Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2006
Presented well with some fabulous pictures of ships from the entire Star Trek genre. It is separated into seven chapters. Human Warp Flight, The Creation of a Legend, The Finest in the Fleet, Of Gods and Men, There will Always be an Enterprise, Delta Voyager, and Semper Exploro.

'Human Flight' incorporates detail 'photographs' of the early warp flight and the NX series of vessels including some fabulous pictures of Vulcan, Romulan, Tholian and Andorian vessels. It even displays the Bonaventure Class vessel depicting the transition from the Enterprise NX design to early Constitution type designs - which we are all familiar with.

The Second Chapter, 'The Creation of A Legend' is based entirely on the Original Series and Movies with excellent pictures of the Enterprise NCC 1701 from its drydock pre-launch (both 1701 and its re-fit) to battles scenes against the Klingons, Romulans, the Planet Killer and the 'Daystrom massacre' with a fantastic saucer and battle section battle scene against some Klingon Cruisers.

'The Finest in the Fleet' is orientated around the Next Generation with a great picture of the Calypso (Captain's Yacht) being launched from the Saucer module - something a true Star Trek fan always wanted to see! It has pictures of Nebula Class vessels (USS Ranger), The Intrepid Captain's Yacht in mid-flight, Constellation Class (USS Stargazer), Enterprise-C and D battling against the Klingons, Utopia Planetia, Starbase 29, Excelsior class vessels and the USS Altair (Altair class).

'Of Gods Men' depicts the voyages and adventures of the Defiant and Deep Space Nine. It also answers the question of what happened to the Columbia NX. It displays imaginative battle scenes - Federation and Allies fighting against the Dominion and the Breen.

'There will always be an Enterprise' depicts the voyages of the Enterprise - E from First Contact to Nemesis - nothing special here though - a couple of pictures, all of which, have been seen before.

'Delta Voyager' is what is being described - the Voyages of Voyager in the Delta Quadrant. Some excellent pictures of battles with the Borg, Species 8472 and the crash landing of Voyager on the Ice Planet. It also has pictures of the Prometheus and Voyager's final battle with the Borg in full armour.

The Final Chapter, 'Semper Exploro' has probably the best picture of all, all seven Enterprise vessels and shuttle craft orbiting a base/platform above Earth. A surprise picture of a future Enterprise (possibly F if not G) is also included.

So why is it slightly disappointing? Well, though the pictures are good, there is simply little commentary. Some of the commentary that accompanies the pictures are quotes from famous philosophers or politicians and others are just purely based from that time line within the series. Commentaries are no longer than 8 small sentences and they seemed to be just slotted in with little elaboration. Furthermore, there is little in Chapters 5 and 7 - seven pictures in all - so very disappointing.

I would recommend this book to all true Star Trek fans however, beware, it is indeed light reading ;)
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
"ships of the line" sounds like it should be a definitive reference book, on the cover are lots of ships I wanted to know about and look at but inside it really is just a series of well painted pictures of starships we are already more than familiar with, this is just a romantic look at what we are used to rather than a glimpse at what might be. I for one was somewhat dissatisfied with it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2007
I think the pictures are excellent and show many details of the ships you wouldn't be able to see in the faster moving films.

The text for each of the pictures is shorter than I would have expected, and doesn't give any statistics about the ship in question. The book deals with all the series' (TNG, DS9 etc...). Although, if you want pictures of ALL the ships, you'll find that most are of the main ships (Enterprise, DS9 etc...)and only a few aren't of the main ships ('others' including Bird of prey, Cardassian and lesser featured federation ships etc...).

If you're after the pictures, the high quality images make this a good book for you.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I would characterised myself as a 'casual Star Trek fan' with the level of knowledge that could be expected from watching the series and movies although I have read the odd novel.

So for my level of expectation this book is beautiful and not overly filled with statistics and information.

I agree with other reviewers here that this is certainly not an in-depth study of the starships but I don't think it was intended to be. It fulfills its target of being a beautifully illustrated book of the most recognised ships very well.

I bought this for my brother who is very avid fan and even he thought it is great for what it is.

If you're looking for a lot of information, give this a miss but if you would just like something beautiful to look at, this is for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
This book has a series of stunning plates depicting the evolution of Star Trek from the prequel, through TOS to TNG and beyond. There is one howler. On page 34, the scales of the figures standing next to the Enterprise, one of them supposed to be Captain Christopher Pike are incorrect. As the original TOS Enterprise was supposed (or should I say is or will be) 947feet long, these people look like they may be about 40 feet tall. Other than that, well captioned. As you open this book, it shows a plate with a caption on the adjoining page to indicate what the illustration is all about. This is sort of more like a Star Trek Calendar but without dates. Real coffee table material for real coffee drinkers. If you are an Enterprise model make, I'm sure you'll find this very useful or at least useful for reference given the quality of the illustrations are very good. I would have liked to have seen far more coverage of the TOS Enterprise that I at least grew up with, rather than Deep Space Nine but I think TOS does get a reasonable airing. Happy gawping!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Bought this book in a rush to be honest so didn't really read what it was all about. All the pictures have been done on a computer. Don't mind CGI graphics but was hoping for some good quality prints of the actual models used. I know Star Trek Enterprise was all CGI and late seasons of Voyager also went down that route, but come on guys... they made some awesome and big models and they should have been shown in all their glory!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
The title sounds rude but is not intended that way.

This book is, quite literally, a Feast-For-Your-Eyes.

Ingeniously written and illustrated, I believe it is an excellent addition to the libary of anyone who is interested in space travel, even if they aren't fans of the wonderfully enjoyable Star Trek sagas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
The pictures are extremely detailed and are of a very good quality. With every picture there is a small paragraph with some context about the picture on the adjacent page - however without knowledge of the various ships' adventures some of the paragraphs make little sense and can (unfortunately) leave you hanging!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I got this book as a present for my 'Star Trek' addicted son. He said that the pictures are great and is very pleased with the book. The only thing he could fault is the amount of information that was given about the ships as he would have liked a bit more. He still thought it was worth 5 stars though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
The artwork is of an excellant quality, but the cover is very deceiving as the actual content only has the Enterprises as its core work and not as the cover suggests many others from the Star Trek Universe and it doesn't even give a history of the ships that are represented, so alittle disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse