Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brave man, cowardly governments
I saw Moazzam Begg speak at the Edinburgh Book Festival in August 2006 -- he came across as modest, intelligent, calm and unembittered by his atrocious experiences at the hands of stupid governments. Many of the questions he was asked (by people who hadn't read his account) had more than a hint of skepticism about them and were a little insulting, but he always refused to...
Published on 22 Aug 2006 by Grendel

versus
23 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but a rather arrogant account.
This book is a good read and very well written, providing you don't take everything that Mr Begg says as being the absolute truth. Firstly, if he is totally innocent, why did he take his young family from the relative safety of Birmigham, to the war torn centre of Afghanistan, just prior to 9/11. Secondly, no where in his account does he mention the fact that in 1994,...
Published on 5 July 2006 by timmyuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brave man, cowardly governments, 22 Aug 2006
By 
I saw Moazzam Begg speak at the Edinburgh Book Festival in August 2006 -- he came across as modest, intelligent, calm and unembittered by his atrocious experiences at the hands of stupid governments. Many of the questions he was asked (by people who hadn't read his account) had more than a hint of skepticism about them and were a little insulting, but he always refused to rise to the bait, instead using his formidable knowledge of western and eastern culture to gently prove to his audience that he was not a terrorist and that his years of hell in custody were a farcical and dangerous overreaction of paranoid states. If you read this book, you will understand that the vast majority of people that have been picked up in the counterproductive "War On Terror" are innocent, and you will scratch your head in disbelief at the unnecessary brutality that is routinely inflicted on them in your name. As this book makes plain, the US and UK response to the horrific terrorism of 9/11 and since is so tragically misguided. These governments are doing EXACTLY what the terrorists want them to do, and recruiting enemies in the process. It is calm, informed, thoughtful books like this one that will heal the divide -- not another US fantasy of "spreading democracy" by force if necessary in the middle east (but not in China, Burma, North Korea and so on...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like it, 8 April 2006
By 
Eman (London, UK) - See all my reviews
A fantastic read. Well-written and gripping. Moazzem Begg is articulate and at times amusing as he writes about his account of his horrific capture, his time in solitary confinement and subsequent release.
The book gives insight into a Muslim man who is British and more educated and cultured than many of his captors.
It is interesting and yet worrying as it reveals the stark realities of Guantanamo Bay and the real victims of the War on Terror.
Highly highly recommended for anyone who wants to read a stimulating and meaty story..the bonus this one has is that it really happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight from the other side, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Hamed Hassan (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enemy Combatant: The Terrifying True Story of a Briton in Guantanamo (Paperback)
Well worth the read, extremely refreshing to obtain an informed analysis and perspective from an individual who had formed their views without sitting in a library and on the other side of the proverbial fence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 persons review., 16 April 2010
By 
E. ahmad "BLAVA" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enemy Combatant: The Terrifying True Story of a Briton in Guantanamo (Paperback)
Great book to read, once I started I really could not put it down - really. i havn't often come across books that are really well written. This book gives great insight in what it's really like to go through Guantanamo prison. One of the most gripping books i've read in years..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book this year - make it this one!, 30 Aug 2006
Once I purchased Enemy Combatant, I couldn't put it down. Few books can claim to be written in a tone that alternates humour, seriousness, humility, self-reflection, moments of despair, and prevailing optimism.

Moazzam's account of his personal search takes the reader from the NF days in Birmingham, to war-torn Bosnia, to sinister Turkey (amateur spies abound!) and devastated Afghanistan.

As a convert to Islaam, I have been on "both sides of the fence". I feel that Enemy Combatant has the power to win hearts and minds, provoking dialogue to reach common ground. Above all, this book hammers home the point that the Guantanamo detainees, demonised by the press and abandoned by hypocitical leaders, are husbands, fathers and sons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantistic, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is one of the best i have read.it is definalty worth reading. what happens in the countries that the us military have entered could be not be worse if you made it up. moazzam begg's writing brings it to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOUCHING, 28 Nov 2011
By 
A. Siddiqui "boo1953" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
read this and was so touched. its moving and really opens you up
to reality..im now passing it down for others to read and so far
theyve told me its an excellent read and so easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story The Whole World Needs To Know, 16 April 2006
By 
Shock, anger, amazement, disbelief, sadness and hope. Just some of the emotions and feelings you will encounter by reading this book. If there is only one book you read this year, 'Enemy Combatant' should be it.

Moazzem Begg manages to provide a detailed and compelling account of his kidnap, imprisonment, torture and detention without trial at the hands of the US in the so-called 'war on terror'. For UK readers, the implicit involvement of our own government in his ordeal is chilling and should act as a wake up call to all individuals who advocate the rule of law and the precept of innocent until proven guilty.

This is not just one man's tail of his own personal suffering. The harsh and devastating impact of his kidnap on all those around him especially his father, wife and children is made clear and highlights one aspect of the 'war on terror' which we do not see reported by the media.

After everything that has happened to this man, I was expecting a book full of anti-American, anti-Western sentiments. However, to the author's credit, this book is anything but that. We find a man who is deeply 'British' and proud of his roots and brings to the fore the whole concept of being a British Muslim.

The best aspect of this book however, is how the author describes in tremendous detail his time spent in captivity. The inhumane treatment that was vetted out to him and others is apparent yet this is coupled with a real insight into the individuals who were his captors and the relationships he formed with them, particularly during his time in solitary confinement.

How he coped with the ordeal is a testimony to the strength, honour, courage, conviction and unwavering faith of the man and we should all salute him. This book is superbly written and will not be put down once you start reading it. Be prepared however for the sadness you will encounter upon completing the book, knowing full well that while the author is now re-united with his loved ones, hundreds remain incarcerated in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest account of an incredible life, 9 April 2006
I found Mozzam's life experiences fascinating and extremely unusual. His life journey so far is stranger than fiction. Apart from the very dramatic events leading to his detention in Guantanamo, his childhood and adolesence are remarkable. He is the personification of the complicated world in which we live today. He attended a Jewish school; lived in Christian Britain and travelled to Muslim trouble spots to search for his Islamic heritage and help his fellow Muslims.
It is clear to me just how far he is from someone who is a "terrorist". Even after his horrific experiences, he still keeps an extremely tolerant and forgiving outlook towrds those who made his life miserable. The most remarkable thing about this story is the lack of anger, bitterness or hopelessness that one would expect from someone who has been through what Mozzam has been through. I found the book surprisingly uplifting considering the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing account of injustice, 1 May 2006
By 
A. Shaikh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although I am not an avid reader, this book is definately one to pick up as it provides a deep insight to someone's true life story.

If there are any doubts as to whether or not Guantanamo bay should exist upon reading this account you would be bound to support the closure of the camp!!!

A truly remarkable piece of work well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enemy Combatant: The Terrifying True Story of a Briton in Guantanamo
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews