Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and readable
Does it concern you that vacuous it-girls are held up as role models for young women? If the answer is yes, then this is the book for you.

Levy, like a lot of women, seems perplexed by the way that intelligent straight women are going to pole dancing clubs for kicks and that women who essentially feign desire for a living are used as a symbol of female sexual...
Published on 16 July 2006 by Sarah Durston

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent points but lacking in places
In Female Chauvinist Pigs, Ariel Levy discusses the growing trend of young women's appropriation of stereotypically masculine behaviour. In this case, she means women who have bought into raunch culture: women who go to strip clubs and who are obsessed with porn. The argument is tricky, because so many women and men claim that this appropriation is actually empowering to...
Published 17 months ago by Ocellar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 30 Aug 2009
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
The book was a short but strong read. It contained very important points about human nature and gender. If there was a list of 100 books that we must read in our lives, I'd put this one on that list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now it all makes sense..., 19 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Fiona Wilton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
A brilliant book. I'm buying copies for friends and relatives and evangalising about it right left and centre. I like the way it is very readable (although I feel like I want to re-read it and make notes this time!). It very coherantly and sensibly addresses counter arguments and post feminist discourse. What an eye opener.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars female chauvinist pigs, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
very thought provoking. interesting book detailing the post feminist pornification of our modern day society. ariel levy writes well and keeps you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
I found it interesting and easy to read, would recommend it to all.

I'm glad I'm not the only one to have noticed what she is talking about, it has totally seeped into all areas of mainstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is an unfortunate, and popular, support of patriarchy by young women, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It really helps to come to terms with some of the thoughts I've been having over the last two years as to why women are willingly submitting to their oppression. Free choice to participate in raunch masquerades the inequalities of which it is built. Everyone should read this to understand the limitations of popular culture and how it truly restricts the mind and builds structure of slut-shaming, body hatred and inequality wrapped in a new pink, sequin tag. Raunch does not celebrate women. It celebrates a 'thing'. This is only one body type which many young women develop self-hatred for and will go out of their way to change their own standards of beauty at any cost. If you still think this is a load of 'radical' nonsense (the 'radical' notion being that women are people too) just read some of the interview extracts. You cannot read them without feeling disgust at what raunch culture has brought us to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener, 15 Aug 2008
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
I found this book incredibly illuminating. I have experienced, as a young person growing up, both my parents views on sex etc and my friends- both highly contrasting. This book has helped me to understand why nowadays somethings are accepted that would have been seen in a worse light years ago.
Levy writes in an easy to read prose (unlike me) and the book works in chapters linking together different ideas.
I definitely will be looking at this one again. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have read, 15 Oct 2010
Everyone should read this book, Levy articulates the problem with women imitating the worst male behaviour better than I could. Women have confused raunch culture with female empowerment and are participating in their own exploitation because being female or 'girlish' is still something to be ashamed of despite the achievements of feminism. We certainly still have a long way to go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent call for sanity, 7 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
I found myself reading parts of this book aloud to friends - it is clever and funny on top of its razor-edge insight. Levy's language is simple but evocative, full of witty descriptions of products, behaviours and ideas that desperately deserve the mocking.

It doesn't contain a clear agenda for improvement, which is a mild disappointment. I hope that not too many readers end the book feeling powerless to be agents of change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture: Woman and the Rise of Raunch Culture (Paperback)
interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Female Chauvinist Pigs, 3 Mar 2006
Bought this book with expectations of reading about why some women feel the need to express their sexuality in a way which many other women see as degrading and humiliating. The first half of the book tried to explain some of these issues but the second half seemed more to do with anecdotal evidence rather than analysis of the issues and left me feeling that pehaps Levy had lost her way somehow. I would have liked to have read more about why some women in certain sex industries can't understand how they are being manipulated by men. The book does make the reader think about society and female sexuality and does create a forum for discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews