Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ships of the line
I would characterised myself as a 'casual Star Trek fan' with the level of knowledge that could be expected from watching the series and movies although I have read the odd novel.

So for my level of expectation this book is beautiful and not overly filled with statistics and information.

I agree with other reviewers here that this is certainly not an...
Published on 5 Nov 2010 by Margie Greyvenstein author of ...

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing
Presented well with some fabulous pictures of ships from the entire Star Trek genre. It is separated into seven chapters. Human Warp Flight, The Creation of a Legend, The Finest in the Fleet, Of Gods and Men, There will Always be an Enterprise, Delta Voyager, and Semper Exploro.

'Human Flight' incorporates detail 'photographs' of the early warp flight and the...
Published on 4 Nov 2006 by J. G. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing, 4 Nov 2006
By 
J. G. Griffiths (Norwich, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
Presented well with some fabulous pictures of ships from the entire Star Trek genre. It is separated into seven chapters. Human Warp Flight, The Creation of a Legend, The Finest in the Fleet, Of Gods and Men, There will Always be an Enterprise, Delta Voyager, and Semper Exploro.

'Human Flight' incorporates detail 'photographs' of the early warp flight and the NX series of vessels including some fabulous pictures of Vulcan, Romulan, Tholian and Andorian vessels. It even displays the Bonaventure Class vessel depicting the transition from the Enterprise NX design to early Constitution type designs - which we are all familiar with.

The Second Chapter, 'The Creation of A Legend' is based entirely on the Original Series and Movies with excellent pictures of the Enterprise NCC 1701 from its drydock pre-launch (both 1701 and its re-fit) to battles scenes against the Klingons, Romulans, the Planet Killer and the 'Daystrom massacre' with a fantastic saucer and battle section battle scene against some Klingon Cruisers.

'The Finest in the Fleet' is orientated around the Next Generation with a great picture of the Calypso (Captain's Yacht) being launched from the Saucer module - something a true Star Trek fan always wanted to see! It has pictures of Nebula Class vessels (USS Ranger), The Intrepid Captain's Yacht in mid-flight, Constellation Class (USS Stargazer), Enterprise-C and D battling against the Klingons, Utopia Planetia, Starbase 29, Excelsior class vessels and the USS Altair (Altair class).

'Of Gods Men' depicts the voyages and adventures of the Defiant and Deep Space Nine. It also answers the question of what happened to the Columbia NX. It displays imaginative battle scenes - Federation and Allies fighting against the Dominion and the Breen.

'There will always be an Enterprise' depicts the voyages of the Enterprise - E from First Contact to Nemesis - nothing special here though - a couple of pictures, all of which, have been seen before.

'Delta Voyager' is what is being described - the Voyages of Voyager in the Delta Quadrant. Some excellent pictures of battles with the Borg, Species 8472 and the crash landing of Voyager on the Ice Planet. It also has pictures of the Prometheus and Voyager's final battle with the Borg in full armour.

The Final Chapter, 'Semper Exploro' has probably the best picture of all, all seven Enterprise vessels and shuttle craft orbiting a base/platform above Earth. A surprise picture of a future Enterprise (possibly F if not G) is also included.

So why is it slightly disappointing? Well, though the pictures are good, there is simply little commentary. Some of the commentary that accompanies the pictures are quotes from famous philosophers or politicians and others are just purely based from that time line within the series. Commentaries are no longer than 8 small sentences and they seemed to be just slotted in with little elaboration. Furthermore, there is little in Chapters 5 and 7 - seven pictures in all - so very disappointing.

I would recommend this book to all true Star Trek fans however, beware, it is indeed light reading ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's worse than that it's dead Jim..., 22 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. G. Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
"ships of the line" sounds like it should be a definitive reference book, on the cover are lots of ships I wanted to know about and look at but inside it really is just a series of well painted pictures of starships we are already more than familiar with, this is just a romantic look at what we are used to rather than a glimpse at what might be. I for one was somewhat dissatisfied with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only A Picture Book, 17 Mar 2007
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
I think the pictures are excellent and show many details of the ships you wouldn't be able to see in the faster moving films.

The text for each of the pictures is shorter than I would have expected, and doesn't give any statistics about the ship in question. The book deals with all the series' (TNG, DS9 etc...). Although, if you want pictures of ALL the ships, you'll find that most are of the main ships (Enterprise, DS9 etc...)and only a few aren't of the main ships ('others' including Bird of prey, Cardassian and lesser featured federation ships etc...).

If you're after the pictures, the high quality images make this a good book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ships of the line, 5 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
I would characterised myself as a 'casual Star Trek fan' with the level of knowledge that could be expected from watching the series and movies although I have read the odd novel.

So for my level of expectation this book is beautiful and not overly filled with statistics and information.

I agree with other reviewers here that this is certainly not an in-depth study of the starships but I don't think it was intended to be. It fulfills its target of being a beautifully illustrated book of the most recognised ships very well.

I bought this for my brother who is very avid fan and even he thought it is great for what it is.

If you're looking for a lot of information, give this a miss but if you would just like something beautiful to look at, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Model makers reference, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Sarakani (Harrow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
This book has a series of stunning plates depicting the evolution of Star Trek from the prequel, through TOS to TNG and beyond. There is one howler. On page 34, the scales of the figures standing next to the Enterprise, one of them supposed to be Captain Christopher Pike are incorrect. As the original TOS Enterprise was supposed (or should I say is or will be) 947feet long, these people look like they may be about 40 feet tall. Other than that, well captioned. As you open this book, it shows a plate with a caption on the adjoining page to indicate what the illustration is all about. This is sort of more like a Star Trek Calendar but without dates. Real coffee table material for real coffee drinkers. If you are an Enterprise model make, I'm sure you'll find this very useful or at least useful for reference given the quality of the illustrations are very good. I would have liked to have seen far more coverage of the TOS Enterprise that I at least grew up with, rather than Deep Space Nine but I think TOS does get a reasonable airing. Happy gawping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek- Ships of the Line, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
The artwork is of an excellant quality, but the cover is very deceiving as the actual content only has the Enterprises as its core work and not as the cover suggests many others from the Star Trek Universe and it doesn't even give a history of the ships that are represented, so alittle disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek book., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
Arrived in good condition and pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek fans will love it, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
Book was bought as a gift for a Star Trek fan - was received very well and held a few surprise bit of trekkie info..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trekkers!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
This was a present for an enthusiast and went down well. Lots of info and details with great pictures. Well presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars glorious pics, 30 May 2013
This review is from: "Star Trek" Ships of the Line (Hardcover)
If you appreciate artwork especially scifi and in particular star trek, its a really nice book to have. I really liked the concept art of ships when left to the artist imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Star Trek" Ships of the Line
"Star Trek" Ships of the Line by Michael Okuda (Hardcover - 4 Dec 2006)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews