Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Look at Thought
I decided to read this book after seeing some of Dr. Emoto's water crystal photographs at Jack Canfield's Breakthrough to Success Seminar in August. The library put me on an indefinite hold for his book, but I was able to sign up for a learning annex lecture by Dr. Emoto earlier this month on October 6 in New York. Then, last week the book became available at the...
Published on 18 Oct 2005 by Donald Mitchell

versus
67 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but poorly completed
This is an extraordinarily interesting book from the concept perspective. The author stumbled on the 'fact' that ice crystals develop particular forms when under the influence of words and music, claiming that this applies even to text pasted on the water container. This would be remarkable if true. However, the evidence that is provided is very poor.
First, the...
Published on 26 Feb 2005 by Angus Jenkinson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Look at Thought, 18 Oct 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I decided to read this book after seeing some of Dr. Emoto's water crystal photographs at Jack Canfield's Breakthrough to Success Seminar in August. The library put me on an indefinite hold for his book, but I was able to sign up for a learning annex lecture by Dr. Emoto earlier this month on October 6 in New York. Then, last week the book became available at the library.
If you are looking for a thorough scientific explanation of what Dr. Emoto found and his methodology, this is the wrong book for you.
If you want to understand his process for understanding how water crystals may be affected by thought, prayer, music and writing, the book is excellent. In fact, the book explains his work much better than the public lecture did. And the book is a lot cheaper than the lecture was.
I was glad to have attended the lecture, however. It gave me a sense of Dr. Emoto who seems to be a genuinely humble and open seeker after truth.
As he pointed out in the lecture, his work has raised more questions than answers. But he does give us some theories that will intrigue you. Perhaps the most interesting and important one is that humans can uniquely create earthly harmony by their vibrations.
If you are not familiar with his work, he developed a way to take photographs of frozen water that resemble snowflake photographs. While snowflakes vary in the same storm due to local conditions, water crystals seem to vary due to other factors. Pollution and other forms of human interaction appear to play a role.
Dr. Emoto shows that human interaction can also create disharmony.
The photographs are quite eloquent by themselves. If you looked at them merely for artistic purposes, you would enjoy this book.
Many of his observations are based on spiritual beliefs such as in reincarnation so you can take those parts as you will. But they are not essential to enjoying the book.
I found that I have changed several things in my life since the lecture. I bathe myself in as much beautiful and elegant classical music as possible. I used to do that and am enjoying my return to this practice. I also take time to retune my thoughts to make them more harmonious. I find that my creativity has been aided by this, and my latest book writing work has gone much better as a result.
For skeptics, Dr. Emoto claims that others have repeated his results. I don't know about that, but I'm sure you could check it out if you are interested.
I appreciated his reference to Rupert Sheldrake's work on morphic resonance. I had thought of the parallels when I listened to the lecture. If you are not familiar with Sheldrake, he believes that thoughts affect the physical form of the world and the minds of others. He points to experiments where people learn faster after more people have learned something . . . even if they have no physical or written contact with one another.
With The Hidden Messages in Water, I felt like another piece of the puzzle about what thought is and isn't fell into place.
Dr. Emoto has also started a project to share 650 million copies of this work with young people so that they can sooner learn to live in harmony.
I think this book will provide many interesting epiphanies for you. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've stopped drinking tap water!, 30 Jan 2006
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
This is an interesting book looking at the effect negative and positive energies have upon ‘water’, and you will have heard of this book if you have seen the film ‘what the bleep do we know’. I have studied the Kabbalah for 3 years, and in it, it teaches about the power of water, and how it’s affected by energy (blessings etc) etc, so it interesting to see a study of this extraordinary claim. Water has a more complex structure than most would know I think; just look at how homeopathy works – extraordinary! The most interesting images for me show the differences between tap water all over the world, and spring water. (I’ve stopped drinking tap water – that’s all I’m going to say!). The images of the formed crystals are stunning, and the text interesting at times, especially if you have an interest in Quantum Physics at a basic level, but what you may ask, is the point? Well, as the book says, we are made up mainly of water – so what effect is our negative energies having upon our own bodies? It’s a good question! Make up your own mind…
The only complaint about this book is the translation. At times it isn’t great, but it’s not bad enough to ruin the flow, just mildly irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit moved over the water, 30 Nov 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
This charming little book is not a scientific treatise but a rumination on consciousness that touches on vibrations, frequencies and the wonders of water. The prologue introduces the reader to the crucial role of water in life and in our bodies and psyche. Physically, humans consist mostly of water, 90% at birth & 70% as adults. Dr Emoto considers water the essential life force, pointing out the various functions it performs, its unusual properties that include the copying and memorizing of information as in homeopathy. He explains the history of the project and the technique of photography employed: Freezing water & photographing the crystals that last for only 20 - 30 seconds. First he noticed the effect of music on the form of these crystals, then the effect of written & spoken words.

The first series of full color plates contain 69 photographs of crystals with captions & explanatory notes. The most beautiful to me are the ones exposed to the words Love & Gratitude (more about this later), Wisdom in its Japanese, English & German forms, Cosmos in the same three languages, Beethoven's Symphony no. 5, Swan Lake, Yesterday by The Beatles, Heartbreak Hotel by Elvis, Vivaldi's Four Seasons. Negative & coercive words created distortions, chlorinated water is `dead' and proximity to computers, mobile phones & televisions had the same negative effect as heating in a microwave oven. However, a wholesome TV program produced a lovely crystal so the content of the information modifies the effect of the electromagnetic carrier waves.

The narrative then moves to the vibrational nature of the universe. Emotions, objects, locations & individuals all emit frequencies. This means that everything emits sound too. Then follows a fascinating section on music, Hertzian waves and the concept of 42 octaves plus an explanation of resonance. Like attracts like and fundamentally incompatible frequencies cannot resonate but there may be resonance between non-identical frequencies, e.g. when the difference is two-, four-, eightfold or one half, one quarter etc. More detailed information on this subject is available in Sacred Sounds: Magic & Healing Through Words & Music by Ted Andrews and Jonathan Goldman's book Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics.

The author revisits the miraculous properties of water, explaining its remarkable differences from other substances & its unique abilities to sustain life, to heal and to purify. The research of Joan S Davis of Zurich Technical University is thought-provoking; several quotes are provided. She distinguishes between `juvenile' & `wise water.' The baby water is that which has just fallen, whilst the wise is that which has spent time underground and gathered minerals, `memorizing' their vibrations. Correspondences exist between the vibrations of emotions and elements amongst others. The effect of consciousness on the physical world and quantum mechanics are discussed next, as well as Quantum Theorist David Bohm's theory of the Explicate Order observed by the senses and the Implicate Order experienced within the mind. The work of Rupert Sheldrake & his theory of morphic fields & morphic resonance are highly relevant here. Dr Emoto provides a simple explanation and some quotes by Sheldrake.

The second series of plates, titled Water Shown Photographs of Natural Scenery, offers 65 photographs of crystal forms influenced by natural features like Mount Fuji.

Much of the author's thoughts on vibrations & the influence of the observer on the observed will already be familiar to those interested in quantum science & metaphysics; what is new is the way that this phenomenon takes physical shape in water. Eldon Taylor's book Subliminal Communication explains how wave patterns created by sound can be displayed visually. Powders, liquids & metal fillings scattered on a disc formed geometric patterns as the disc resonated to music, even taking on organic shapes. This book includes visual configurations of the mantra OM and the concluding chord of Händel's Messiah by means of a tonophone. Works of related interest include Cymatics: A Study of Wave Phenomena & Vibration by Hans Jenny and Harmonograph: A Visual Guide to the Mathematics of Music by Anthony Ashton.

Dr Emoto believes the two emotions love & gratitude combined form the most potent healing force and a powerful immune shield. Gratitude appears to have the greater influence in the blend. He argues that they are fundamental principles of nature. In the epilogue he mentions the destructive side of water in the worldwide legend of a great flood and speculates about the possible future applications of his discoveries, for example the ability to predict earthquakes The book concludes with a short biography of the author. As a work on consciousness it is valuable for discussing the factors that influence water and how the substance responds to these influences; those working in or appreciative of the visual arts will find the beautiful photo's reason enough to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read!, 15 April 2008
By 
Norma Lehmeierhartie (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
The Hidden Messages in Water helped prove my theory of the interconnectedness among all life that I wrote about in my book, Harmonious Envrionment: Beautify, Detoxify & Energize Your Life, Your Home & Your Planet.

An excellent example of how our thinking and feeling can institute change comes from Dr. Masaru Emoto's study. Emoto's experiments show how powerfully your thoughts can affect your physical environment. In his book, The Hidden Message in Water, Emoto demonstrates how water will change form in response to thought.

Emoto mentally projected love to a bottle of water, which was then frozen and the ice crystals were photographed. The crystals were beautiful, clear and symmetrical.

Next, Emoto allowed the water in the bottle to melt and directed hate to the water. He froze the water and photographed the ice crystals. This time, the crystals were misshapen, dense and ugly.

Every one of us, consciously or unconsciously, affects the objects and people around us--including ourselves--on a continual basis. Think about the expression "laughter is contagious." It is! How do you feel when you are around happy, laughing people? Usually, you can't help but feel good yourself. All emotions are energy and energy passes from one body to another; from one object to another; matter to matter. Emotions are contagious!

Emoto also found that low frequency water reacts extremely negatively when exposed to low frequencies, but high frequency water is not affected in any way by low frequencies. This is because low and high frequencies are not on the same wavelength, and when we are in a high frequency state we are not affected by the low frequencies of our environment, other people, objects or food.

This book will convince you to chose what emotions to own.

Oh--and the photographs are lovely!

Author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Insights - Absolutely fascinating, 13 Jan 2010
By 
W. Dashwood-quick "Author of "Discover Yo... (Braintree, Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
This is one of my favourite books which I came across after watching "What the Bleep". I know there are lots of skeptics out there who just don't 'get' the science, but it truly is a little glimpse into some of the many wonders out there that we really don't have a clue about. I think everyone should read this book. Fabulous!

Wendy Dashwood-Quick
Executive Coach and EFT Specialist
Founder of Resolution Coaching & The Ultrepreneur Academy

Author of: Discover Yourself On The Yellow Brick Road: 7 Core Principles of Career Success
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Clarey (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
Interesting book, however it's doesn't live up to the hype that surrounds it as Masaru Emoto jumps to many conclusions without much evidence to back them up. I still enjoyed it very much though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but poorly completed, 26 Feb 2005
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an extraordinarily interesting book from the concept perspective. The author stumbled on the 'fact' that ice crystals develop particular forms when under the influence of words and music, claiming that this applies even to text pasted on the water container. This would be remarkable if true. However, the evidence that is provided is very poor.
First, the photographs taken through microscopes are amaturish, out of focus in many cases, especially at the edges.
Second, the book is based on the statement that particular words and music produce either beautiful or ugly images or forms, and that this represents a kind of moral statement by the universe that guides action.
To be more convincing, the book would need to show multiple images of crystals formed by the same music or word. How reliable is the 'effect' of the music or text? Or at least it would need to explain how many times the experiment was done, and the results, with particular images acting as representatives.
And we would also benefit from some criteria for beauty/ugliness that were applied in these multiple tests. Clearly these aesthetic concepts are difficult, but you could use a panel of appropriately trained people to produce judgements. Here is an area for some potentially important and interesting real science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite - it will change how you think & use words, 10 April 2005
By 
C. Manns "Animad" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an extraordinary book. I work with animals & have seen how my intent affects how the animal responds to treatment. Having seen how words affect water & their resultant ice crystals I know that I need to be clearer still about my words, & about teaching animal handlers to be impeccable with their words & thoughts.
This book really will blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
I came across this book while reading about Earthing (another book I will review)and followed a link. This has opened up a whole new aspect of drinking water and how 'alive' it is, not just to rehydrate our bodies but much deeper issues. The amazing photos are worth buying the book for to see what effect words & pictures (both negative & positive) have on how crystals form in water, as well as the water coming out of your tap.

Looking at this in isolation may not give much meaning, but when you look at the connection we as humans have with the planet in its entirety (read the earthing book) this all made absolute sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feeling cheated, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hidden Messages in Water (Paperback)
I have just finished 'The hidden Messages of water' and am feeling cheated. While there was a hint of some interesting ideas, they were not developed. Most of the book consisted of self promotion. We were told how great he was and what wonderful plans he had for the future. In fact he seems to be using his readers to affirm himself in his plans. The pictures of crystals are impressive but the interpretation he puts on them is very precarious. On the whole disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab987618)

This product

Hidden Messages in Water
Hidden Messages in Water by Masaru Emoto (Paperback - 5 Dec 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews