Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had me from the start...
I'm just about a third of the way through this book but am so engrossed want to encourage others to buy it before I finish! I've read mainly autobiographies of the wrestlers themselves, so knew this would be different. It is a great insight in the business and its personalities. Eric is honest about his feelings about people he has worked with, and is open about his...
Published on 17 Nov 2006 by Mr. I. M. Bowden

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad either.
I got through this book in about 3 days... I don't know if thats because it was so interesting or what but I came away from it remembering Sean O'Haires line "but I'm not telling you anything you don't already know". I hated WCW, but I like Bischoff, and it was interesting to read his side of the story. The only problem is that so much detail is lacking, and so much more...
Published on 16 Oct 2007 by Mr S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had me from the start..., 17 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. I. M. Bowden (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) (Hardcover)
I'm just about a third of the way through this book but am so engrossed want to encourage others to buy it before I finish! I've read mainly autobiographies of the wrestlers themselves, so knew this would be different. It is a great insight in the business and its personalities. Eric is honest about his feelings about people he has worked with, and is open about his own mistakes as well as those of others. He doesn't put the bad mouth on people without backing it up with a reason, and even then, you get the impression he is leaving you to make your own decision about that person. He sets rumours straight, even when the truth is less in his favour than the fiction (his academic qualifications for instance). Contrary to what many people think, he has a lot of respect for his peers, even if he doesn't agree with them. This book is a must read for old and new fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars riveting, 3 Mar 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is great at understanding what makes a man as infamous at eric bischoff work,he comes across as arrogant and knows his place on wrestlings map and few can argue with that,he was the man that turned ted turners wcw from a money losing company to a powerhouse in wrestling,one i might add that nearly killed vince mcmahons wwe,thats impressive.
Eric is very moved in this book by the backstage politics of wrestling and we can learn alot about the scenes behind closed doors that move the wheels in a company,eric reveals how he was stabbed in the back and the front by people that were in the business for the wrong reasons,he reveals how he snatched some of the wwe greats like hogan and savage away from his rivals and reveals the details that lead to the sacking of steve austin and casts an eye of jealously at what he then became.
Eric dishes out lashings of hate at some personalities and reveals whop he calls friends,we get insight to his career progression,his radical thinking and his family life,we learn alot in truth and thats why this was a book i read in two days ,great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WCW: Bischoff tells his story, 4 Sep 2011
Eric Bischoff is one of the most controversial faces in American pro-wrestling. The death of WCW is often blamed on him by some, and in this book, he tells his side of the story.

At the beginning, Eric talks about his childhood and ambitions, alongside his earlier jobs, giving interesting insight into the real Eric Bischoff, rather than his on-camera persona that people may be more familiar with. He talks about why he feels WCW was successful at first, and where things began to go wrong.

I've read many autobiographies by wrestlers who've spent time in WCW but it's been great to learn Bischoff's version of events. I've often felt he really did care for WCW, and that comes through in this book. He is outspoken in his writing, and it will no doubt have caused some controversy. He doesn't complain about the company's plight, and just tells things how he saw them. In the book, Bischoff says that many wrestling fans are more fascinated by what happens behind the scenes than what happens on screen. If you're one of those people, you may really enjoy this book.

Controversy Creates Cash was written before Bischoff joined TNA, and focuses mostly on his time with WCW. You don't necessarily have to agree with what he says to enjoy the book. It's a very interesting read, and I have a great deal of respect for the man after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing autobiography, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Mark D. Bradshaw (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) (Hardcover)
Controversy Creates Cash is certainly a unique and enjoyable autobiography.Rather than a reliance on constant storylines which is so common in wrestling books,it was refreshing to read his perspective focusing on the business aspect and his mode for how to create entertaining television, such as marketing practices as well as the issues he had to face.While it could be said that Eric Bischoff does deflect some of the reasons wcw went out of business (eg the merger as opposed to the poor use of talent),it is undoubtable an interesting and entertaining read.

Mark David Bradshaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Controversy Creates Cash, 22 April 2009
By 
J. E. G. Lee "Johnno" (Leics UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most of the books on professional wrestling that I have seen

have been absolutely unmemorable - just words on the page by a ghost

writer who sat by the side of the subject.

Eric Bischoff seems to tell it like it is , the commercial side of the

"mayhem" as it were. It was for me an interesting little story on the

creation of myth and money and boardroom infighting - not a bad read at

all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended (Even If You Hated WCW), 16 Jan 2007
By 
WCW Fan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) (Hardcover)
Eric Bischoff has certainly been a hated figure for fans and wrestlers alike over the years. After all, he started off as a lowly "host" on WCW programming and eventually worked his way up to Vice President of the company (a position that changed hands on a regular basis before he was put in charge). He took WCW to the top, but in many people's eyes, he brought them right back down to the bottom.

Well, now Eric is here to give HIS side of the story. He starts off by correcting several inaccuracies regarding his qualifications and his role within the now defunct American Wrestling Association (amazingly, the door of opportunity opened for Bischoff after the promoter Verne Gagne gave him some free air time to plug his idea for a new kids toy, "Ninja Star Wars").

Bischoff eventually became an AWA announcer (although by his own admission, he was terrible. It was simply a case of "right place, right time" and no-one else being available, or in some cases, being worse than him). He talks about his job interview with WWF (he tried out for an annoucing job there, but didn't get it), but it's when he moves onto WCW (World Championshhip Wrestling) that things get really interesting.

Contrary to what you may think of Eric Bischoff, but when talking about his former employers and co-workers, he doesn't rip into or "chew them out" for no good reason. He tries to see the positives in every situation (although in WCW, at least internally, there weren't all that many).

Despite what people may think about the departure of announcer Jim Ross soon after Eric came to power in WCW, Bischoff doesn't bash "JR" completely and actually ponders why JR got the story round that he "fired" him (according to Eric, he didn't have enough authority to "fire" anyone at that point and actually agreed to let Ross go as he was unhappy in the company).

You'll also get the other side of Steve Austin's departure from the company, how Jesse "The Body" Venture took a personal dispute with Hulk Hogan a little too far, plus the birth of Monday Nitro and the dominance over the WWF, as well as the demise of WCW and Bischoff's eventual run with WWE.

A common criticism about this book was that Bischoff takes tremendous credit for the success of WCW, but does not shoulder much of the blame for its downfall. I would disagree. Up until the release of this book, no-one REALLY knew just how chaotic a place WCW was to work within (we've heard from the wrestlers, but we've never really heard a business perspective). Eric does admit to some of his faults, but emphasises how WCW was constantly full of "suits" who either hated or didn't understand wrestling. He also explains how the merger between Time Warner and Turner and another AOL merger was actually more of a curse than a blessing.

The only reason I didn't give this book the full 5 stars was because Bischoff simply doesn't spend long enough on his WWE career (although I guess he didn't want to upset the people he STILL works with). Also there are a few spelling errors and a picture of Sensational Sherri has the caption "Missy Hyatt" (who Bischoff really speaks his mind about). Obviously, the latter is not his fault.

Overall, this is recommended reading for any current WWE fan or anyone who used to watch WCW and is curious as to what really went on behind the scenes. Definitely one of the best wrestling bios in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very surprised..., 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) (Hardcover)
...not surprised by many of the stories which are well known but how I enjoyed reading this book and warmed to Bischoff!

Whilst not going into over detailed descriptions of events there is enough information to make this an interesting read.

Whatever anybody says about his methods the man has earnt a lot of money from the industry and he's right in what he says, behind VM he has been the most influencial person in wrestling in the last 30 years. Just watch any WWE event now and his method of formulating storylines are still being used today.

Well worth a read but approach it with an open mind, you won't get huge amounts of unknown information but it's an entertaining summary of the WCW/WWE wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great inside perspective, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good read, tells you so much of what it takes to run an organization beyond what you'll see on tv. always had time for bischoff, have even more now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars V V V good, 24 Sep 2008
By 
Jude M. Clancy "Judeskii" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) (Hardcover)
worth the price tag. great read. alot of stories about behind the scenes of AWA, WCW & WWE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad either., 16 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) (Hardcover)
I got through this book in about 3 days... I don't know if thats because it was so interesting or what but I came away from it remembering Sean O'Haires line "but I'm not telling you anything you don't already know". I hated WCW, but I like Bischoff, and it was interesting to read his side of the story. The only problem is that so much detail is lacking, and so much more could have been said. I thought it was a little disappointing, glossing over years of really, really bad booking at WCW and failing to answer several of the standard criticisms that were levelled at the company. I'm glad I read the book but I think unless you're a Bischoff fan you're really not going to get much from it. To be honest (and don't laugh) I actually enjoyed Hogan's book more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Controversy Creates Cash (WWE)
Controversy Creates Cash (WWE) by Eric Bischoff (Hardcover - 6 Nov 2006)
Used & New from: £0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews