Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Michael Shawn Hickenbottom to HBK
Mixed feelings, I have always been a Shawn Michaels fan, but I have to admit that I think that he has been a little dishonest when writing this book when making refrences to his old foe Bret Hart and the influence he and his Kliq had on the WWE/F. He also skirts around some of the relationships he has had over the years especially with Marty Jannetty, he makes refrences...
Published on 25 Mar 2006

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ
Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE)
I am not a great HBK fan and that is still the case after reading his book, the start about his family and school years give the book a solid base but once he starts to talk about his wrestling the book becomes very linear and self indulgent. The main problem I had is that he did`nt go into much depth about the...
Published on 13 July 2008 by A. Musgrave


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 13 July 2008
By 
A. Musgrave (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE) (Paperback)
Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE)
I am not a great HBK fan and that is still the case after reading his book, the start about his family and school years give the book a solid base but once he starts to talk about his wrestling the book becomes very linear and self indulgent. The main problem I had is that he did`nt go into much depth about the wrestling, inside and outside the ring, and you could just feel that he could have told us alot more with a greater detail had it not been published by WWE. His hatred for Bret Hart is also too obvious and reflects in some of his comments and gives the book no real sense of truth. He sums up survivor series 1997 until present day in about 50 pages which just seems lazy . I still enjoyed it but if you are wanting a great book on wrestling see Bret Harts book or Pure Dynamite by Tom Billington they are both less censored the latter especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Split personality, 6 Sep 2006
By 
I couldn't resist reading this in much the same way that a devout Christian wouldn't be able to resist reading the Satanist's Bible if he happened to come across a copy.

Shawn Michaels comes across as contradictory, dishonest, self-obsessed and with a severely selective memory. This shows up nowhere clearer than when he talks about Bret Hart, whom he never fails to slander, poke and snipe at whenever he gets a chance and quite frequently, even when he doesn't.

I'm quite frankly not surprised that Michaels has such a reputation for being a pain in the backside and a selfish little scrote: he very obviously is all of that and more! The degree to which he contradicts himself throughout the book raised many laughs. Only someone as truly self-deluded as he could believe that the world is set so unfairly against him. Personally I think the top billing in the world would be him against a fit Bret, in a UFC ring, because he'd last about sixty seconds.

Buy this book if you're a wrestling fan, or an HBK fan particularly. You will find it insightful, mainly into the almost schizophrenic/narcissistic state of mind of the author, but to other things as well. Shawn's finding of religion, reading between the lines, comes across as someone finding just yet another crutch to lean on to recover from his drug and mental problems, rather than a true spiritual awakening.

If he truly has "found God", let's hope he does some serious self-asessment and realises just what a selfish SOB he can sometimes be (although I have to give him points for selflessness as well - the above cited case of the WM 14 main event for one) and what he owes some people he's been truly cruel and ignorant to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Michael Shawn Hickenbottom to HBK, 25 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Mixed feelings, I have always been a Shawn Michaels fan, but I have to admit that I think that he has been a little dishonest when writing this book when making refrences to his old foe Bret Hart and the influence he and his Kliq had on the WWE/F. He also skirts around some of the relationships he has had over the years especially with Marty Jannetty, he makes refrences to the fact Marty disappeared, had troubles but never went in to the detail. I think it is quite significant that he never made mention of Marty in his thank you page, I can only think that they still do not get on despite what he says in parts of the book, there seems to be contradictions throughout, but you can't help but read on to see how his perception of events transpired. It doesn't rate with Mick Foley's originals (but what does) but it does rate very well against some of the other WWE books that have disappointed (The Rock, Hardy Boyz, Chyna and Lita's spring to mind). I hope the WWE can come to agreement with Bret to release his side of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a fan you'll like it., 7 Dec 2009
I am a huge Shawn Michaels fan. I watched him for the time I was very young in the very early days of the Rockers when I would have said that Marty Janetty was the better of the two but maybe that was because Shawn used to take most of the beatings and Marty came in the "save" Shawn at the end of the match. However you can't deny that Shawn had a wonderful singles career and did really well.

I was never a huge fan of the clothes, the music or the dancing and in that sense I preferred Bret Hart (who just came to the ring and "got on with it"). Shawn won me over with his ability. When you look back on his matches, there is no denying that he was a fantastic athlete and wrestler and totally sold for anyone he worked with. I know lots of people didn't like the gimmick or the whatever backstage politics was supposed to have gone on but the man could wrestle and put on a show at the end of the day and there is simply no denying that. Even Bret Hart had to admit that he was the best he had ever seen. Everytime I watch his matches I am amazed at what he could do especially in the earlier part of his singles career and the matches he had with Jeff Jarrett. Dr. Tom Pritchard and Diesel. To see him tumble over ropes and go into the turnbuckle and turn himself upside down with such speed is incredible.

As regards the book, it's a good read but you won't learn anything major about the industry. There some nice pictures. He is a sensitive enough guy which some people may see as weakness but it made him so relatable to. He clearly never stopped being a fan and wanting to give a good show to those people who paid their hard earned money to see him. Shawn's passion for what he did and the people is his life is there on every page. By all means read this book. But go back and watch the matches as they are all excellent. His desire to be good at his job and put on the best show possible is clear in his match with Steve Austin when he went into the match with a back that needed surgery and he gave us all a really good show and "put over" Steve Austin in an amazing way. He wasn't selling anymore. The pain was real and he didn't have to do that match but I think he felt that to take the company in the direction it need to go, Austin needed a big push and he gave it to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely surprise!!!, 13 Jan 2006
By 
R. Davison (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
I decided to give this book a shot because I used to love the WWE whilst growing up. Shawn Michaels was my favourite character and a hero to me for many years. To be honest I didn't know what to expect. I was amazed to find that it was simply brilliant!
There are many matches that are covered that I remember seeing, which Shawn covers in great detail. The book also presents the reality of the wrestling industry, leading me to develop a massive new found respect for some of its elements. There are so many things that I would have never even considered.
All the ups and downs of his career and life are highlighted here and one thing I was very pleased to see was how Shawn was not afraid to admit the truth about himself. He acknowledges and makes clear that he was at times, especially in his early career, a spoilt-brat and very hard to work with.
If you have any interest, whether it be nostalgia or contemporary, just buy this book. I really can't praise it enough!!! A lovely surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor, poor HBK., 19 April 2006
By 
M. Williams (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book on the notion that it would be an entertaining read and a great look at a mans career, of which Shawn has had a great one. In all honesty I thought he realised it a little early, especially since he has fought Hogan and Vince since, and I would have loved to have heard his thoughts on this, especially on the backstage issues involving the Hogan work. Since Have a Nice Day is my favourite autobiography, Ive pretty much set it as the template of which a wrestling bio should be set so I'll probably be refering to it a few times in the review.

Firstly, I want to point out. Am I a Shawn Michaels fan? No! Do I respect his work? Yes, very much. Its impossible not too. The man goes out and puts on a show every times hes in the ring, heck, the guy wrestled with a broken back just to get Steve Austin over. That demands respect. The book itself, begins telling tales of Shawns youth, and provide some very funny and humours tales, about his mother, his brother, school friends and his temper. While he doesnt go into huge detail like Mick Foley did, he paints a very interesting picture and its enjoyable to read about how he got into wrestling and his training. Again though, he doesnt go into as deep as Mick did in his book which hurts a little because you dont learn about the emotional and physical pain he goes through. More like 'he was great and gifted and he would do well'.

Once he gets through his early years and into his times with Marty and being the Rockers, the book goes down hill a little for me. Instead of offering funny stories, of which there could be many, he spends to much time in the book making himself look like the innocent victum, how he was always in the wrong place at the wrong time, how everyone hated him and no one understood him. Shawn was a piece of work, he admits it, but to many people have said to much of the same thing over the years to allow him a get out of jail free card. He lied his face off for nearly 7 years about the screwing of Bret Hart, even lying to his face and 'swearing to God' that he knew nothing about it, so to read about how he was innocent in so many of the dealings of what went on stretches the imagination a bit.

Especially that when you consider, Shawn was the top dog, the champion and always seemed to be in the main event shuffle, despite all these things happening to poor HBK. He always takes pot shot after pot shot against Bret and buries him on more than one occasion, claming he was the carrier and Bret was just the load. If you've watched Brets DVD, and heard Bret put Shawn over, despite how he feels about him, it just makes Shawn like incredibly petty. A great instance of his disliking for Bret is when he calls Bret 'not a great wrestler'. Now, Bret is a man who made any man he worked with look like a killer. Bret and Shawn hate eachother, theres no doubting this, but its Shawns argument that makes the statement laughable. He claims Bret only wrestled his way and that caused problems for Kevin (Diesel) in their matches. For the record, Kevin Nash has had 5 good matches in his whole career and 3 of those matches were with Bret. Now, this should easily point out that Bret made these matches work, but Shawn refuses to acknowledge this and buries Bret further.

If you can look past the sob stories, of which there are many and the knocks at Bret, at which there are many more, you'll enjoy the book. He does get mixed up and contradicts himself on a few occasions, claming how he didnt mind loseing to Bret, only then saying he DID mind loseing to him. Another funny point is when he says two good wrestlers (himself and Mr Perfect "Curt Hening") just couldnt have a classic match, conveniently forgetting that two good wrestlers (Bret Hart and Mr Perfect "Curt Hening") had two classic wrestling matches. He also conveniently forgets how he 'well knowingly' tried to hold down The Rock (which has lead to heat that exsists to this day between them.)

Its like I said, I am not a Shawn Michaels fan and knowing how he has had drug problems and having watched his shoot interview where he looks out of his mind and completely contradicts everything he says, it makes his sob stories in this book a LOT harder to believe, and will to anyone who has actually seen the shoot interview. However, despites Shawns constant Bret bashing and sob stories, the book is a great read and any HBK fan should not go without it. It is really interesting to see how he met Kevin Nash, Scott Hall, Triple H and how he howned his character and adjusted it with the times. It also helps to provide an interesting look on his character and how he has changed since finding God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A heart-tugging read, 13 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE) (Paperback)
I don't actually own this book, but I borrowed it from my local library and read it over two days of the weekend: definitely an easy read.

To truly enjoy this book, though, and not want to skip through pages and chapters, you have to have a genuine interest in the person that is Shawn Michael Hickenbottom, rather than the character that is Shawn Michaels.

Sure, there is indepth discussion about his character and its development (including title reigns, injury and the infamous 'Montreal Screwjob'), but there is also an intense focus upon his home-life and the Hickenbottom household in the early days.

This book is most definitely a heart-tugging read though: you hear about agonies through injury, agonies through prescription pill abuse and the strain it put on his family. You also read about his redemption through becoming a born-again Christian: a fact that could be a shock to those who know Shawn Michaels only through his D-Generation-X hellraising.

It is a good read, not a great read; but if you want a personal story inter-laced with industry secrets and anecdotes then this autobiography is one that you should definitely pick up a copy of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Selective memory at its finest., 17 April 2007
By 
M. HAQ - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly I, like many others, admit that Shawn Micheals is one of the greatest and most talented wrestlers of all time. Infact I'd even go on to say that he is perhaps in the top 10 of all time in terms of greatest in ring performers along with Mr Perfect,Bret Hart and others. But Shawn the person is a strange piece of work.

What annoys me is how he goes on to bury Bret at every given opportunity. Fans have not forgotten the "I swear Bret I knew nothing about it" talk in 1997 but amazingy admits in this book that screwing Bret was mainly his i.e Shawns idea! he goes on to praise himself for thinking of such a plan. Much of the same self appraisal throughout this book but his accounts of his childhood and locker room stories are worth the read even though his "all against me" claims become tiring.

WWE now is awful and thats mainly due to Vince Mcmahon absurd ideas but what keeps it alive is Shawn Michaels the performer and one appreciates his hard work in this book.

Well worth the read for curiosity's sake if nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Jack H (Penicuik, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE) (Paperback)
I bought this book at the beginning of december and within a two days i had finished it, i honestly couldn't put it down.
I am a fan of wrestling and a fan of HBK but not a huge fan (i admire him rather than adore him). This book gives a great insight into who the pro-wrestling buisness works and in an honest way it shows you the highs and terrible lows that Shawn Michaels suffered. There are also some great stories in there too.

The one thing about this book to fault is that Shawn (or the ghost writer) tends to blow his own trumpet quite alot. I mean nothing to put you off but i just felt that he tended to say that he was the best more than once in the book.

Despite that it still get 5 stars, it gives a great insight into the Screwjob incident, it really places you their and you can almost imagine what it was like that night. Fantastic read really reccomend to all fans of WWE (just maybe not big Bret Hart fans :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet chin music., 8 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book for me was bittersweet, I did the right thing in reading it straight after I read Bret Harts and to be honest Harts book is the much better of the two. I don't feel that Shawn went into enough detail and it seems as if he released the book much too early, having a behind the scenes insight to the Flair and Taker Mania matches would have been golden.

It felt as if Vince may have had a lot of control in what was said in this book also.

All in all its a decent read although he does paint a spoilt brat image of himself in the book and any serious HBK fans may have slightly altered opinions of their hero after reading as I was.

It doesnt take away from the legend of the character of the ring preformer in Shawn Michaels though and I would recommend any wrestling fan to give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE)
Heartbreak and Triumph: The Shawn Michaels Story (WWE) by Shawn Michaels (Paperback - 6 Nov 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews