a part travelogue part diary graphic novel which the author wrote during a period of living in Paris.

I really liked the travelogue elements of this graphic novel, where the author visits art galleries and fairs. Also i really liked the photographs which are integrated into the book. Also the numerous lavish descriptions of the food are really good.

However as this was also a diary she mentions her friends and her boyfriend from back home, however I never really felt like I got a sense of anyone involved in the book. Also (although she does talk about this in the book), quite a lot of the book has a bit of whiny tone considering where she is and what she is doing.

Overall I enjoyed the read and drawing style, however if it was supposed to be about her travels I would have liked to no more about the places she visited, or at least have more pictures of these. Or if it was supposed to be more personal I would have liked to know a bit more about her friends and people in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great trip to Paris and to finding one's self!!!!, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
mairi (Athens/Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
Well, I am not a young girl traveling to Paris to stay there for a month with her mom! (I wish I were:) Lucy Knisley, however, was enchanting enough to lure me along on her adventerous journey. Whether she is troubled by boys, hair-issues, new food or simply getting older, she remains charming, smart and funny. The drawings are simple, which means that they are great. My eyes flew all over each page, while reading "French Milk". I loved the fact that this was a diary and that it was written in a fresh and honest way. One gets a good look into Parisian life, but also in the internal journey of finding who one is and who one is not. I tried to refrain myself from reading the book in one sitting, as I knew that I would want more and more of it. Now, my hubby is reading it :)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It will charm your pants off, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
Throw away those Paris guidebooks and instead pick up a copy of 'French Milk'! Perfectly depicting Paris in an honest and straightforward way, combined with photographs and lovely illustrations...I loved it! Pass the croissants.

Highs: The Parisian setting, the detail, the honesty of Lucy, the food porn and her obvious passion for museums and art.

Lows: Even though I admired her honesty, at times Lucy does seem like a bit of a spoiled brat...moaning and bitching and going on about her boyfriend....get over it you're in Paris and you've only got a month! Use it wisely goddamit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, uncoventional book, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
The book is quite fun, the animation considerably good and there are a few funny joes in here too. However, every other page featured a drawing of what the artist/author ate that day (the book reads in a similar way to a diary), which got a bit tiresome after a while. Overall a really impressive book, especially considering the authors age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely bedtime book, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
A lovely simple drawing style and simple cute annecdotes. The only bit I didn't like was when she talks about all the food she ate. It's in black and white, most of it looks like abstract swirls, I know it was major part of the trip but it didn't really enhance the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Nov. 2011
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
Fantastic and inspiring. Worth a read if you're a lover of comics and illustration or even if it's your first time reading a book like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but lacking depth, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Milk (Kindle Edition)
A good selection of observations but nothing too ground breaking. A pleasant read all the same.
I would give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could have been better., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Milk (Kindle Edition)
It was good but I was somehow expecting more, I am looking forward to read her latest book "relish" as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First rate book about Lucy Knisley's trip to Paris, 31 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Milk (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable book from a first rate comic book artist. Very funny, oddball and engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Milk
French Milk by Lucy Knisley (Paperback - 16 Mar. 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews