Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection with great value, 3 Jun. 2008
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
As the previous reviewer I can't but confirm that the Archive is a definitive collection to get started in Warcraft novels. The attractive package touches upon different parts of WC lore among it's 4 titles and all of them are a great way to build up on what you learn in-game, and even more to furtherly immerse you when you play WoW or WCIII. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value and a superb start into the Warcraft books!, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Crook (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
I'm not a big reader but wished to get into reading and i'm a huge fan of Warcraft and World of Warcraft, this book and the War of The Ancients book are a superb way to get started.

The main book and my favorite in this archive is the Day of the Dragon book. Very immersive and gripping.

You'll recognise many names and places in the books from world of warcraft and some which are sadly not in the game.

Examples are for example the main characters in Day of The Dragon, Veerasa and Rhonin can both be found in game in Dalaran.

If you wanna read more about the Warcraft books, i highly recommend this one

The only thing i dislike in Day of the Dragon is the book switches to different characters sometimes, one moment your following the main protaganists then your reading about whats going on elsewhere, which i found got confusing sometimes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the Warcraft Lore, WoW is now twice as fun, 26 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
Although not all books are written in the same style or quality, I find that the books contained in this volume do an awesome job of introducing someone to the lore of Warcraft.

The first fight against Deathwing, a fresh read for most since Cataclysm just touched again on the black dragon's lore, is top quality, written by the writers of the later Dragonlance books. The narrative is perfect, the story is very envolving and perfect.

The story of Thrall is told brilliantly but also in a very humane way, making it for a true hero's journey. It goes a bit overboard on his Shaman powers when compared to Shamans in game (anybody seen someone shape a mountain with a foot stomp in WoW?), but it's only natural since he's one of the core characters in the Warcraft universe.

Medivh's tower Kharazan is explored in its own volume, and that one is where I take one star out of the entire collection. The story is boring at a lot of times, and overly descriptive at others. I think it might suit some, but not my cup of tea. I honestly stopped reading here and didn't make my way into "Of Blood and Honor", so I won't comment on that one.

All in all, a great novel compendium for fantasy lovers. Would definitely recommend this one over any Game of Thrones book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, a brilliant read!, 30 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
All the stories are brilliant, you can see my individual reviews of them on each seperate book.
This is great value for the 4 books and don't fear the cheap price does not mean cheap quality, the book is of high quality.
---
I mainly bought this for the last book 'Of Blood and Honor' (Chris Metzen) as I had already read the others.
'Of Blood and Honor' is an excellent telling of Tirion Fordring's tale and his relationship with a certain orc and the honor that surrounds it. I really empathised with Tirion throughout the book as it deals with his personal struggles and what he knows at heart is right.

You learn about: Tirion Fordring, Taelan Fordring, Paladins, Uther the Lightbringer, Thrall, Eitrigg, Stratholme, Hearthglen + more.
---
Overall an excellent priced and intersting book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Warcraft, 19 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
If you have never read Warcraft before this is a fantastic way to introduce you to the world.

The writers are fantastic, they really capture the emotional side of the characters and introduce you to a vivid world and you get to know some of the characters who appear in the later books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
Great start of a great series. Four novels in one book. OMG! :D. This was the first book I brought, when I got my interest in the Warcraft lore, and boy were they good! Lord of the Clans and Day of the Dragon, where my favorite. This book made me buy another one. I'm in love with the Warcraft lore now..... I'm reading the War of the Ancients archive now, and it is a blast too. Just buy this book. As I said in the start: A great start of a great series. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
I have been looking for this book for some while now, and while i though it featured the blizzard history of WoW, they are actually 4 independent books and they are great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... that my son has received for Xmas and is delighted. He has yet to read it, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
This is a book (one of many in this series of books ) that my son has received for Xmas and is delighted. He has yet to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for lore lovers, like myself, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
Amazing books so far, package came in pristine condition and have had no issues. Fantastic for World of Warcraft lore lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) (Paperback)
Provided the missing lore that was needed to understand the game better. Very well written and put together. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft)
The Warcraft Archive (World of Warcraft) by Chris Metzen (Paperback - 21 Oct. 2006)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews