Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liz Carlyle keeps delivering
Carlyle seems to be the most reliable of romance authors. Having read roughly half of her books so far I haven't encountered one single dud yet.
A Woman of Virtue, whilst not the sparkliest and funniest of her books, has a throroughly compelling, fiery romance. Don't get me wrong, this one has its laughs as well, mostly in the beginning, and that light touch...
Published on 22 Nov 2003

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what the......?
i really enjoyed the book before a woman scorned and the hero in this book was great there so i really looked forward to reading his story!boy what a let down he is still sexy and all but none of the fun loving carefree joker is in this one ,what i hated most was though a different story the exact same scenes as previous book what a repetition ,also it takes forever for...
Published 23 months ago by allana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liz Carlyle keeps delivering, 22 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Carlyle seems to be the most reliable of romance authors. Having read roughly half of her books so far I haven't encountered one single dud yet.
A Woman of Virtue, whilst not the sparkliest and funniest of her books, has a throroughly compelling, fiery romance. Don't get me wrong, this one has its laughs as well, mostly in the beginning, and that light touch characteristic to the author. But this is less prominent due to the fact that the book, more than most in this genre, is also a murder mystery.
The book has less elegant drawing rooms and balls than an average regency as the hero and heroine struggle to help young prostitutes in the seedy East London. It is not often in this genre that you encounter gently bred virgin heroine discussing sodomy, rape and the benefits of vinegar soaked sponges as contraceptive. But I found this unusually realistic tone refreshing and tastefully done and what - with the beautifully depicted love-relationship - lifts the book well above the norm. The hero and heroine and their thoughts are interesting and convincing as they try and find their bearings in relation to each other amongst all the fear and unbiddable hunger a real, serious attraction brings in its wake. There is a depth to them that does not rely on extraordinarily heavy baggage of their pasts (often the basis of some very good romance books, the severy tortured hero, etc) but on conflicts in their own personality revealed to them through the relationship.
A Woman of Virtue is definetely a keeper and a book I suspect will grow on me. The only reason I omitted one star is that while the murder story is well done, it is not what personally interests me when reading a romance. If it is to your taste you might easily find yourself giving this book the full rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Liz Carlyle!!!, 23 July 2014
One of my absolutely favorite romance novels.

Young rake, Lord David Delacourt and Lady Cecilia Markham-Sands got off to a bad start years earlier with the fault landing squarely at David's feet. He tried to make it right but she would have none of it.

A few years later, he is still a bachelor who is jaded and weary of his life and she is a young widow - now Lady Cecilia Lorimer, who is more lovely than ever. They refuse to have anything to do with one another but thankfully, the good-hearted and conscientious minister, Cole Amherst, takes it upon himself to interfere with their lives and the story takes off!

Lady Cecilia has been volunteering in Rev. Amherst's shelter for rehabilitated prostitutes in London's slums. David loses a card game to Amherst (Cole cheats) which means David has to manage the shelter for three months while Cole and his lovely wife remove to his country estate to await the birth of a baby.

Oh boy, oh boy - once David and Cecilia realize they have to work together for three months, the sparks fly but the attraction and love between the two manifests very quickly and oh wow - the story gets sweet and then sweeter. I loved it that there was no big misunderstanding to contend with despite their past. There was a lot of love and more love and and genuine respect and ultra-protectiveness from David to Cecilia. Pretty much everything we want in our Main Guy who is so willing to be reformed and get on the right track.

David realizes he has always loved Cecilia and apparently there was more in her heart for David than she actually knew. Their romance is set against the goings-on of the shelter and the fact that someone or a group of someone(s) are killing prostitutes at the shelter. David and Cecilia attempt to uncover villians responsible, with the help of Max De Rohan and George Kemble. We also get to spend some time with our friend, "Hell Bent" Rutledge - I love that guy.

Liz Carlyle is a super talented writer and her connected books in the "Rutledge" series are some of my faves. I have read and re-read "A Woman of Virtue" simply to bask in the romantic scenes between Delacourt and Cecily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly humorous story and a realistic plot.. The characters are well developed and believable
It is good to have characters from other books in the story. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Woman of Virtue, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an absolutely great book and i love everyone in the series.The author again transports you back in time.Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what the......?, 12 Jan 2013
i really enjoyed the book before a woman scorned and the hero in this book was great there so i really looked forward to reading his story!boy what a let down he is still sexy and all but none of the fun loving carefree joker is in this one ,what i hated most was though a different story the exact same scenes as previous book what a repetition ,also it takes forever for the romance to get going and when it does it is just not believable ,in between prattel about the plot and continuous tedious dialogues leave you wondering if you picked up a romance,my last super peeve her maid and his valet were always telling them off as if they would get away with such insolence towards a viscount and lady they spoke to the point of rudeness ,and where in the victorian era and early at that would you have a walk in closet and prepare face masks ,there were also uncomfortable scenes like SPOILER the valets eyes lighting up while he is looking at the scratches on the viscounts back ,cringe why would the author want to point that out?it all sounded very immature i really do not know why as other books by this author are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another perfect book!!, 1 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of Virtue (Mass Market Paperback)
The more I read Liz Carlyle the more I am hooked! I started in the middle of her list by accident then went back to the beginning and am reading them in order now; I have just read 'A Woman of Virtue' and I loved every minute of it, even the murder mystery, hence five stars.

The first reviewer has already given a fine run down of the story but I must urge any LC fans to buy this book and experience the feelings that reading it produces. I haven't recovered yet!

Just breathtaking......on to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Woman of Virtue
A Woman of Virtue by Liz Carlyle (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews