Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2009
I have been on a 1960's reading jag lately, a kind of nostalgic look back at my parent's decade of youth. Helps me understand where they come from and it was an interesting time of change. I was excited to get an advance copy of this book as it looked to be a trashy but fun read, and I can say it delivered on both counts (trashy fun that is)! Did Jackie and Bobby Kennedy have a love affair after the assassination of JFK? This author makes the case that they did and it is fascinating reading. But how much real truth is there here? And even if it is all true is it something the public really needs to know? The book held a certain creepy fascination over me, I couldn't stop reading, yet a part of me thought I should. Its that kind of read. It is well written, and appears well documented but I would be interested to hear if there are any dissenting voices out there?
0Comment23 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
An enjoyable insight to jackie and bobby pre and post jack. Jackie was a surviver hardened by life's traumas great read!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
I have been a keen reader of the Kennedys for years and this is another one of those books that keeps you reading! It was well written and easy to follow, it certainly puts Jackie in a different light, she is VERY influential in Bobby's life, what a different world!!
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I must admit I like the Kennedys. I find this book somewhat gossipy for my taste. It concentrates solely on the alleged affair between Robert Kennedy and Jackie Kennedy in the years after the assasination of President Kennedy. It's difficult to know if you can trust the sources. Some of them are sources in other somewhat more academic books about the Kennedys, but this is far more gossipy. The author states in the epilogue that the affair was much more than such sex but apparently not so much so that it was worth mentioning in the first 200 pages. But hey, if you're not selective in your reading about the Kennedys or you like a lot of gossip, by all means, this is a book for you.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Gives an insight to the relationship between Jackie and Bobby Kennedy.Not much that one didn't already suspect,it showed more of the rather sad and narrow life that Jackie led until the three men who featured in her life had died.Only then was she able to make a life for her self and her children
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
C David Heymann is the Jackie Collins of the Kennedy fictional history-at least Ms.Collins acknowledges that her work is fiction.Heymann borrows the names of the Kennedys and then proceeds to write fictional stories about them for one reason -MONEY. He doesn't have a scrap of proof but relies on the old journalistic cliche of inventing fictional witnesses (a secret service agent saw Jackie and Bobby holding hands under the table)He is aided by an innocent/gullible readership who seem willing to believe anything they read.
The usually reticent Jackie Kennedy Onassis did say in response to Heymann's 1989 "biography"---"THE RIVER OF SLUDGE WILL GO ON.....IT'S NOT ABOUT ME"
0Comment8 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
interesting, they were not the good catholics i thought they were!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Great book, a very interesting read. Good condition
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
This did not convince me of any love story whatsoever. Speculative, gossipy but pure conjecture. Of course it's possible as anything was with the Kennedys but where's the real evidence? Just one person's opinion backed up with weak and non-existent evidence. Sloppy author!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Haven't really got in to it yet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.