Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating review of a competitive gentleman, 21 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Nicklaus My Story (Paperback)
I grew up in a world where Jack Nicklaus was the golfer to beat; anyone who finished ahead of him was likely to win the tournament - or so it seemed. This is a brilliant recall of his rise through the amateur ranks (when they still meant something powerful) and his long stay near the top of the golfing world. I'd forgotten all the dips in form, the various pretenders for his crown, and the ups and downs of his business life. However, through a well told story, we are reminded of the highly competitive Nicklaus who still managed to epitomise the essence of good sportsmanship - a 'gentleman' as opposed to a gentle man. His family life seemed incredibly important to his success, and the lengths they went to in order to preserve it were a key part of the story. Also, the explanations of how golfers see other competitors is just one of many great insghts. This is a long and well-structured book, but I can't remember being as enthralled by any sporting autobiography - ever. It's probably out of print now, but get a copy before it disappears from the second hand market as well, and get a feel for what made a great player (probably the greatest) tick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Golfing Great, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Nicklaus: My Story (Paperback)
This is an excellent read for any golfer seeking to understand the forces that drove Jack Nicklaus to greatness. His apparent total recall of every round he played is amazing and the insights provided into his mental approach to the game of golf are very interesting.

The book was in pristine condition and arrived promptly and represented excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you like golf, a must - if you play, mandatory, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite 5 autobiographies of all time.
Based on my standard criteria:
1) has the auto-biographer led an interesting life. Tick. best ever golfer on the planet
2) is there sufficient back or early story. Very much so
3) do you feel you learn something of the star's motivations? Definitely
4) do you think that Jack wrote the bulk of it himself - certainly
5) other - and here the number of tips that Jack describes - ones that he has used at majors, and ones that we can all use in our Sunday 3 ball - are top top notch.
My putting has come down by 5-6 per round alone.

Anyway
highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Nicklaus : My Story, 13 July 2007
By 
jj Colville (South East - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An interesting read sustained, just, for what is a weighty read.
Jack talks in teriffic detail about all his Major wins -
Rather boring bits i found were about his business ventures and golf course design, not for me...
I wish Jack could be more controversial , but seems to like everybody, and promotes the Mr Nice Guy which he certainly is, but for sure has another side which the reader does not really hear about.
Fascinating facts about the British Open which really kept this book alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Nicklaus;the best a man can get, 24 Jun 2002
This review is from: Full Swing (Paperback)
A perfect gift for anyone keen to improve their own game and/or interested in the history of the world's greatest ever Major accummulator. Thoroughly recommended for gift of self-diagnosis.
Jack has been through so many bouts of form loss and self-doubt that his recollections of changed and new thoughts on the gaem are bound to include one in there for everyone.I broke 80 3 times the week after reading this based on alighnment and putting tips "included" in the book - and i am currently a 19.2 official club handicap.
Its also a fascinating read about golfs greatest achiever and top 5 god (be real Jones and Palmer have both done more 'for the game').
Essential library material for any golf addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Nicklaus: My Story (Paperback)
This was bought for my husband's birthday and he is thoroughly enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicklaus Autobiography, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Well written book with much insight into family life,tournament victories and tournaments The Golden Bear thought he should have won but didn't. Honest open appraisal with several tips regarding both the swing and mental approach to the wonderful game. Features regarding several of his contemporary opponents and his attitudes to the way the game and U.S tour was evolving are also strikingly honest and a good read.In summary if you are a golf/Nicklaus fan you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Nicklaus: My Story (Paperback)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Nicklaus: My Story
Jack Nicklaus: My Story by Jack Nicklaus (Paperback - 3 July 2007)
£17.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews