Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rated R super author
I have read many Wrestling autobiographies and very few come close to Mick Foley's, yet Adam Copeland on EDGE is right up there. The reason this book is so good is that like Foley, Edge wrote the book himself which makes the experience much more personal and funnier as nothing has been lost in translation by a ghost writer. That is the main problem with other...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by BGB

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As good a writer as he is a wrestler...but...
I bought this because it was by Adam "Edge" Copeland, which sounds like `news from the file marked "duh"' but bear with me. When Edge suffered his neck injury in 2003 he wrote a blog for WWE during his recovery, which was hilarious. Even the more `serious' excerpts were witty and clear without being patronising; so when I learned he'd written a "full" book last year...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by C. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rated R super author, 27 Aug 2008
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
I have read many Wrestling autobiographies and very few come close to Mick Foley's, yet Adam Copeland on EDGE is right up there. The reason this book is so good is that like Foley, Edge wrote the book himself which makes the experience much more personal and funnier as nothing has been lost in translation by a ghost writer. That is the main problem with other autobiographies such as Stone Cold's, HBK's, Hulk Hogan's and even the legendary Ric Flair, but not this. The book covers Edge's life up to the return to the ring after neck surgery. The book is begging a sequel on his retirement and I for one can't wait. The book makes me watch Edge's in ring performances in a different light, and one with far more respect. A must have wrestling autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RATED R SUPERSTAR..................., 20 April 2009
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
If I have one complaint with this book, it is that it was written too soon. A lot of water has passed under Edges's bridge since he wrote this book.
Who is the most dedicated, most loyal, most sincere, most personable, most enthusiastic wrestler in the WWE? - EDGE. Nobody would argue with this.
The author tells us all about his early days his love for his mother and his grandparents, and his rise to 'near' glory. He had not at the time of writing become World Champ. He goes into two hundred plus pages of detail about his matches and feuds and does so in such a manner that the reader thinks they would like to meet this cool dude. He is one of life's optomists and you can feel him smiling whilst he recalls these memories. He also throws in a few witty anecdotes outwith of his ring experiences.
I have already said that her wrote it too soon (mind you it was written whilst he was off injured). Lita has now left; Benoit and Test have died; (Benoit in anything but mentionable circumstances), What of his 'R' rating? His marriage to Vicki? His World Championships? Jay off to TNA and back again; Foley likewise.
Come on Edge! Write a sequal!
Great read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As good a writer as he is a wrestler...but..., 8 Oct 2009
By 
C. Stewart "The Cat's Whiskers" (Yorkshire/Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
I bought this because it was by Adam "Edge" Copeland, which sounds like `news from the file marked "duh"' but bear with me. When Edge suffered his neck injury in 2003 he wrote a blog for WWE during his recovery, which was hilarious. Even the more `serious' excerpts were witty and clear without being patronising; so when I learned he'd written a "full" book last year (better late than never!) I got this paperback edition.
First what's good: well, see above. He's a very talented wrestler, and an equally talented writer, especially in the humour dept; (some people try to write "comically" and it comes across as funny as dropping a dumbbell on your foot). I would suggest reading Chapter 22, about the epic quest of "Edge", "Christian", "Rhyno" and assorted others to drive across a frozen Canadian lake in the middle of night to reach Winnipeg: laugh out loud funny! Once "Edge" leaves the squared circle for good, a career as a commentator (a la, Jerry "the King" Lawler or the late great "Gorilla" Monsoon) or as a columnist/writer beckons, a la a certain Mr M Foley.
The other "positive" is that we get a genuine insight into Edge's childhood without any of that misery-lit navel-gazing. There is no self-pity over the fact that his father disgracefully abandoned his pregnant mother, because he eventually got a proper Dad in the form of Mr Reso, the father of Jason "Christian" Reso, Adam's brother in all the ways that really matter. He also doesn't use the book as an excuse to bad mouth others or complain how he was hard-done-by or for (too much) self-aggrandizement
Also like Foley's books it shows the nonsense of the "sports snobbery" that wrestling isn't a "proper" sport and that wrestlers are Neolithic musclemen with the only thing between their ears being their skull. I suspect the spate of wrestling biographies over the past few years has been fuelled at least partly by wrestlers justifiably sick of being portrayed as so dense light would bend around them. "Kane" has a BA Degree in English, for instance and proved his IQ on a "Weakest Link" charity episode for example; Jeff Hardy is a musician and sculptor. Question: which takes more talent, skill and brainpower - to sculpt a large statue or to not bother making up your bed in the morning? I ask because one Tracy Emin got a Turner Prize for Modern Art (= $80,000 USD) by submitting as her entry her unmade bed(!). Yet these are the same pretentious buffoons who depict wrestlers as idiots?!
So what's not so good? For a start, there's the repetition (a good chunk of those wrestling blogs are also in the book). Also, the book isn't reflective but reflecting. Aside from the initial few chapters about Adam's childhood, Jason Reso moving into their town, etc, there is a definite sense the book is being written by "Edge" not Adam Copeland. It is clear that Copeland was reflecting back to the reader what he wanted them to see, rather than actually taking the time to reflect on (what was then) his current situation (in 04) and do a bit of self-examination to think about where he wanted to be - and what kind of person he wanted to be - a few years down the line (which would lead to a terrible lapse in judgement and integrity on his part a few months after the book was originally published (see below).
"Edge" glosses over a lot of the realities of wrestling life - by which I mean the heavy drinking, abuse of prescription medications and `man-slut' goings-on of many of the wrestlers (blading had to be stopped due to the dangers of contracting STIs like HIV via cross-contamination). However, this is only to be expected. Adam Copeland loves being a wreslter. He loves being a WWE wrestler; he has great friends in the business and an eye on the WWE Hall of Fame. No wrestler with any sense, who wants to keep both his job and his friends is going to shine a light into the dark, violent corners of wrestling or set out to hurt friends who confided in him and trusted him to keep a confidence.
The other issue with this is that it is the paperback version, released on 03.01.2006, but there was no update, not even one page, in the paperback version despite the colossal upheaval that occurred in 2005 (see below). It therefore has the same flaw as the hardback original when it was released in Nov 04, almost immediately after the book was written in 2003-2004.
In the Fall of 2004 Copeland's life was in a state of flux - he had been out for months with a serious injury and his marriage of only 2.5 years duration had failed. It thus reads as not an autobiography but as "thinking out loud", it's a collection of tweets before Twitter was invented. It definitely comes across as "incomplete", like it's a novel that ends halfway through. You find yourself waiting for the "second half" to come out to read the whole story, particularly as Adam Copeland was only 30 years old when he wrote it. At the end of the book - which finishes when he's returning from injury and about to marry his second wife Lisa Ortiz in October 04 less than 6 months following his first divorce - you get the distinct impression of over-eagerness, of a defiant rashness to become "king of the hill" again immediately come what - or who - may, which would lead him to betray both his 2nd wife Lisa and his intimate friend Matt Hardy in a profound lapse of good sense a couple of months after the hardback version of the book had been published.
Basically, for those who know no further than this book and the Hardy Boyz book "Exist 2 Inspire" (published 03-04) at the turn of 2005, Adam Copeland was travelling to WWE events with WWE wrestler Amy "Lita" Dumas, long-term partner of Adam's close friend, Matt Hardy (who had a genuine injury). They had a fling, Matt found out, understandably went ballistic - and the WWE fired Hardy, the betrayed victim of the two people, outside of his brother & sister in law Jeff & Beth Hardy, he trusted most in all the world. That encapsulates the biggest problem with this paperback 2006 version because you can't help but know that, so just as when you (re)read Exist 2 Inspire, every mention of the "great" friendship between Adam and Matt is very jarring.
Ironically, the fling rapidly fizzled out, and in 2005, after fan fury forced WWE to rehire Hardy, Matt swallowed his pride and showed he could be a 'team player' by reaching detente with Adam and Amy and allowing the situation to be turned into a WWE storyline (which the WWE outdid itself with in terms of being puerile, distasteful and sleazy). This led to one of Matt and Edge's best one-on-one matches with each other, the Steel Cage at Unforgiven 2005 (at which point Adam & Amy's affair was over, and existed as a WWE work only) - which happened 6 months before this paperback edition was published. Even a minor 'extra' postscript page addressing Unforgiven 2005 would have made the paperback much better - bringing out the p/b version unaltered in 06 was like the Flat Earth Society touting for members the day after Neil Armstrong walked on the moon.
If all this is ending on a downer, don't let it put you off buying the book - it's worth it for hilarious chapter 22 alone, and if you are trying to engage boys with reading, buying them something like this will help a lot. And quite frankly, Adam paid his debt in full, for his lapse cost him far more than he gained - being the slave not the master of his hormones for a few short weeks lost him his marriage, the regard of WWE fans, the respect of his brother "Christian" and the affection and friendship of a loyal and generous friend in Matt Hardy who would have had his back come hell or high water. I strongly suspect that Adam Copeland would give a great deal to be able to restore that friendship and trust with Matt Hardy. Nor was Matt Hardy himself entirely blameless; back in 1999 Matt's own conscience didn't bother him when he was Amy's "Adam" then, being the guy with whom she betrayed her then partner, leaving him for Matt as she would leave Matt for Adam in 2005. The leopardess didn't change her spots, for she left Edge and WWE by the end of 2005 - to return to the music scene she left for Matt Hardy and a wrestling career 6 years before! Ironically, Amy Dumas is now dating CM Punk, who has had incredible WWE matches over the past couple of years with both "Edge", and Jeff Hardy, Matt's brother. For CM Punk's sake, one can only hope Miss Dumas has finally grown up enough emotionally to have an adult relationship. I know I've struggled to articulate what I mean, but I think the issues I've described above summarise the real problem with this book in that it's too well-written for what it is. You are left feeling like you've been given a salt beef sandwich by a guy you know is capable of serving you a full-on steak dinner with whisky sauce. You are itching to chain Copeland to a chair (down girls) in front of a PC and tell him to get on with the proper autobio you know is swirling around inside that lantern-jawed blond head, a book that, written by an older, wiser, humbler Adam Copeland and not the superficial, egomaniacal, Rated-R superstar "Edge", you just know is going to be one of the greatest wrestling autobiographies ever - sadly, I suspect that just as with other wrestlers, we will have to wait until Adam retires from WWE for that to happen. But I'll be first in the queue when it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better wrestler bios, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. S. A. Prayle (North West of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
This is quite an interesting read at times, lots if insight into Adam Copeland's upbringing and his start in wrestling. At times you feel he is a little censured like all of the other WWE branded titles (i.e. would you diss your current boss if you were writing a book?). Chris Jericho's book is a lot better, as is Bret Hart's, however if you've read those this is still worth a look particularly if you are or ever have been a fan of Edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
Excellent for WWE fans especially after Edge retired.
Bought this for my wrestling mad son and he loved it.
Easy to read book, very interesting.
I finished it in about 3 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read and a interesting background stories, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
I bought this book because I am a huge Christian and Edge fan (Christian been my favorite wrestler). There was some great background on the two boys growing up and how they entered the business. the book ends just after they break up to pursue solo careers. So covers the early career and the attitude era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Oct 2011
By 
M. O. Sharif "Rap phan" (Nelson Lancs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
I thought this book was a great read, although it would've been better if Edge waited until his career was over before he wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very very good!!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
This book gives a behind the scenes look at Adam's and in general most wrestlers build up to the big time in WWE, and the controversy inside it. Don't really think edge wrote any of it - and that his co-writer did all of it. Despite this, I think it's not the best wrestling book, but it's in the top 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge reaks of awesomness, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
This is a great book for you edgeheads. He tells some really funny stories and i enjoyed it and i wanted more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been, 8 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. R. Howe "Ry" (Northampton,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) (Paperback)
First up i am a HUGE wrestling fan and so i brought this book as i thought it would give me an insight into some of the great matches edge has been involved in, it did but not as in depth as it could have been,The book reveals a lot about young edge and the fact that he once ran into the ring at a local promotion did a few spots got applause and that fuelled his desire to be a wrestler, its also far to short as a book on wrestling altough some of the ribs and dumb stuff he did sound very funny indeed e.g jumping out of a window into snow with the Hardys & Lita
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE)
Adam Copeland on Edge (WWE) by Edge (Paperback - 4 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews