Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mamet - Insightful Genius
The other review for this book is a travesty . This is a singularly brilliant and imensely intelligent insight into the form and functioning of the 'movie business' . As a source book for the fundemental and intrinsicly invaluable advice required by script and screen writers it has no equal . For anyone with a serious and investigative interest in the subject it is wholly...
Published on 11 Nov 2008 by C. PACKHAM

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Launches straightaway chapter 2 from memory into an unnecessary stance on the Middle East claiming Israelis are hounded as evil. Good grief how many films have Israelis as the bad guys as opposed to say Germans , Arabs etc etc???
Published 4 months ago by pt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mamet - Insightful Genius, 11 Nov 2008
By 
C. PACKHAM (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The other review for this book is a travesty . This is a singularly brilliant and imensely intelligent insight into the form and functioning of the 'movie business' . As a source book for the fundemental and intrinsicly invaluable advice required by script and screen writers it has no equal . For anyone with a serious and investigative interest in the subject it is wholly stimulating and hugely enjoyable . Its a book that makes you think about the films youve seen and the world which shaped them . It is funny , sarcastically and cynically , but also sad in its frank revelation of decaying standards and aspirations . It is one of my books of the year .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bambi vs. Godzilla: On the Nature, Purpose, and Practice of the Movie Business (Paperback)
Launches straightaway chapter 2 from memory into an unnecessary stance on the Middle East claiming Israelis are hounded as evil. Good grief how many films have Israelis as the bad guys as opposed to say Germans , Arabs etc etc???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 25 May 2011
Although we know that Holywood has only a superficial veneer of benevolence, and that underneath the surface it is a treacherous dog eat dog world of power, money and double dealing and self interest, it is still illuminating to get the perspective of someone who know the system from the inside.

This is a great read for anyone interested in understanding the world of film making. It helps us understand the frustrations of the creative director, who has his vision and story distorted by those in power in Hollywood and explains why our cinemas so often seem to be screening such bland formulaic trash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-So, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Jason Horsley (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bambi vs. Godzilla: On the Nature, Purpose, and Practice of the Movie Business (Paperback)
Normally when a book gets either one-star or five-star reviews it means it's at the very least interesting, challenging, and divisive. I didn't find this book remarkable except for being unremarkable. If it hadn't been written by Mamet my expectations wouldn't have been so high so I might have not felt so non-plussed with it. But here's a man with a formidable reputation and I expected some insights to match it. I didn't find hardly any and ended up with the feeling that Mamet didn't really have anything especially new to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 18 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Bambi vs. Godzilla: On the Nature, Purpose, and Practice of the Movie Business (Paperback)
Given the track record Mamet has within Hollywood, and the claims on the back of the book that this was a 'reveal all', this was a startling disappointment. We learn of his opinion on a few actors and particular scenes in films but all in all there was not a great deal new on display. Stick to the screenplays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rambling and very dull, 11 Oct 2008
By 
S. P. Fraser (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bambi vs. Godzilla: On the Nature, Purpose, and Practice of the Movie Business (Paperback)
From such a great writer as Mamet, this is a huge disappointment. If you were expecting fascinating insight, forget it. It's dull and it goes on and on. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bambi vs. Godzilla: On the Nature, Purpose, and Practice of the Movie Business
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews