Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Fiction
It was a great day for fans of quality fiction when Mccammon came out of retirement to deliver the splendid Speaks The Nightbird a couple of years back. Happily it wasn't to be a one-off as Mccammon has now given us this very worthy sequel.

Queen of Bedlam, like its predecessor, follows the exploits of young legal clerk Mathew Corbett. Now living in early 19th...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by M. Marshall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as its prequel
A good read , but not a great one. I'm a huge Robert R McCammon fan, so dont get me wrong, its superbly crafted, lots of interesting characters, depth, almost poetic prose and descriptions, but in comparisson to "Speaks the Nightbird", the story didnt hold the same interest for me as that book did. Each RRMcC book is different, and intentionally so, it seems like the...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by H. ONeill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Fiction, 3 Jan 2008
By 
M. Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
It was a great day for fans of quality fiction when Mccammon came out of retirement to deliver the splendid Speaks The Nightbird a couple of years back. Happily it wasn't to be a one-off as Mccammon has now given us this very worthy sequel.

Queen of Bedlam, like its predecessor, follows the exploits of young legal clerk Mathew Corbett. Now living in early 19th century New York he becomes involved in the hunt for a serial killer known only as the Masker. As with Nightbird this premise is merely a stepping stone to a far more complex tale which culminates in a brilliantly tense and gripping finale. Along the way Mathew becomes an employee of a fledgling detective agency, a post that draws him into the machinations of an unseen master villain, Professor Fell. This briefly-mentioned character is one of the most intriguing aspects of a very intriguing tale, hopefully one who will take a more prominent role in future episodes.

Mccammon came to prominence as a writer of all things fantastic - vampires, aliens, telekinesis etc - but his abandonment of such things has not, in any way, lessened his ability to grip the reader; far from it. This is a door-step of a novel but when you've finished it you'll be left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking Whodunnit, 25 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
Matthew Corbett returns for another tour de force from master story-teller Robert McCammon. He's 3 years older and much scarred from his previous outing in the marshes of Florida. Now we're in New York, 1702 and although the infrastructure of the fledgling city is progressing, we are left in no doubt that our young cleric faces exactly the same kind of bigotry and prejudice he faced 3 years earlier.

In Queen of Bedlam, there is a serial killer on the loose and apparently the only solution to his identity lies in the addled brain of an old lady residing in a mental home outside the city. Matthew is determined to find the killer and desperately tries to unlock the secrets contained in her mind.

This novel is written in the same style as Speaks the Nightbird, and the author really positions you in the early 18th Century with the language and attitudes of the main characters. Red herrings abound and subtle plot shifts all lend themselves to a marvellous story and satisfactory ending.

Can't wait for Mr Slaughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Early 18th Century American Whodunnit, 14 April 2010
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
The sequel to Speaks the Nightbird, this is another good plot driven whodunnit set at the start of the 18th Century - this time in New York.

These are good entertaining novels, somewhere between thriller and detective stories, and were a good read.

Some problems I detected with the first book were perhaps more evident in this one. The writer does not quite carry off the feel for the period, and primarily I found this in the way the protaganist (Matthew Corbett) thinks. His thinking is thoroughly modern, with no good reason as to why this should be so other than the fact that he is very intelligent. To me that rang as false when coupled with the decision to have the language quite modern too.

The vision that one character has for New York also seems to be somewhat enlightened by our knowledge of its later importance. We read the character as visionary because we know she was right.

All in all though this was a cracking adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen of Bedlam, 25 Sep 2009
By 
N. Wazir "N.W." (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
If you have not read MaCammon's books your in for a treat! The Queen of Bedlam is his latest, a book you can not put down, I saved my copy until i was on holiday and did not get out of bed for three days! Takes you into another world with such care to details. Highly recommend, please dont miss this wonderful treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen of bedlam, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
What can I say but Robert Macammon has done it again, with a riveting book that transports you to another time and place...5 star work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as its prequel, 21 Feb 2011
By 
H. ONeill "techfox" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
A good read , but not a great one. I'm a huge Robert R McCammon fan, so dont get me wrong, its superbly crafted, lots of interesting characters, depth, almost poetic prose and descriptions, but in comparisson to "Speaks the Nightbird", the story didnt hold the same interest for me as that book did. Each RRMcC book is different, and intentionally so, it seems like the man is never finished experiementing, but the problem is that sometimes the experiments produce sublime stories ( The Wolfs Hour, Stinger etc ) and some while entertaining, will not stay in your memory forever ;)

Worth reading but there are other RRMcC books that are better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Master Story Teller!, 20 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
I initially read McCammon's Speaks The Nightbird and having enjoyed that book, had to read the next instalment. I completely concur with the other reviews and say that I thoroughly enjoyed The Queen of Bedlam. McCammon is an inventive, witty and creative writer. I intend to read the few remaining titles of his I have yet to get to my hands on, and of course that would be for a simple reason - he is a master storyteller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thriller to rank with Stieg Larsson's Millenium trilogy, 7 May 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen of Bedlam (Paperback)
-which I coincidentally read immediately before this.

Set in growing colony town of New York in 1702, it continues the story of the young clerk, Matthew Corbett, (whose story begins in Speaks The Nightbird, though prior knowledge of his activities is not required). The town is terrified because of the activities of a violent murderer (and possibly serial killer) nicknamed The Masker. This is only the beginning of an exquisitely written authentically detailed historical thriller which grows more and more complex as the highly intelligent Corbett begins to investigate the dark secrets of the new society and the dark and dangerous world in which he lives. It is populated with a number of vivid and fascinating characters who range from the kindly and the charming to the deepest black. It is stunningly inventive with a rich use of language and vernacular and a plot that twists and turns in many unexpected directions.

I really don't want to say to much otherwise I might spoil the many pleasures that this rich and readable novel possesses. Perhaps it's best if I end this review by saying I read this book on holiday and within hours of my return (and about half an hour before writing this review) had ordered the third in the series which was published earlier this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab49b744)

This product

The Queen of Bedlam
The Queen of Bedlam by Robert R. McCammon (Paperback - 23 Oct 2007)
8.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews