Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry; A History
This book was almost as eagerly awaited as one of JK Rowling's books about Harry. It is not a synopsis of Harry's story, but rather the story of how "Harry" came about. Of particular interest was how the Internet played a large part in the development of the entire phenomenon, which has never been seen before. It is also Melissa Anelli's story - a true fan who has...
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by Sharon Maggott

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A front row view of the Harry Potter phenomenon
This is as much memoir as history but I found it entertaining. It has a very detailed account of Harry Potter's road to publication and makes the point that it succeeded against the odds - the first book was thought to be far too long for a children's book and to have a terrible title. I also enjoyed Melissa Anelli's account of the rise of Harry Potter fandom, in which...
Published on 13 May 2010 by Miss Moppet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent insight into the world of true fandom, 9 Jan 2009
as i huge fan of harry potter i found myself during the long waits for the next book becoming a fan of the leaky cauldron's podcast and when i head one of the hosts was writing a book about their experiences with the fandom and just had to read it, and i have to say i wasn't disappointed its an excellent book about the fandom and a must read for any true fan all in all a MUST read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a DANGER to your health, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Gerard Phelan (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
If you are in any way a HP fan - do NOT begin reading this book late in the day/evening. You will be unable to put it down until you reach the end. I did not know this and foolishly started reading mid evening and so did not get to bed until 3am.
The author follows multiple threads of the HP world and places it firmly inside the context of the Muggle life she and others live. This and a snappy writing style means there is no place you can stop reading until the white pages appear at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More a memoir than a history..., 19 Mar 2009
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is less of a history of the Harry Potter phenomenon itself and more of a history of Melissa Anelli's own personal fannish experiences. Which I suppose is fair enough but it's not quite what I was looking for. It's an entertaining read though, and it's quite strange reading about all the various shipperwars and fandom kerfuffles when I remember living through them the first time round! I'm just sad that the end of the Harry Potter didn't leave me with quite the same warm fuzzy feeling that it left Melissa with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry a History Wizard Read, 4 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
Melissa runs Leaky Cauldron and if that is not enough she has now written a book about Harry Potter. You cannot imagine what its about, because what you Harry a History is going to be about it is not.

Its a insight in Melissa's journey from the beginning of Harry to I guess the end of Harry although Harry will not end for many of his fans. It also portrays, Joanna's life and what was happening around her whilst she was developing Harry and the seven long year battle against Voldemort.

Its about a young woman who turned her talent and skills into writing an anecdotal but personal and sometimes very private and soul searching book about the world that Harry was born into as a series of books. By the end of it you will know more about Harry, more about Melissa and undoubtedly more about our hero Joanna Rowling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 13 July 2010
I was very disapointed with this book! Nothing in it that we didn't know already and except for the Interview with JK Rowling rather boring and as one person said all me me me!
Gave it to a give one take on in our Gym, not worth holding on to and putting on you HP Shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry, A History, 16 Feb 2009
By 
K. Pearson (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
This book is Awesome. Thanks Melissa for the exciting read. Some much more Information about the Potter world that I didn't know. Thanks Mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Squib worthy, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
I was really interested in reading about the stories behind the HP phenomenon, but this book really disappointed me. It was very boring, and I couldn't even get halfway through. I completely lost interest. I don't know, maybe it wasn't "controversial" enough? I was looking forward to all the ridiculous stories of religious nutters, and heated arguments between fans over plot, etc. I will be trading my copy with a second hand book store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars harry potter book, 16 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
delighted teenager who loves anything to do with Harry Potter so long as it gets them reading I am happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter inside and out from an American perspective, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Mary (Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
An interesting book detailing the history of the Harry Potter legend from an American point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of twaddle, 3 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon (Paperback)
Hyper-inflated twaddle of the worst kind, actually painful to read, not worth the paper it's written on - seriously, don't waste your money! A desperate, wheedling attempt to squeeze more cash out of the dying turkey that is the "Harry Potter Milieu". Sorry, the books are okay, but the writing's really not all that great you know, really it isn't, and if you think it is maybe you should read some works by truly great authors (or maybe even something written for grown ups?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews