Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different then other titles...
Vol'jin: Shadows of the Horde is from an author who just got into Azeroth, and much like Christie Golden's "Lord of the Clans" and Knaak's "Day of the Dragon" novel has a different tone then the later novels would have.
Stackpole's novel is a different beast all together because it is pretty much like a kung fu movie. Elements such as Meditation, Foreign ways of...
Published 15 months ago by Veramme Georg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming
Well i was looking forward to this book immensely. I love all the Warcraft books, and as Stackpole is such a well known and well read writer i was expecting great things.
This was not to be.
The book was very tedious and long winded It didn't give us any insight into what's coming for the Horde, or the world in general, which was disappointing as it was implied...
Published 17 months ago by Foxie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different then other titles..., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: Vol'jin, Shadows of the Horde- Mists of Pandaria Book 2 (World of Warcraft 2) (Paperback)
Vol'jin: Shadows of the Horde is from an author who just got into Azeroth, and much like Christie Golden's "Lord of the Clans" and Knaak's "Day of the Dragon" novel has a different tone then the later novels would have.
Stackpole's novel is a different beast all together because it is pretty much like a kung fu movie. Elements such as Meditation, Foreign ways of thinking, Parabels and of course action are all in this title. If you are a fan of those, this will be right up your alley.
The problem for fans who liked the previous novel and its larger cast and world building, it will be dissapointing. Despite it being called Shadows of the Horde, Vol'jin ( and Chen Stormstout by a stretch) is the only Horde character here and it deals with him trying to find out where he belongs in a Horde after its current Warchief would try to have him killed. And the events of this novel are mostly on Pandaria, save for a few flashbacks here and there.

Now for Vol'jin fans this is a good novel because it deals with him in greater depth then in Golden's "Tides of War" novel. His relationship with the Darkspear's Loa Bwonsamdi is very cool ( he worships the god of death, that is Crom level of awesome) and his strategic mind is pretty much like we see him in the game where he is the strange yet very effective General.
This Machivilian attidude persists throughout the novel and most of his interactions with the other cast members.

The other cast members are good enough for what they serve to do, Chen Stormstout being the one that pops out the most for being the odd fish out despite the fact he is the same race as most of the other monks. And of course him finding a lady panda to spend the rest of his life with does raise the stakes for him in the climax of the novel.

This novel deals mostly with Pandaren and Mogu backstories, but there is a decent amount of Troll history here as well so for troll fans this is a must buy title.

In conclussion: If you love Vol'jin and Kung Fu style cinema with a healthy mix of Voodoo elements, this is the novel for you.
For those who prefer the grand scale of epic battles of thousands of humans fighting orcs and with a large cast of several races, this might not be the novel for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows of the Horde, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very much enjoyed this book, certainly one of the better books written around the games expansions. Bring on the Tauren now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off..., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book; try not to let people's negative reviews put you off. True, there is not a swathe of the usual lore characters, but I loved getting to know the trolls a lot more. Chen was also a really fun addition to the book. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a amazing chapter in the warcraft storyline, can't wait to get stuck into the next one. would definitely recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More lore!, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: Vol'jin, Shadows of the Horde- Mists of Pandaria Book 2 (World of Warcraft 2) (Paperback)
I simply adore these stories that put even more flesh on the lore of the game I know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the Horde, for the darkspear, for Vol'jin..., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It starts slowly, this is true but it gives it an insteresting insight to Vol'jin's religious and culture views of the trolls. The same can be said for the human charator, relieving the mind of an alliance soilder. Its also a good and indept look of the shadow pan monks and ofcourse we learn a little more of Chen stormshout.
I found this book interesting and certainly different to other world of warcraft books.
Some critaziums would be that it could have gone into want happened when Garrosh found out when he heard Vol'jin was dead, Vol'jin and Thrall's reunioun before the troll rebelian in the Barrens. Would love to know what we were all doing while the trolls walked into the Vale.. I would have throught Braine and Loth'thamer (excuse the spelling mistakes) would have made a refferance into the book too..

I think this book is worth a read, but i would say if your not into indepth look at charators and with a limited amount of information and slow pace with a lot of philosoical discussions this is not for you

Now I am waiting for one on the Tauren (the most lore staved race of them all!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ive read., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: Vol'jin, Shadows of the Horde- Mists of Pandaria Book 2 (World of Warcraft 2) (Paperback)
It starts out with a mental struggle with the main character and even if you are not a warcraft fan in any source the book is a great read. suprisingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vol'jin, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one book that is a must read for any wow fan. Good story could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: Vol'jin, Shadows of the Horde- Mists of Pandaria Book 2 (World of Warcraft 2) (Paperback)
great book to read, would recommend it to everyone who likes to read about the current treaterous developements in the game.
the only downside is that the book is completely about vol'jin and his time in pandaria, no side stories of whats happening in azeroth after he got betrayed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: Vol'jin, Shadows of the Horde- Mists of Pandaria Book 2 (World of Warcraft 2) (Paperback)
Well i was looking forward to this book immensely. I love all the Warcraft books, and as Stackpole is such a well known and well read writer i was expecting great things.
This was not to be.
The book was very tedious and long winded It didn't give us any insight into what's coming for the Horde, or the world in general, which was disappointing as it was implied that it would.
Underwhelming and a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World of Warcraft: Vol'jin, Shadows of the Horde- Mists of Pandaria Book 2 (World of Warcraft 2)
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews