Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2009
I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read books 2 and 3. David Mack is an excellent author, he brings an Arthur C. Clarke style of mystique to his stories which are well suited to the printed page section of the Star Trek unvierse (be sure to check out the Star Trek: Vanguard series if you enjoy this, two of the three books so far were written by Mack).

The Borg have truly been restored as the greatest Trek foe returning to the relentless and unstoppable threat as presented in TNG. As another reviewer has pointed out you do feel that a major confrontation with the Borg is being held back until perhaps book 3 (but to be fair that would make perfect sense).

Having thoroughly enjoyed the last Enterprise novel, "Kobayashi Maru" it was great to find that Columbia and her crew play a major part in the story (be sure to check that out before reading this too) and ties in well to the superbly executed Enterprise E/Voyager/DS9/Titan crossover.

Although a little slow in parts this is non the less a great read and I'm excited to see how the trilogy unfolds.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 27 August 2015
This is the first book in a trilogy of stories which features a number of Star Trek entities, from ‘Next Generation’, ‘Deep Space Nine’ and ‘Voyager’ worlds. The story (and the trilogy) were written by David Mack, a prolific author in the Star Trek universe. So you know you’re in safe hands here, for continuity, characterisation and the whole Star Trek experience.

In this first book of the trilogy, we see action from aboard several starships – USS Enterprise E under Captain Picard, USS Titan under Captain Will Riker and USS Aventine under Captain Ezri Dax. A large portion of the relevant narrative also features an earlier starship, Columbia. The main narrative is set in 2381, with flashback portions beginning in 2156 and continuing through to 2168.

In 2381, it is now some five years after the Dominion War, and the Federation is facing another threat – this time, the Borg are back and they are bringing annihilation wherever they appear. How can the Federation stop them when they cannot even tell when the Borg are approaching, or where they are coming from? How many billions must die, and how many worlds must be destroyed? Nobody faces the fear of the Borg with more knowledge and understanding that Captain Jean-Luc Picard, having been assimilated by the Borg as Locutus and survived. But is his proximity to the Borg invasion a threat to the ultimate fate of the Federation?

Meanwhile, in the Gamma Quadrant, the remains of a starship lost for centuries have been found. But how can it possibly have got there when technologies of the time did not allow for such distant travel? And on board USS Titan, the Captain faces his own fears as he realises he must risk all, again, to save those he still has left.

This is a fantastic novel; a great sci-fi read, and a brilliant Star Trek novel. I think the Borg are an absolutely brilliant creation, and a novel which features them as the enemy, apparently unstaoppable, up against the best in the Federation, is a recipe for a real winner as far as I’m concerned. The author has taken what feels like a cast of thousands and placed them in different places and timezones, and across the galaxies, and written an epic story as the first of the three in this trilogy. I look forward immensely to the next book in the series, Mere Mortals.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
Genocidal Borg, unexplained deaths on the rediscovered wreck of an early warp vessel, untenable emotional pressures and an apparently omnipotent alien race all combine to test the resolves of four captains and their crews as they provide a last line of defence for the citizens of Federation space.

David Mack takes us on a journey of four paths - the commands of four captains - that ultimately begin to weave together into an unfolding tapestry of the desperate fight for survival which begins in this first book of the 'Destiny' trilogy, and will no doubt intensify in the following novels.

There's very little as likely to keep so many readers off-balance and uncomfortable as the Borg, and within the pages of 'Gods of Night' they are more ruthless and terrifying than ever. Uncompromising and merciless, they are hell-bent on nothing short of the complete destruction of all but themselves. The Borg element of the story is a perfection of tense hopelessness as David Mack shows us there is little we can do to stop them, especially when those in whom we trust are compromised by self doubt and recriminations. When those on whom we rely face devastating personal struggles that cut them off from their own sources of strength and resolve, all that seems left is a frantic scramble to clutch at any straw of hope. Thus, Mack handles Riker's helplessness in the face of his wife's anguish with a brutal honesty that is almost visceral, and Picard's instability under the crushing presence of the collective becomes a frightening reminder that even the strongest are vulnerable. These combine to make those sections of the book truly disturbing.

Less effective, at least through the progress of this volume of the Destiny trilogy, is the weaving of the Caeliar arc, and while Captain Hernandez and her crew's plight is harrowing, (and the MACO enough to send even the most controlled of Starfleet officers into a frenzy of 'grunt-hating violence), it feels less sharply focussed, and therefore less effective at drawing the reader in to suffer with them. However, the potential of this thread of the tapestry remains, within the final words of the novel, with Captain Riker's crew's discovery of the Caeliar survivors in a way that troublingly parallel's that of the crew of Columbia, leaving the reader with the feeling that it's all going to come back and bite the heroes' rear ends - hard.

New characters are richly drawn and the old familiar faces, perhaps not so familiar with the passage of time, nonetheless maintain integrity enough to hear the voices that brought them to life within the shows themselves speaking to the reader from beyond the TV franchise's grave - a rarity in so many novelised continuations of popular shows. This book is a page-turner especially once the story achieves its momentum.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
Gods of Night is the first book in the Desting trilogy written by David Mack. The first point to make is that it can only be described as epic in scope, with converging storylines involving the crews of the Enterprise (Under Captain Picard), Titan (Captain Riker), Columbia (Captain Hernandez) and Aventine (Captain Dax).
To read a novel that so neatly intertwines characters from nearly all of the various Star Trek series is a privelidge. The trilogy is a statement of how mature the franschise has become and I congratulate the author on the vision and scope of what he is trying to achieve with this trilogy.

Gods of Night is set a number of months after the events of the film Nemesis. Readers would do well to read Resistance, Before Dishonour and Greater than the Sum before starting this trilogy as they chart the "evolution" of the borg during this time period. The books are of varying quality, but Chris Bennett's Greater than The Sum did a grand job of restoring my faith in recent Trek novels and teeing up what was to come in this trilogy. I would also strongly recommend that you read the first few Titan novels before embarking on this trilogy, the historical perspective is useful, but ultimately becoming acquainted with the diverse crew is a must.

So is Gods of Night any good? On the surface it promises a lot: All out war with the borg; the mystery of a missing starship; as well as the soap opera of the characters from four starships.
Having not read any David Mack novels before I didn't know what to expect. I was intrigued by the Columbia, Capt Hernandez storyline as I have recently enjoyed wading through Season 1-4 of Enterprise and the novels which follow. I have enjoyed where the Titan series was going, but have not been overimpressed with post Nemesis Next Generation novels.

Gods of Night was like a breath of fresh air. Characterisation across all series characters was good, consistent, the handling of Riker/Troi and Vale probably the highlight, the emotional response that the borg always cause in Picard was handled well.
The pace is spot on: the interweaving story arcs here had to be paced well, keeping the reader suitably entertained, with there being enough in book one to reward the reader. I would say the strongest story arc to come through from this book would be the historic events of what happened to Columbia, set in the time period prior to the first Romulan War (events which have been building in Kobyashi Maru) their first contact with the alien race the Caeliar is interesting. The exploration of pacifism ideals provides an interesting counterbalance to the all out war approach displayed by the borg. The crash investigation/haunted ship story arc involving Captain Dax's Aventine crew compliments Columbia's historic well: the author revealing a different piece of the jigsaw puzzle at the right rate.
Enterprise and its deeply troubled Captain is a bit more of the same really, with recent Next Generation novels considered, although I am sure this will develop and come through more strongly in Books 2 and 3. Not to say this is dull, a war of attrition with the borg is as grave a threat that the federation has faced and is certainly a page turner.

In summary 5 star entertainment: Escapism on an epic scale. A welcomed fresh approach/style to the Star Trek novel. Word of advice: order the whole trilogy at once. This author knows how to write a cliffhanger of an ending. You will not want to hang around waiting for book 2 to be delivered.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
An excellent start to this series, quite unexpectedly. I don't remember being too enamoured about David Mack's DS9 continuation novel, Warpath, and I wasn't looking forward to more novels focussing on the borg - to be honest, they've been done to death in Voyager.

But this was different. The Borg, while being the enemy, aren't the main focus of this volume - they are a threat but they are very much in the background, popping up every now and then. I suppose in part that is because Mack has deftly intertwined the tales of four separate starships and crews, and only one has been directly interacting with the borg.

One psuedo-criticism is the absence of any explanation of how Dax has got from DS9 (where we left her in the most recent DS9 novel) to captaining the Aventine - but I suppose a gap is reasonable given that the novel timeline for DS9 has moved fairly slowly since the series ended. Also, this leaves plenty of freedom for the DS9 authors to write what they want to while they catch up.

A major issue I had was with the time dilation effect, which I thought the author had got completely wrong. However, having looked it up on the internet, and done the calculations myself, it seems that while non-intuitive, it is correct. This is why I've given an apologetic extra half star to make it up to five.

In conclusion, some parts were a little predictable, but then I suppose that if everything that happened was unexpected, one would have cause to doubt the logic of the storyline. So it's a good start, and I hope it can only get better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
I bought this book because a friend had given me books 2 and 3 of the trilogy and my local library were unable to get hold of the 1st book for me.

Star Trek Destiny - Gods of Night incorporates many of the past series features into the story with the exception (so far, I'm only part of the way through the 2nd book) the Original Series.
I enjoyed Gods of Night so much that instead of picking up some other reading material to give myself a break from the subject, I went straight onto book 2.
For a seasoned Star Trek fan, I think this is a great read, but an overall knowledge of the subject material is needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2008
The first installment of what is a superb trilogy. The pacing is good and 4 separate stories a well written. They mysteries are set well and Caeliar are interesting race.
I found Deannas characterisation puzzling, her insistence and drive seem puzzling having her watched character grow over the series.
All in all a good scene setter
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Really enjoyed this book as it has aspects from TNG, DS9 and Voyager. It about time someone done this, i would deffo buy this if your a fan of any of the Star Trek series. Its from the Titan Books so i would also buy the ones before it to understand the relationship happening between Will Riker and Deanna Troi as it contains a lot of family issues with them, e.g. theyre trying for a kid but theres complications.

Get the tissues ready, there were a couple of teary moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
A continuation of the Star Trek timeline after Nemesis. David Mack's writing style makes for easy fast reading as various stories run concurrently with the main theme and provide great insights into crew members and compositions of three starships as well as Starfleet's coridors of power.
The stories are very well thought through and you have to have book 2 ready as soon as you finish this one as its such a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
This is a fantastic trilogy of books that will have you hooked from the first page. The story covers different timelines but bring them together with ease. You should buy all three in preparation, as after the first one you will be ready to read the next one. Book three bring together the story beautifully and you will not be able to put it down.
READ THESE IF YOU LOVE STAR TREK !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse