Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, insightful, intelligent
Fascinating and at times gripping. Very well written. Makes one fear that the catastrophe of Iraq may have been even worse, if not for those few with the depth, courage and intelligence to foster a wiser path.
Published 16 months ago by michael mortimer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Propaganda
What an absolutely transparent attempt at propaganda. This is about it, warning spoiler *** You know all that waterboarding and other stuff you heard about, well we went in there and told them that this was just not the way we do things, at first they were skeptical but we were determined to show them how we do it. How we do it is by being really really nice to them and...
Published 4 months ago by Mr B.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, insightful, intelligent, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating and at times gripping. Very well written. Makes one fear that the catastrophe of Iraq may have been even worse, if not for those few with the depth, courage and intelligence to foster a wiser path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply amazing book, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: How to Break a Terrorist: The U.S. Interrogators Who Used Brains, Not Brutality, to Take Down the Deadliest Man in Iraq (Hardcover)
This was one of the most engrossing books I've ever read. I picked up this book one evening and read it in one go. The author cleverly outlines the tension between those who advocate 'new' and 'friendly' interrogation techniques and those who prefer traditional technqiues of establishing control and dominance over the prisoner. The book is also a fantastic read for anybody who is interested in understanding more about why people join networks like Al Qaeda as well as the internal conflict in Iraq between sunnis and shias.

Whilst fascinating, this book is also a sad reminder as to why the war in Iraq simply cannot be 'won' in the foreseeable future. This book reminds readers of the extent to which innocent civilians are often caught up in the carnage of war.

I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Propaganda, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an absolutely transparent attempt at propaganda. This is about it, warning spoiler *** You know all that waterboarding and other stuff you heard about, well we went in there and told them that this was just not the way we do things, at first they were skeptical but we were determined to show them how we do it. How we do it is by being really really nice to them and offering them incentives and reminding them of their family and loved ones, so it is all good now and even the skeptics were totally changed in their ways****

That's the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fascinating, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Break a Terrorist: The U.S. Interrogators Who Used Brains, Not Brutality, to Take Down the Deadliest Man in Iraq (Hardcover)
Whether you're interested in psychology, politics, or the way that humans interact under pressure, this is a fascinating read.

Debates on "enhanced interrogation" belong elsewhere - this shows how it is possible to elicit information by understanding people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping page-turner - I read it all in a night!, 12 Dec 2009
By 
Ian Howlett "ighowlett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Break a Terrorist: The U.S. Interrogators Who Used Brains, Not Brutality, to Take Down the Deadliest Man in Iraq (Hardcover)
This book reads like a mysetery novel, it's really compelling stuff. There's a fairly small cast of characters, and we follow the author and his team as they interrogate some key suspects to find out which of them is Mr Big, and where Mr Really Big is hiding. It's a fascinating insight. The author clearly has more insight into Iraq and Islam than many people, although he doesn't seem to really acknowledge that it was the American decision to invade Iraq that kicked everything off. Still, if you ignore that and take the book for what it is, you'll really enjoy it. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 11 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: How to Break a Terrorist: The U.S. Interrogators Who Used Brains, Not Brutality, to Take Down the Deadliest Man in Iraq (Hardcover)
I highly recommend this book to anyone. It is very interesting and gives good insight into interrogation and the military. Matthew is one of the good guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews