Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read
Im a Warcraft lore fan and I really enjoyed this book.
Nice and easy to read. Recommended if you're a fan of the game.
Published 23 months ago by David J Hamer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice but...
It was a nice reading overall but it leaned toward the game side of the story and it didn't feel like a book written by a real author but rather a gamer who just decided to write a novel. When you buy a Warcraft book you expect and even know that the whole story is inspired by a big franchise, but the way this story was written leaves most imagination out, also at points...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by WarcraftOtaku


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read, 5 May 2012
Im a Warcraft lore fan and I really enjoyed this book.
Nice and easy to read. Recommended if you're a fan of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice but..., 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Stormrage (World of Warcraft) (Hardcover)
It was a nice reading overall but it leaned toward the game side of the story and it didn't feel like a book written by a real author but rather a gamer who just decided to write a novel. When you buy a Warcraft book you expect and even know that the whole story is inspired by a big franchise, but the way this story was written leaves most imagination out, also at points you need to know characters that have appeared on other books/manga and for newcomers is something I wouldn't recommend because their role and existence is at best poorly described. At least it gets interesting on the end, anyway have fun and judge for yourselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the worst book of the Warcraft series, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I got the book in time and was perfectly happy with the purchase itself and the seller, this book is really not well written. This was at first completely baffling to me since I have read all the other books from Richard Knaak in the WoW series, but seriously, this one does not read well and the style is very weird. Also the story could have been amazing but the way it is presented is quite underwhelming. Sad :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormrage (World of Warcraft) (Hardcover)
Was a awesome book specially if you have to audiobook to follow with. I recommend that you read War of the ancient before this one though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars How to make 400 pages seem like 40000, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was by far the hardest wow book i have ever read. I am a wow lore junkie and was really looking forward to this book as it covers really interesting bit of the wow story, this is not one of Richard Knaaks best books. The story goes round and round once a character has been described it is almost like that is copied and pasted every time their name is mentioned. There are a few nice bits of lore but there really was a tough battle to get through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought these for my son, he likes WOW and has a lot of books to do with with this. he says they are very enjoyable to read and would highly recommend to anyone that likes this sort of thing, and especially if you play the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stormrage and Azeroth let down by weak story, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Stormrage (World of Warcraft) (Hardcover)
After thoroughly enjoying previous excursions into the World of Warcraft through the War of Ancients trilogy and the Warcraft Archive, I was rather looking forward to reading this book for 2 reasons:
1. Malfurion Stormrage is undeniably one of the most exciting characters in the series
2. Richard Knaak has proved himself a very capable writer in this genre

I was disappointed on both counts from this book. The main reason was that the story is dragged on 200 pages longer than what it deserves. The story lets Stormrage down by depicting a situation where he's more or less helpless, for a major part of the book. This immediately belies the godlike abilities he displayed in the Ancients trilogy. Knaak then continues to draw out the conflict with the story's main antagonist to the point where I was ready to throw in the towel if there was even one more mention of Stormrage almost giving up and then finding a bit more strength to make one last effort (how many last efforts can one make!!)
The story also almost reduces to a joke the powers of the Aspects. The other characters of the book, including the other druids, night elves and Thura the orc are poorly developed and didn't engage me to the point of caring what happened to them.

Final verdict? This book is worth a read only if you enjoy reading stories about WoW and Azeroth. If you're a Stormrage fan or expect this book to be as good as earlier efforts by Knaak and Golden, steer clear of it, because very simply, it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Druidtastic, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Stormrage (World of Warcraft) (Hardcover)
This is a must read for Malfurion fans and a good read for Warcraft fans. Knaak's writing is fair and this book is easy to read, in fact my only complaint is that it's a huge world event storyline that must of already happened as Malfurion is now awake in the game and yet we have seen none of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Knaak's best., 3 July 2010
This review is from: Stormrage (World of Warcraft) (Hardcover)
This book is a very good read for the Warcraft and Knaak fan.
With Stormrage you can feel that Knaak has used some of the same style as he did in War of the Ancients, if you were a big fan of those then this book is one I think you should definitely read.
The book started a little slow but as the momentum picked up pace you find your self picking up the book at every free moment.
It brings back some classics and introduces some new things that are bound to take a place with the greats.
It's hard to give this book credit without accidentally spoiling the story so I'll stop here but to give you an idea of the quality of this book you should know that upon reading it I bought a second, signed and numbered copy of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stormrage WOW, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Friends fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormrage (World of Warcraft) (Hardcover)
Another well written, easy to read NOT comic strip book for all the World of Warcraft players to take off on holiday - so they can get their daily fix of WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2bb84c)

This product

Stormrage (World of Warcraft)
Stormrage (World of Warcraft) by Richard A Knaak (Hardcover - 23 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: £8.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews