Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This year's best book about modern marketing theory
This is the best book about contemporary marketing theory we have read this year. At first blush, this might not be saying too much; we know all too well how bad prose and dreary writing seem to be the marketing guru's stock-in-trade. And there is something inhuman in the way they so frequently write of people as mere targets or "hits" or revenue streams...
Published on 25 Oct 1999

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended
The Gist:
People, whether they are at work or home, are subjected to a constant bombardment of direct mail, newspaper ads, periodical ads, radio & TV ads, which are all designed to capture their attention ahead of the competition. Godin argues that most individuals do not have time for this approach known as "interruption marketing", either because they...
Published on 21 Dec 2001 by Charles Heaton- The Fusebox (c...


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 21 Dec 2001
The Gist:
People, whether they are at work or home, are subjected to a constant bombardment of direct mail, newspaper ads, periodical ads, radio & TV ads, which are all designed to capture their attention ahead of the competition. Godin argues that most individuals do not have time for this approach known as "interruption marketing", either because they are too busy or because they simply resent the intrusion. Instead, he suggests that a different approach is needed in this time-precious age, especially if companies want to not only gain new customers but more importantly, keep them. The permission marketing technique is the reverse of the volume scatter gun method. By obtaining a potential customer's permission for two-way communication to take place, the company can build strong relationships and, over time, turn people into loyal, long-term customers.
Commentary:
Permission marketing has been around for years in record clubs, airlines and even doctor's surgeries & the church! However, it is now easier to take advantage of the permission techniques Godin highlights in his book, since the use of technology cuts out a lot of costs previously associated with such an approach.
Permission Marketing is best explained by the following example. A company sends a mailer highlighting the products and services it offers. This mailer is designed not to directly sell the product or service but instead invites the customer to call or email to request more company information. Once the customer has made contact, the 'dating' process can start. The brochure that is sent out in response to the request not only informs the customer of products and services but within the process, is designed to get permission to follow up and arrange a meeting. The meeting will give the chance to learn more about the customer's needs (and budgets!). This meeting can then leverage permission for many other contact opportunities and finally not only make a sale but also build a stronger relationship.
Although Seth Godin focuses mainly on marketing to consumers, this shouldn't put you off as the theories can be translated to a B2B environment and there are a few examples of how permission techniques work in business to business marketing. Not only does he provide case studies of companies including American Airlines, AT&T, Levis, McDonald's, AOL and Columbia Record Club, but also a FAQ section and an area entitled "Questions to ask yourself when evaluating any marketing program."
Reviewer Views:
If you read this book -and I suggest that you do- you might have the feeling that all the key messages Godin delivers could be written in a '20 page pocket guide to Permission Marketing'. This is arguably true, although you might be in danger of forgetting a crucial element highlighted throughout the book. Permission Marketing is a process- not a moment. It is a relationship that takes time to build - the customer is in control and one wrong move can end the relationship forever. This is definitely a book worth reading and not just once - you should keep it very close by when planning any marketing campaign. He steers well clear of the marketing jargon and makes it very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I haven't finished it yet but..., 20 April 2007
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Friends and Friends into Customers (Paperback)
...it has been a very disappointing purchase so far. The preface announces that, although it was first written in 1999, the author decided not to update it for 2007. At all. There are reasons given but, unfortunately, the result is a very dated read, which doesn't take into account the massive changes that have taken place in the intervening years.

The other major problem, as a reviewer of an earlier edition points out, is repetition. The author says the same thing over and over and over again. Whatever the intention is, the effect is poor. As with many book like this, you feel the idea is really only enogh to justify an aticle in a journal, and not a whole book.

I can't see myself ploughing on until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This year's best book about modern marketing theory, 25 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This is the best book about contemporary marketing theory we have read this year. At first blush, this might not be saying too much; we know all too well how bad prose and dreary writing seem to be the marketing guru's stock-in-trade. And there is something inhuman in the way they so frequently write of people as mere targets or "hits" or revenue streams. Nor do we like all those "how-I-converted-my whelk-stall-into-a-global-fast-food-conglomerate" books either. Marketing literature rarely provides an uplifting read.
But Permission Marketing is a belter. Seth Godin explores the creative interaction of three motive forces with modern marketing : diminishing returns from conventional advertising; the rise of sophisticated, seen-it-all-before consumers; the revolutionary impact of the Internet as a marketing device. "If you believe that the Internet changes everything", he says, "you will readily appreciate this book". We do and we did. The emphasis that the creative interaction of technological and social change provides a genuinely new possibility of dialogue with customers just has to be right. At the coal-face of modern marketing, large corporations are still spending zillions chasing sales from inherently promiscuous consumers through ever more expensive applications of the old-fashioned marketing mix. Not for nothing are individual advertisements sometimes called "executions". But the changes reviewd by Seth Godin allow for a much deeper basis of loyalty between the cash-rich consumer and the companies that spend time analysing and anticipating real needs. This is the basis for "permission marketing".
Here in the UK, we worry a lot about companies having too much information about us, especially credit card details. But as Seth Godin shows, if companies stock and handle this information successfully they can earn the crucial right to intervene in our lives to save us time and money. It has to be right to assume that, in due course, consumers will realise this and reward the most assiduously professional "permission marketers". Seth Godin is an early philosopher of this process. And anyone who can so dazzingly sustain the potentially seismic claim that "the overwhelming clutter in the marketplace has made traditional advertising almost worthless for most marketers" gets our vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!, 5 July 2004
I am currently writing my dissertation on viral marketing and was hoping to get some additional insight into alternative marketing strategies and tactics. Certainly this book didn't have anything to add at all. Regrettably it is written in a rather populist way with many repetitions and sometimes contradictory arguments (see page 123: "Brand trust is dramatically overrated. It's extraordinarily expensive to create, takes a very long time to develop, is hard to measure, and is harder still to manipulate." Then page 124: "The power of brand trust can be truly significant.." and so on).
I couldn't find anything new about permission marketing. Godin, as far as I am concerned, just randomly throws together concepts of brand loyalty programmes, the importance of dedicated after-sale service, maintaining good personal relationships with important customers etc. just to say at some point that the initial step for any permission marketing activity is still "interruption marketing" via traditional ways of advertising - a concept he, in preceeding chapters, denies much of a future in the marketing world. He even devotes almost an entire chapter to the outline of the difference between frequency and reach. Wow, here's some groundbreaking marketing novelty for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These ideas are now common place, 10 April 2010
By 
Scott Gould (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Friends and Friends into Customers (Paperback)
When Seth wrote this it was revolutionary. But our social media world is now at the place where it better understands the idea of PULL rather than PUSH, so this book becomes less revolutionary over time.

Seth talks about 'Permission' marketing, which is the opposite to broadcast. In the broadcast marketing world, we push messages out to people, without asking them if they'd like to see them. This is un-targeted and ineffective. Permission Marketing is about building what Seth calls a Permission Asset. This can be an email list, customer bass, network, following, community, etc, that has given you permission to market to them. This means that when you send out your message, these people are not only likely to buy, but they WANT to buy.

Good thoughts, but if you've read Seth's other books, no need to read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More buzz words anyone....?, 21 Nov 2003
Whilst this book offers useful ideas and some good examples, the overriding 'revolutionary idea' is not new.
It is clear that Godin's achievements are to marvelled at, however I tried to explain the book's 'Big Idea' to a friend and found that I had either missed it, or that it was not significant enough to recall with any zeal.
An interesting read but certainly a disappointment in the originality stakes. I'm afraid it simply felt like another buzz phrase milked to sell vast quantities of books to people like me who are waiting for the next revolution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for ANY business, not just e-business, 4 Mar 2003
By 
C. M. Perkins (Stirling, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You may not have heard of Seth Godin. You will have heard of Yahoo - and Godin's the marketing brains behind it.
I first read this book over two years ago and, at the time, decided to test Godin's ideas with a small e-mail campaign. It got three times the response of any of our previous direct marketing efforts and, ever since, Permission Marketing has formed the basis of our approach.
Here's how it works: Godin classifies convention forms of advertising as 'Interruption Marketing' and it's becoming less and less successful. Permission Marketing is about getting potential customers to 'put their hand up' and say "I'm interested". You honour that interest by providing the information they ask for, and ask them for permission to educate them a little further, perhaps by giving them some options regarding the next step. For example, a free trial, speaking to another satisfied customer or calling into your office/showroom, etc for a demonstration. And so the process goes on, with you gaining valuable information about this customer's exact needs as they continue to grant permission; and the customer trusting you increasingly to provide them with exactly what they're looking for. The significant difference in this approach is that the consumer has volunteered to accept the promotional message. In fact, they will often look forward to receiving it.
It works. It requires a little extra effort and a lot of patience on your part. In return, you win very satisfied, very loyal customers. A fair bargain, in my opinion. The process, as Godin explains, begins with something to cut through the clutter of all the advertising we are bombarded with. It could be something very creative, or it could be something simple. He gives plenty of examples. Once that first connection has been made (which he accepts must usually be through conventional 'interruption marketing'), the key is that everything that follows is "anticipated, personal and relevant".
Anyone who remembers Rapp & Collins' 'MaxiMarketing' from the 80s will already understand the approach (ie: seek out individual consumers). What Godin adds is the application of technology (specifically the internet) to maximise effectiveness. He also emphasises the learning relationship between both parties, which I liked.
You don't have to be an e-business for this to be successful, and you don't have to do it via e-mail and the web. Godin's argument is that the technology makes it easy and cheap to do via e-mail and the web, but the concept works in other media. The concept will also work equally well in B2B or B2C businesses. Buy this book and you will be on your way to finding and keeping your best customers of the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you really think...., 25 July 2007
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Friends and Friends into Customers (Paperback)
I confess I am a Godin fan and am therefore biased. I think this may be the best of his books to date, and despite the timing of some of the original content it is every bit as relevant today as when it was written.
For anyone who works in B to B sales or professional services, there are some crucial lessons from this book. In particlar it has convinced us that we cannot attract business with an excuse of a website, and that we must rethink every aspects of the sales process to engage with customers. And guess what - it works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars which states that people need to opt-in to receive your e-mail marketing messages and that you should make it easy for them to u, 9 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Friends and Friends into Customers (Paperback)
Permission Marketing is the marketing book to rule all marketing books, the one book that you should be sure to read before all others and which you should re-read every year if you hope to ever sell a product. Godin revolutionised the way we think about marketing – no longer is it about getting your message out in front of people in any way possible. Now, you need to seek the permission of consumers before you contact them.

In some cases, this is actually a legal requirement – think of the CAN SPAM act, for example, which states that people need to opt-in to receive your e-mail marketing messages and that you should make it easy for them to unsubscribe if they no longer want to hear from you. Nevertheless, permission marketing isn’t just about ensuring that you obey the law – it’s more than that, a set of common sense ideals which help to make you a better marketer.

And, let’s face it, people react better to messages that they’re expecting than they do to the unexpected – I’d rather read e-mails from a company that I’ve heard of than one I haven’t, especially if I care enough about them to give them my e-mail address. This book builds on that idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flatters to deceive and fails to live up to expectations, 20 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Friends and Friends into Customers (Paperback)
I must admit, I was looking forward to this book having read many of the earlier reviews - I'm always one for giving authors the benefit of the doubt. However, on this occasion, the reviewers that didn't rate this book very highly were correct.

From the outset, the author admits that he is revisiting a topic that he first discussed a decade or so earlier, which is fine. The issues lie in the fact that he has not updated the book to deal with marketing in the current climate (or at least at the time of writing the book second time around). The initial part of the book sets the scene and describes the fundamentals of permission marketing. Sadly, the book never really takes off from here. The middle of the book gets muddled and the number of mnemonics and rules on permission marketing start to increase. Before you know it, you're flicking back to earlier chapters to recall what the author is on about.

The books ends completely flatly and I came away wondering what I had learned that I didn't already know. Every chapter seems like a repetition of the previous one, and in the end, I started to lose focus. The blatant lack of up-to-date and non-American examples is the real shocker. Very rarely does the author provide specific examples of how permission marketing has worked/not worked. I think the book would have been stronger and benefited greatly from recent case studies from companies around the world.

As one earlier reviewer has put it, the ideas within the book, whilst initially look sound, are actually outdated; or at least feel outdated.

I would recommend people who are considering this book type in permission marketing into google and see some of the online discussions and posts about the subject. You'll save yourself the price of this book, which fails to live up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Friends and Friends into Customers
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews