Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Copeland On the Edge
Ok i love WWE, i love Edge and now i love Adam. the book is fantastic it gives a real insight into the hard life wrestling really is and with Adam Copeland's great sense of humour i pissed my pants through a lot of it. even now while watching raw and smackdown i laugh when i see people he's mentioned in the book. Like John Bradshaw and Kurt Angle, i wont go in to it...
Published on 10 Mar 2005 by Sara Oliver

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars edge on edge
Couldnt wiat to read this book. i was realy looking forward to some insight into edges carreer. it started realy strong with loads of cool info and behind the scenes gossip, but all to quickly became just a run down of his matches without any great detail of the last few years. it was a good read just a little dilutede. a little to censored.
Published on 30 Nov 2004 by mr b e bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Copeland On the Edge, 10 Mar 2005
By 
Sara Oliver "Olimeg" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
Ok i love WWE, i love Edge and now i love Adam. the book is fantastic it gives a real insight into the hard life wrestling really is and with Adam Copeland's great sense of humour i pissed my pants through a lot of it. even now while watching raw and smackdown i laugh when i see people he's mentioned in the book. Like John Bradshaw and Kurt Angle, i wont go in to it you'll have to read the book and it is sooooo worth it!!! I promised you, you wont regret it. Copeland manages to put across exactly how he feels about the people he mentions in the book and each of the different "adventures" he's had to get where he is. I cant wait till he becomes World champ! and brings out another book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Edgeucation by Adam Copeland, 27 Dec 2004
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
This book is a dream of Adam Copeland better known as WWE Superstar Edge. This book was written painstakingly by hand (he admits to being computer illiterate) as he recovered from a possible career-ending broken neck.
The book charts his life from a child born to a single mother, raised in Orangville, Ontario Canada, by a supportive family. His mother worked two jobs just to keep a roof over their heads and put food on the table. This at an early age filled him with a need to do better in life and be able to provide a comfortable life for his future family and also look after his mother and buy her a house of her own one day.
Edge tells of his love for superheroes and comics, before one day coming across WWE Wrestling on TV, and seeing Hulk Hogan who instantly changed his life. From that day on he was hooked on wrestling and after being taken to watch Wrestlemania VI in his nearby Toronto, he decided he too wanted to be a wrestler.
Edge then talks about how he got into wrestling by winning a competition to get free training. He also talks about how his friend Jason Reso better known as WWE Superstar Christian also followed him with the same dream of being a wrestler. Edge talks about how his early days weren't glamourous and how he had to work in factories to pay the bills whilst he picked up 'Experience' wrestling on shows for very little money. He talks about some of his early wrestling road trips and tells many of the funny stories that happened on them.
Edge then gets to the meat and gravy of the book, when he joins the WWE as Edge and a shortwhile later is teamed with his friend Christian and together with another wrestler called Gangrel form the Brood faction. Edge then proceeds to run through the highlights of his career, the first ever tag team ladder match with the Hardyz, his winning the Intercontinetal Title for one night only in his home town, the first ever TLC (Table-Ladder-Chairs) match. Edge talks about his thoughts and feelings on each match and each point of his rising WWE Career. He also takes time to talk about jokes and funny events featuring his friends Christian, Rhyno, The Hardyz and Lita.
Edge then spends time talking about his singles career after splitting from tag team partner Christian and his push towards future main event and hopefully World Title reigns. As most fans know this 'Push' was cut short when he suffered a terrible injury to his neck requiring two-level fusion surgery putting out of wrestling for 14 months. Edge talks about the injury and how he recovered but not before suffering further problems like the breakdown of his marriage and subsequent divorce. Then when he started training to come back to wrestling he suffered an injury to his foot and broke his right hand, further setbacks. Edge could no longer stand being away from the ring so earlier this year with a swollen foot and broken hand he returned to the WWE and joined the RAW brand. This is where his story ends.
This book overall is written very well and unlike many of the WWE Superstars' books was written by the man himself. Just like Mick Foley this book benefits from the actual words and character of Adam Copeland coming from the pages. You'll find yourself chuckling at many great Edge-isms and groaning at some of Adam's lame jokes.
Now the reason it only gets 4 out of 5 stars from me is because at 30 years of age Adam Copeland still has a lot to achieve in wrestling, he has yet to be a main event performer, he has yet to be given the honour of carrying and trying to elevate the World Title. The other WWE wrestlers have all been there and done that and their stories are complete. Adam's book charts his rise to the top but he hasn't got there yet so the book lacks a real ending like Mick Foley's first. In a 10 year career he has done some incredible things and had some memorable matches, but I feel this book should have waited until he could have finished by talking about how he won the 'Big One'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Edgeucation by Adam Copeland, 14 Dec 2004
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
This book is a dream of Adam Copeland better known as WWE Superstar Edge. This book was written painstakingly by hand (he admits to being computer illiterate) as he recovered from a possible career-ending broken neck.
The book charts his life from a child born to a single mother, raised in Orangville, Ontario Canada, by a supportive family. His mother worked two jobs just to keep a roof over their heads and put food on the table. This at an early age filled him with a need to do better in life and be able to provide a comfortable life for his future family and also look after his mother and buy her a house of her own one day.
Edge tells of his love for superheroes and comics, before one day coming across WWE Wrestling on TV, and seeing Hulk Hogan who instantly changed his life. From that day on he was hooked on wrestling and after being taken to watch Wrestlemania VI in his nearby Toronto, he decided he too wanted to be a wrestler.
Edge then talks about how he got into wrestling by winning a competition to get free training. He also talks about how his friend Jason Reso better known as WWE Superstar Christian also followed him with the same dream of being a wrestler. Edge talks about how his early days weren't glamourous and how he had to work in factories to pay the bills whilst he picked up 'Experience' wrestling on shows for very little money. He talks about some of his early wrestling road trips and tells many of the funny stories that happened on them.
Edge then gets to the meat and gravy of the book, when he joins the WWE as Edge and a shortwhile later is teamed with his friend Christian and together with another wrestler called Gangrel form the Brood faction. Edge then proceeds to run through the highlights of his career, the first ever tag team ladder match with the Hardyz, his winning the Intercontinetal Title for one night only in his home town, the first ever TLC (Table-Ladder-Chairs) match. Edge talks about his thoughts and feelings on each match and each point of his rising WWE Career. He also takes time to talk about jokes and funny events featuring his friends Christian, Rhyno, The Hardyz and Lita.
Edge then spends time talking about his singles career after splitting from tag team partner Christian and his push towards future main event and hopefully World Title reigns. As most fans know this 'Push' was cut short when he suffered a terrible injury to his neck requiring two-level fusion surgery putting out of wrestling for 14 months. Edge talks about the injury and how he recovered but not before suffering further problems like the breakdown of his marriage and subsequent divorce. Then when he started training to come back to wrestling he suffered an injury to his foot and broke his right hand, further setbacks. Edge could no longer stand being away from the ring so earlier this year with a swollen foot and broken hand he returned to the WWE and joined the RAW brand. This is where his story ends.
This book overall is written very well and unlike many of the WWE Superstars' books was written by the man himself. Just like Mick Foley this book benefits from the actual words and character of Adam Copeland coming from the pages. You'll find yourself chuckling at many great Edge-isms and groaning at some of Adam's lame jokes.
Now the reason it only gets 4 out of 5 stars from me is because at 30 years of age Adam Copeland still has a lot to achieve in wrestling, he has yet to be a main event performer, he has yet to be given the honour of carrying and trying to elevate the World Title. The other WWE wrestlers have all been there and done that and their stories are complete. Adam's book charts his rise to the top but he hasn't got there yet so the book lacks a real ending like Mick Foley's first. In a 10 year career he has done some incredible things and had some memorable matches, but I feel this book should have waited until he could have finished by talking about how he won the 'Big One'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Edge is Awesome!, 21 Nov 2004
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to this book for a long time,and it didnt dissapoint!! it took me about 2days to read it from start to finish, because it really is a simple to read book and its hilarious. you learn about how he battles back from a broken neck, how he and his longtime childhood friend christian, and quite a few rib tales. not as good as Foley's,but then,whos is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best wrestling autobiography I've ever read. I love it, and I'm sure you'll love it too! - 5 STAR!!!, 22 Nov 2008
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
Before I start reviewing the book itself, may I start by talking about Amazon.co.uk. If there's anyone reading this review who's never bought any books of Amazon, then do. It's so much better than eBay. You've got a much wider choice, everything is generally in stock all of the time and things arrive at a hugely low cost but brand new as opposed to second-hand. I find it the best online shop of them all. I ordered Adam Copeland on Edge on the 19th and got it on the 22nd - only three days arrival time and free P&P. It's such a good website.

Adam Copeland on Edge, as it says in the analysis, is more than an autobiography - it's a mental picture of Adam's rise to fame, how he became who he is today - Edge - and how he got to where he is today. Who did he partner up with to form the formidable Suicide Blondes? Whereabouts did he grow up? What's his mum's name, and what's she like? Why is it he's never got in touch with his father? Edge explains, with unmistakable humour - which has you laughing out loud most of the time -, what it was like for him to grow up, his childhood obsession with rock band KISS, and how he, one day, saw a towering red-and-yellow behemoth on his TV screen - a behemoth that turned out to be wrestling legend Hulk Hogan, and how this influenced his wrestling fixation. He explains in fantastic humour and detail how he because a wrestler himself, the highs and lows of his career, the blood and the gore behind it, and what happens when, as a wrestler, you damage your arm, making it shrink to `the size of a noodle'.

He explains about his childhood friends, how he lost touch with one of them, how he keeps in touch with the other. He explains his early days of wrestling, and how he wasn't himself for the first few years. And then he looks back on his career so far and tells you, truthfully, what he things of every aspect of it.

If you want to take a look at behind-the-scenes Edge, take a closer look at his life, and read about what he thinks of it all - this is the perfect book for you. It's a fabulously entertaining for wrestling - and non-wreslting - fans alike.

So, you like WWE, you like Edge...and now you can like Adam.
If you order this book (and I suggest NOW), you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a lovely guy!, 27 Aug 2006
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
ok im gona be honest here, i did only buy this book for the pictures of sexy edge, but when i read it i was surprised at how well it was written! writing longhand rather than relying on technology, adam tells of his childhood and family life, as well as his wrestling career. he comes across as a very intelligent, down to earth, family orientated guy, which is a side you dont get to see when watching him on tv. a brilliasnt read, and of course the pictures are still worth a look! if i loved edge before i read this then i'm head over heels now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars edge on edge, 30 Nov 2004
By 
mr b e bell (leven beverley, east yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
Couldnt wiat to read this book. i was realy looking forward to some insight into edges carreer. it started realy strong with loads of cool info and behind the scenes gossip, but all to quickly became just a run down of his matches without any great detail of the last few years. it was a good read just a little dilutede. a little to censored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wrestler Great Read, 29 Nov 2004
By 
Robyn (Halifax,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
It was an interesting story of a young man's dream to become a WWE superstar and the road he took to get there. It takes you along all of his ups and downs inside and outside the ring. Excellent for any wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars calling all edgeheads!, 7 Dec 2004
By 
elise watson (Girvan, Ayrshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
oh my god this book is amazing! being a self confessed edgehead (and christianhead for a while)i couldnt wait to read this book. and i was def not disappointed. the fact that it was written by adam copeland himself gives obsessive fans like me the perfect insight into his private and professional life. the amusing comments added into the text give the book a personal touch and makes the reader laugh out loud or feel pride when reading of all edge's accomplishments in and out the ring. a must for all wrestling fans, even non edgeheads (if there are any out there!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Michael Kelly (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Edge (WWE) (Hardcover)
a great portrait of one of the greats in WWE history. An honest story of how to make it and his partner Christian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adam Copeland on the Edge
Adam Copeland on the Edge by Adam Copeland (Paperback - 17 Oct 2005)
£9.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews