Customer Reviews


1 Review
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and charming anthology, 16 Feb 2007
By 
Loves Reading (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The School for Heiresses (Mass Market Paperback)
This book contains 4 short stories. The first story by Sabrina Jeffries is her usual 5 star quality; Eliza flees a wicked guardian and comes into contact with Colin, a "newly minted" earl just arrived in England from Calcutta and you can guess the rest, great story! Liz Carlyle's story about Martinique, the daughter of a French courtesan, and her meeting with a notorious rake, Lord St Vrain, is also a winner. I want to know more about Martinique's guardian and her guardians sister, I hope LC writes more about them. Julia London writes about Grace whose father is in "trade" and who wishes her to marry "up", needless to say she is attracted by somebody inappropriate. Good story but a bit light, I could not get involved with the characters. The final story is by Renee Bernard; the heroine Alyssa is always involved in "incidents", she meets Mr Leland Yates who is ruled by logic, a case of opposites attract perhaps? Unfortunately the story is let down by the author not researching properly, the the heroine arranges a bouquet of flowers and accidentally includes poison oak - poison oak in England??? This was at the start of the story and it put me off a bit, should not bother to buy any more of her books. All in all a good book to take on holiday, should appeal to fans of Sabrina Jeffries and Liz Carlyle, I just wish Sabrina Jeffries had made hers a full length novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad556e58)

This product

The School for Heiresses
The School for Heiresses by Sabrina Jeffries (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Feb 2007)
5.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews